We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$5 - AU$39
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (405)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
74
134
99
55
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
74
134
99
55
40
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely setting for dinner and breakfast. Friendly staff. Breakfast, scrambled eggs were nice but cold. Chai latte was nice, but luke warm. My companions had poached eggs theirs was cold too. Shame.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been here a couple of years ago, was mediocre then and worse now. What an embarrassment for interstate visitors staying at the hotel and then having to dine here, no reflection of the other great restaurants in Canberra. Despite its impressive name this establishment...is just an overpriced bistro. Whilst I don’t mind paying a little more given the chic venue, the food was sub-par at best. Our order included, ‘Olives, fennel seeds and orange’ – served cold despite coming out in a little cast-iron frypan, 2nd grade olives, mostly pitted and straight out of the jar. The $42 / 200 gm wagyu beef rump was no better than a grilled piece of silverside, dry, tough, tasteless and none cooked to order. Served with fries that come in a paper cup (just missing the golden arch design), an unimaginative salad of rocket and red onion, and separately a tiny serve of sauce / gravy served once again a paper cup! As for service, no real interaction other that being led to our table and shown how to order via QR code ☹. House staff member who collected our plates failed to ask ‘how was the meal’….probably knew better. Not wanting to make a scene we refrained to complain….but hard to let this go without comment when a terrible meal and a 2 cans of beer costs $90 a head. Nothing has changed despite lots of 1 star feedback, give this place a wide berth…..More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

A weekend escape at the Burbury Hotel included breakfast each morning at Ostani which is situated across the road from the apartments. We also had a dinner there one evening due to proximity. Each of the 3 occasions, the staff service was, at best, poor....Staff were disinterested in and unapologetic to patrons. Numerous items on the menu were unavailable.. no mascarpone or banana for the pancakes, no waffles either. Fish and chips? None. My friend ordered crumbed chicken which was dry, overcooked and difficult to cut. Unfortunately, not one positive in Ostani’s case. Unacceptable by any measure.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doma Food and Beverage, Other at Ostani Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Hello JanaJean, Thank you for taking the time to write to let us know about your experience dining with us. I’ve shared your comments with the team and discussed these with them.  What you have described is certainly not the standard of service that we...More

Reviewed 25 November 2023 via mobile

Like many reviews before this one I can recommend the bar and the drinks/dining area, particularly now it is all under cover and pretty well fitted out. The food though is not good value. The steak sandwich for $29 including a small service of chips...would have been reasonable value for $20, the cold cauliflower salad had nothing going for it and the prawn pasta for $30+ was a joke. If you want to eat there have the pizza - it’s good.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doma Food and Beverage, Other at Ostani Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Dear ffsquare, Thank you for dining with us at Ostani and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We appreciate both positive and negative criticism, and your feedback helps us to improve guest experiences in the future. If you have additional feedback, please...More

Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed the food and selection available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All fresh and tasty. Convenient location, on the ground floor of the Realm hotel.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doma Food and Beverage, Other at Ostani Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Dear Ina_31, Thank you for dining with us in Ostani and for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Ostani in the future. Kind regards, The Ostani Team

Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

Very noisy from constant construction over the lunch time. Not advised of this when I rang to make a lunch booking for 17 people. Not offered to move inside and when asked if the workers could do some quiet work was told it was out...of Ostani’s hands. We would have booked elsewhere if we were advised when booking.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doma Food and Beverage, Other at Ostani Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Dear Bridget, Thank you for dining with us at Ostani and for taking the time to share your dining experience. We appreciate both positive and negative criticism, and your feedback helps us to improve guest experiences in the future. If you have additional feedback, please...More

Reviewed 27 July 2023

First off, the place looks great with the new work and it’s just a nice place to unwind. The cashier guy is a bit surly but I’ve been there plenty of times and figure he’s part of the furniture. All good. Unfortunately the food quality...on our latest visit was pretty ordinary. I ordered the $39 steak that didn’t look much different to the Aldi vacuum packed porterhouse. My friends basically said “Is that it!?”. Came with a few chips, and some rocket with some red onion mixed in. Essentially $39 for a small piece of poor quality, overcooked meat. Very disappointing. I’ll definitely go back but not for the steak.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Nice cosy place with decent food and service. We went 2 x nights in a row during a recent stay in Canberra. Service - quite good, table service first night, book thru app and meal delivered to table. Second night ordered at desk and given...a buzzer to pick up when ready. Get your own drinks from the adjacent bar. Dining room has a large round seating area with a fireplace where guests can chat. Food quality was very good - we went back as the proof :)More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doma Food and Beverage, Other at Ostani Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

Dear Phobos1967, Thank you for dining with us in Ostani and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ostani in the future....More

Reviewed 10 April 2023 via mobile

This is a lovely, light filled place for breakfast. The staff were friendly and the space had a fire pit in the middle, which would be cosy at night. The power porridge was perfect and the smashed avo on point. The coffee was GOOD! Overall,...a decent place.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2023 via mobile

This is a nice relaxed and expansive venue with a variety of searing inside and out. Good that you can order from yor table, though the drinks list for table ordering is limited, eg no bottle beer. The food is the let down, the prawn...linguine was unseasoned, smothered in tomato sauce, no chilli and no finesse or presentation, just a giant blob of pasta smothered in tomato sauce.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2022 via mobile

Ok place but service is very slow. Our breakfast came out cold after waits for 45 mins. Better off looking for a local cafe.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2022

we visited only for breakfast. the options were tasty and the staff friendly. I liked it a lot, especially the seating around the fireplace

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2022 via mobile

What a lovely place for breakfast. We sat along cushioned seats right in front of a gas fire that gave out just the right amount of warmth. The food was delcious and well cooked. I had the Smashed Avo and my husband had the Eggs...Special on the board for that day. The coffee was great also 👌More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

Average food, very expensive for what was served (both drinks and food). Very nice setting/fitting/ambiance but what was on the table was average and… very expensive. Did not like the lights dimmed around 10pm ish to say “time to go home”… Avoid

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2022

I was surprised to read all of the negative reviews as my multiple experiences at Ostani have been wonderful! I will say that one time they seemed to be miscommunication a lot between one another but that was a short downfall and was made up...by the yummy food! Will definitely return yet again, very convenient when you stay in the precinct.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burbury Hotel
1,486 reviews
.03 km away
Hotel Realm
2,087 reviews
.07 km away
Little National Hotel
2,381 reviews
.08 km away
Brassey Hotel
1,503 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chairman & Yip
664 reviews
.03 km away
Vincent Restaurant
207 reviews
.63 km away
Maple and Clove
440 reviews
.09 km away
Little Bird
121 reviews
.64 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Parliament House
3,913 reviews
.91 km away
Canberra Glassworks
389 reviews
.94 km away
National Archives of Australia
140 reviews
.79 km away
Manuka Oval
43 reviews
.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ostani Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

OSTANI BAR, Canberra - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ostani Bar

Yes, Ostani Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Ostani Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 3.5