We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Mediterranean, Australian, Bar, Greek
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Playgrounds
Reviews (314)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
67
115
62
32
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
67
115
62
32
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews souvlaki filet mignon chicken daily specials greek tavern
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was with a friend having coffee and a snack and spent one hour in there. When I went to validate my parking voucher, the woman at the counter demanded $50 dollars needed to be paid for my parking. After a lengthy negotiations, she asked...for $5. Does the club encourage its clients to play poker machines only???More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

This used to be the best club for a bistro meal with large, sized, freshly cooked meals at a low price. Whilst the club has been upgraded and looks nice, the standard of meals has dropped. Sizes are smaller, salad bar has minimal options, prices...higher, bar serves flat soft drinks. Cafe is average, and parking facilities are challenging with guests parking wherever they can. Staff assertive and unfriendly. Great space for kids to play, but poor air flow and air con during warm weather due to large windows and controlled low air con.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Fantastic food if you like greek food great,friendlyservice,worth the dinning,parking excellent Fabulous sculptures .

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

On entry staff were very helpful as we were out of town visitors. The atmosphere, decor, noise level was great for us. We chose to eat in the Greek restaurant, which started out as a great experience but we ended up disappointed. Service was good...and again staff helpful. The only good thing we ate was the grilled octopus the best we have ever had but the lamb shaslick was so disappointing, overcooked lamb, inedible Greek salad and chips…what chips, again dry and overcooked…embarrassing to have served them. We would go again but have to reconsider the food choices. Hindsight tells us we should have sent the main meal,back….surely the chef knew it was over cooked and not a credit to themMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023

Busy place but not authentic anything. Extremely loud over the top music. A boring deep fry club menu of most 1/2 plate finished meals. Music is offensive in rest of club too. Avoid

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 May 2023

Lovely bistro with a large range of meals, we have been here several times, they have the best fillet mignon we have ever had. Friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle Gann-Owens, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Thanks for your great feedback! 😄

Reviewed 27 May 2023

We arrived at Hellenic club and Toli checked us in (we were told that was his name, if not correct it was the waiter with a man bun and curly moustache). We were put at a table of 8 but our booking was for 6...(for some reason we had a table change as I think our original table was taken). As we were sitting near the entrance to the bistro we could hear Toli yelling out at people who were waiting to be seated, he yelled out if you don't have a booking go away and those who had a booking will have to wait. There was a massive line up for ordering food, we waited a long time to be served and a long time to get our food. Understandably it was a very busy day.   Approximately 5-10 minutes after we got our meals Toli came up to our table to warn us it is nearly 2pm. Feeling somewhat confused about his terrible approach I questioned him and asked him why he told us it was nearly 2pm when we just got our meals and obviously none of us had hardly touched our meals let alone finished them. He even wanted us to move tables while we were eating, like what the hell, because we had empty seats at our table? we refused to move! He was so rude and his attitude was appalling. I asked him why are you trying to kick us out, couldn't he see we hardly started eating and trying to make us move to another table while we were eating was crazy, he didnt have much to say. He even warned a few tables around us about the time and all of them were not happy with his attitude as they all hadn't even finished their meals either. He didnt tell us there was a time limit. There was a lot of stress and upset people around us it was so unpleasant. My poor 90 year old mother was so stressed and confused about what was going on to the point she wanted to leave which made everyone upset, she hadn't even finished her meal and she wanted to go home. This really spoilt Mothers day for us. A person I know who used to be involved with the club witnessed it all and was appalled by his attitude and spoke to me telling me not to move and was angry by his rude behaviour to the point they said that he should be sacked, that was their words. I couldn't believe just how rude he was to us and other people. We are paying customers and he should not be treating customers like that.  I understand that it was a very busy day but if staff cannot be polite to customers then they shouldn't be in hospitality. As we were leaving my husband spoke to Toli and he was very upset with him.  Toli apologised but he was so obvious his apology was not sincere at all and as we walked away we noticed he looked at his colleagues and laughed so made us even more annoyed with him so we had to approach him again about his appalling behaviour. Later we spoke to the other patrons at the other tables near us and they all expressed how rude Toli was with them. They all were very upset. My husband did speak to the manager about Toli and all we can say is we hope he takes our feedback seriously. Obviously Toli needs more training on how to deal with everything when under pressure. We have been going to the Hellenic Club for years because my Mother likes to eat at the bistro but now its not a place we want to return.  With staff and attitude like him you will continue to have unhappy customers and your restaurant could suffer we believe.   When we booked our reservation over the phone a few weeks prior to Mother's Day we were not told that there was a time limit and all the people we spoke to from nearby tables said the same thing. We have never experienced such terrible staff like this anywhere. This definitely ruined Mother's day for us.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle Gann-Owens, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2023

Hi there, we're very concerned to hear this feedback. This is not the kind of experience we want anyone to have when visiting the Hellenic Club. Would you mind providing us with your contact details to marketing@hellenicclub.com.au so we can reach out to your regarding...More

Reviewed 19 April 2023 via mobile

Came here as I stayed close by for a work visit. Arrived at the venue at 5pm keen for a meal and a drink. No food available until 6pm I was informed. I sat in the sports bar and enjoyed a quiet and nice environment...until then. I walk into the bistro, as per the sign (please wait to be seated), I was on my own and said just a table for one please, to be informed, sit wherever you can, OK! It was a Tuesday night and a place of mayhem, so many people already sitting at tables and holding spots. Then to order a meal, to me, very old school, line up (20 minutes later), advise table number etc and order. I hadn't secured a seat as I was solo and took a punt, by the time I placed my order for entrees and main, my gamble table was still free. 1 person at a table that could dine 4 but I did what I had to do and just get a seat and table. My meal came out quite quickly (after being told it was a 30 minute wait), sadly my main arrived before my entree. So I was halfway through my cheese drenched parmigiana (chicken???) when my entree of prawn cocktail arrived. I don't know being interstate but the system seemed so far behind. Fight for a table, hold it anyway you can and order. Get your own drinks! The meal was mediocre! Grand scale cooking, quick turnover with little effort or care. I work not eat here again if my meal was paid for. The positive was Ari in the sports bar. Shout out to him, nice young polite kid.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle Gann-Owens, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2023

Hi Pete, thank you for your detailed feedback and we're very sorry to hear you did not have a great experience while dining with us recently. This is not the kind of experience we want anyone to have when they choose to visit us. We...More

Reviewed 25 January 2023

I hosted a trivia event at this venue and could not be more pleased with how the process went. The events team (Nektaria, Chloe, and Cara) were all so wonderful to deal with, and went above and beyond to be adaptable for us during what...turned into a very complex organisation and reorganisation process due to COVID. The staff that assisted us on the night (Vasili, Sophie, Dhara, James, Alex, Michael, Grace, and Ben) were also all lovely, and very helpful with assisting guests and managing the tech we used throughout the night. Thank you to them all - they are all excellent at their jobs. Thank you to the Hellenic for making this such a great event, and I look forward to returning in the future.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle G, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2023

Thanks for your fantastic feedback! We're so glad you and your guests enjoyed your event and can't wait to assist you with more events in future 😁

Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

Meet friends for drinks and dinner. Drinks were good and reasonably priced. Good service at bar. Had dinner at bistro. I had the whole grilled snapper chips and salad. Lovely snapper and good to see a grilled fish especially a whole one on the menu....Well done. My only criticism would be that there wasn’t much chips or salad.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2022

This place is a lot bigger than you’d image and has multiple restaurants but we ate in the bistro. There is a long list of daily specials and we ordered a garlic pizza as a starter, two of the daily specials plus a souvlaki plus...a couple of desserts. We were happy with all of the meals but the garlic and feta pizza starter was really, really good. Service was a bit hit and miss with one staff member seeming afraid to speak to us. Slightly odd, but in these covid times, things can get a little odd sometimes! Not exactly a cozy Greek taverna, but great food in the nations capital.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Well how disappointing is it to see what poor value this place is. It was once know as a place of great value great service and good quality but sadly that is no longer the case. Makes me wonder if the care factor is gone...and they are just about cashing in on as much as they can get away with. Well as I always say people need to vote with there feet i.e. I wont ever got back. This was a quiet dinner with a few friends after a movie and my wife wasnt that hungry so decided to share a seafood basket with another lady and for $30 you would think that would be reasonable. She even gave the other lady $20 (over half the cost) and said get them to thrown in a few extra chips for us. No extra chips unless you buy a separate bowl of them, ok i guess you can understand that but when the meal arrived we were all shocked. It was on a standard dinner plate, a few chips on the side, a scattering of seafood that looked like it was bought at Aldi (i.e. it was nothing special at all and certainly would barely feed one no hungry person - certainly not a decent feed by any standard). So they shared the meagre pickings and decided to have dessert to fill up, when she asked 'what was the Chef's Special on the menu', the answer was 'whatever the chef decided to cook for the day I guess' - well fk me thanks for that insight that was very helpful. As I said we wont be back and I hope others realise that is no longer an automatic safe bet for a place to dine - if I could rate it zero stars I would.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle G, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Hi there Rob, we are very concerned to hear about your recent visit with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent experiences for our members and guests and this is very disappointing to hear. We would really like to investigate this further for you if...More

Reviewed 4 December 2021

Terrible place. Terrible service. Would never attend again. The managerial staff were nothing more than disappointing and incompetent.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raelle G, Marketing at Hellenic Club of Canberra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2021

Hi, thank you for your feedback. We are very concerned to hear this. Would you mind providing us some further details on your visit such as date/time, any restaurant or area you visited and any staff or management you spoke to at the time about...More

Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

I have been going to the Hellenic Club main bistro for many years now, hoping that they have some vegetarians options open up - but they never do. They offer a plate of steamed veges, a plate of stir fried veges and spanakopita. That’s it....The stirfried veges used to come with noodles, but now they are just veges - and tonight they were mushy and overcooked. You can do better than this Hellenic! Look at your menu and get some better vego options! I want to go back to enjoy the club, but I am so over the limited vego choices.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Generous serving of Greek Street food. We visited with a couple of friends who live in Canberra. Hearty meals with friendly service. Casual meeting place which seems popular with locals.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Abode Hotel Woden
424 reviews
.16 km away
The Woden Hotel
273 reviews
.39 km away
The Statesman Hotel
242 reviews
1.76 km away
Greenleigh Central Canberra Motel
49 reviews
3.34 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gizmos
9 reviews
.12 km away
Roll'd
7 reviews
.35 km away
Caffe Cherry Beans
15 reviews
.35 km away
Space Kitchen
223 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Escape Rooms Canberra
5 reviews
.39 km away
Westfield Woden
34 reviews
.52 km away
Phillip Swimming and Ice Skating Centre
8 reviews
.38 km away
Escape Rooms Canberra
588 reviews
1.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Travel211680
15 February 2019|
Answer
Response from PeterLaunders | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't understand your question
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HELLENIC CLUB OF CANBERRA - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hellenic Club of Canberra

Hellenic Club of Canberra is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3