We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
USD 14 - USD 35
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Greek
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Central Business District
0.3 km from Darling Harbour
Improve this listing
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveller rating
834
284
68
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
834
284
68
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb dolmades lemon potatoes greek salad baklava octopus bread cakes generous servings set menu mains dips feta cbd australia
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 February 2022

I had the good fortune to enjoy a fabulous night at Medusa with 16 friends and family to celebrate a 'zero birthday' on Monday. The night got off to a great start with Peter welcoming guests with a glass (or two) of champagne on the...outdoor terrace and giving everyone the chance to mingle and catch up after almost 2 years of intermittent lockdowns. Once seated the set menu commenced with the shared entrees and my quests were astonished by the quantity, quality and presentation. A couple of guests even said they didn't need the main course after enjoying the bounty of the shared platters. However, the individually selected main courses continued to delight. All the while the waiters kept glasses full and delivered the mains to the correct person without the 'food auction' which is unfortunately all too common these days. Time for dessert signalled the arrival of a whole coconut ravani cake complete with sparkler and happy birthday candles which had been specially prepared by the kitchen. Each of the guests, many of whom had not visited Medusa before, praised the food, the service and the surroundings. Heartfelt thanks to Peter and all the team at Medusa for a first class effort. We will be back, as will many of our guests.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2022

Thank you so much! after all these years we are so happy to have you celebrating your birthday at Medusa , we really appreciate it

Reviewed 4 January 2022 via mobile

Had previously eaten twice at this restaurant including 10 years ago for a milestone birthday and then for an anniversary dinner. Both meals EXCELLENT so I had high hopes for a delicious dinner with a friend when recently in the city. Entree of Dolmades and...haloumi were lovely however the mains were very ordinary, food seemed old and dry. The Greek wine was horrible (we wondered if it was off)… so disappointing when there is a whole city of fantastic food that could have been enjoyed.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 28 November 2021

5 of us were celebrating our 5 Birthdays, 3 were from Sydney and 2 of us had travelled 300km to dine at Medusa. I chose the restaurant as I was celebrating a "milestone" Birthday. Our heritage is Greek and we enjoy not only Greek cuisine...but all cuisines. We were warmly greeted by Peter upon our arrival. For convenience we decided to order the $55/pp banquet menu comprising TARAMOSALATA, TTZATZIKI, FAVA dips with pita - vine leaves filled and rolled with a rice herb mix - SPANAKOPITA handmade triangular parcels of spinach and feta baked in filo pastry - HALLOUMI grilled Cypriot cheese on rocket with roasted tomato and herb oil - MAINS comprising a GREEK SALAD with tomato, cucumber, capsicum, Spanish onion, feta, olives, wild oregano, olive oil - the ROAST LAMB portions were tender and were accompanied with lemon potatoes, peas and jus - the CHICKEN SOUVLAKI with tomato onion parsley salad, sides of chilli aioli, chips, pita was also very tender, but the VEGAN PAPOUTSAKIA was the BIG disappointment of the evening the whole baked eggplant ( we loooove eggplant) filled with cauliflower, mushroom, walnut ragu, topped with almond vegan bechamel, came to the table looking as a grey unappealing blob. It was awful to look at, I was the only one at our table to eat it. It was not delectable, it was tasteless and such a disappointment, most of it was uneaten. I bake vegan and vegetarian as well as carnivorous meals at home. Don't know what went wrong with Medusa's PAPOUTSAKIA. Dessert was a portion of the Birthday cake we brought to the restaurant and unfortunately MEDUSA's over baked burned philo BAKLAVA was the final disappointment of the evening. It too was left 1/2 eaten. The Syrup had a burnt flavour and the base of the baklava was burnt. We asked the Service staff to slow down as they plonked all the starters on our small over crowded table. It felt like rush hour in a Canteen. Peter is a friendly host, but I'm not sure if he is actually keeping an eye on what is happening in the kitchen and the dining room. When we return, we will try the a la Carte menu, because every place and every situation deserves a 2nd Chance.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2021

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Vegan eggplant (its not for everyone) Definitely hope you will be back to try more of our selection

Reviewed 12 November 2021

Visited Medusa for the first time as we were visiting from interstate, food was amazing ! The octopus was one of the best we’ve had !!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2021

Thank you so much, Greeks know how to do octopus ! We hope to see you again next time you are in Sydney

Reviewed 16 June 2021

Has been a while since my last visit but the high standards continue. Friendly, like family, service. Traditional Greek food menu, no compromises. Reasonable priced wine list with plenty of options. Quality and value. Will be back.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 May 2021

Excellent food, service, and hospitality of the owner. The lamb was just amazing. I will definitely be back soon

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Thank you so much for the kind review! we hope to see you back soon

Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

Every dish we had was like yaya uses to make. There was a good selection, well made, generous servings, reasonable wine list including Greek and Australian offerings. Definitely go on an empty stomach. We got a great feed with wine and beer for about $100...per head (for dinner).More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review, yia yia would be proud! Hope to see you back again soon

Reviewed 15 March 2021

We go to this place for 1 meal everytime we come to Sydney and have been visiting for about 10 years. It's great. Best dish is slow cooked lamb shoulder and I'm told and believe recipe has not changed for 30 years, and why would...you. Dips, breads, cheeses and other mains all fantastic. Have never had room for desert unfortunately.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2021

Thank you so much Dave for your kind review, so glad you keep coming back for more, looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Sydney

Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

Great service and great food, I have been here many times and I am never disappointed. Thank you Peter and team!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Thank you ! we appreciate the ongoing support and looking forward to having you back at Medusa soon

Reviewed 2 December 2020 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meals here. Authentic Greek food , generous serves great service would highly recommend

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
PeterKouts, Owner at Medusa Greek Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

Thank you so much for the kind review, we hope to see you again soon !

View more reviews
Best nearby
Central Business District
The Sydney Central Business District is abuzz with
energy. Power brokers run to and from high rise
buildings and after-work drink places, high-end
shoppers tour venues like the QVB, and fine diners
frequent the many celebrity chef restaurants. For a
dose of culture, walk to the NSW Art Gallery, or visit
the Sydney Museum. To escape the hustle and bustle,
reconnect with nature at the Sydney Botanical Gardens
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mantra on Kent Sydney
1,989 reviews
.09 km away
Hyatt Regency Sydney
3,952 reviews
.13 km away
Meriton Suites Sussex Street, Sydney
763 reviews
.15 km away
BreakFree on Clarence Sydney
1,159 reviews
.16 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Papa Gedes Bar
64 reviews
.11 km away
DeVine Food and Wine
189 reviews
.07 km away
Lime Espresso Sandwich Bar
39 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cockle Bay Wharf
240 reviews
.12 km away
Genesia Theatre
11 reviews
.14 km away
CWM Galleries
5 reviews
.15 km away
Shelbourne Hotel
35 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
damiang48
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from mikewolfrealtor | Reviewed this property |
Pricing is slightly overpriced for the overall quality and it is not BYOB
0
Votes
Sunshine722501
12 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from timcbarker | Reviewed this property |
Certainly not a speciality but then as the previous comment says that's just not a Greek speciality. This is traditional Greek and man it is good. I'm sure the lads would accommodate a request though
0
Votes
Marwa E
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from brendj | Reviewed this property |
Not that I’m aware
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Medusa Greek Taverna

Medusa Greek Taverna is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5