We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Spotted Cow

The Street, Marston Meysey SN6 6LQ, England
+44 1285 810264
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (21 reviews)
“fish stew” (5 reviews)
“welsh cakes” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, Marston Meysey SN6 6LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I have just come home from a very disappointing evening at The Old Spotted Cow at Marston Meysey. I ordered the calves liver but wish I hadn't as it was inedible - too too salty and the liver was overcooked. I complained to the waiter...More

Thank kaffyjay
Reviewed 6 days ago

The food is consistently good and the service is always amazing. We like the idea of a few weekly specials now being available, which are really different dishes. If we have friends staying, we generally go as we know they will be impressed.

Thank Jdmd2015
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow !!!! What can I say the food was outstanding , I can not fault anything .we had tapas for starters these were delicious the main courses we all had something different and we all thouraly enjoyed by us all .only two of us could...More

Thank Alison C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very lovely village pub with good food and friendly staff. The pub was very busy for a mid week lunchtime so clearly popular. Dog friendly and a pleasant garden.

Thank Roz-and-John
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I called in on the off chance early in the evening and had a great reception from the staff. The service was good and the food excellent. The place also has a very nice ambiance and there is plenty of parking. Hope...More

Thank Richard B
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We found this wonderful pub in this charming village on the internet and as we are staying locally for a few days.What a find. I thoroughly recommend dinner here.The choice of tapas for starters was ideal and there was no stinting on portion size.Excellant value...More

Thank stephaniejones523
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your review - I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope that we might see you again next time you are in the area. Best wishes, Anna

Reviewed 9 August 2017

We called here on a Sunday afternoon for a drink and asked if they serve food on a Sunday teatime No was the answer and there was a sign up saying last orders at 8.30 on a Sunday night?? Nice pub thoughMore

Thank Holli19
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

I'm sorry you were disappointed - we publish our opening hours in quite a variety of places, but it must have been frustrating none-the-less. The sign that says "Last orders at 8.30 on Sunday night" is referring to last DRINKS orders on the bar -...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Having been to The Old Spotted Cow previously, we thought that we would stop by for lunch last Saturday (3 August). Although we hadn't booked, we were informed at the bar that "yes" lunch would be fine and we were shown a table with advice...More

1  Thank Carolyn P
OldSpottedCow, Owner at The Old Spotted Cow, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

I'm so sorry to hear that you felt the service wasn't up to scratch. It is very rare for us to get complaints of this nature, so I'm guessing there must have been a misunderstanding of some sort that led to you feeling ignored. I'm...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We popped in after being stuck in traffic for 3 hours on the A417. We were running very close to the food closing time, thankfully the great staff were happy to serve us. Unfortunately they had run out of Halloumi so I had the cheese...More

Thank Why1
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant on the 27th July we were really looking forward to reliving the many occasions we have visited in the past. Sadly this was not achieved, The food was excellent however, but the service was very slow, we were warned that they...More

Thank Monica G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The George
39 reviews
2.59 km away
Masons Arms
46 reviews
3.13 km away
Jicsaw Thai Restaurant
226 reviews
4.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Old Bear Inn Cricklade
15 reviews
4.17 km away
GwynneSpeed Rally School
178 reviews
4.92 km away
St. Mary's Church
59 reviews
4.94 km away
Cotswold Water Park
224 reviews
5.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
reggieozzy
25 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from OldSpottedCow | Property representative |
Thank for asking about our real ales. On Saturday we will have Otter Bitter, Butcombe Gold, and our Halloween guest beer will be Hobgoblin from Wychwood Brewery. We try to buy reasonably locally, although every now and then... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 18:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Marston Meysey SN6 6LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Marston Meysey
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 810264
  • E-mail
Description
The Old Spotted Cow is a pretty village pub on the outskirts of Marston Meysey, the northern-most village in Wiltshire. We have records of it as a pub as early as 1841, when the first census was taken, and it still retains many of the old features befitting of a Costwold pub: open fires, low beamed ceilings, exposed stone walls... Set amist pretty gardens, with views of open fields and plenty of off road parking, the Old Spotted Cow makes a charming retreat from the hurly burly of modern life. We strive to keep our menu fresh and seasonal, striking a balance between much loved pub classics and some more diverse dishes that reflect the landlady/head chef's many travels. Booking is recommended as we can get busy.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing