We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, Australian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (101)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
40
39
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
40
39
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream beef nut burger salad wild birds bird life bunya coffee
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a coffee and delicious carrot cake Such a peaceful spot Bought pies which we had for dinner and they were delicious

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2023 via mobile

Lovely spot to watch the bird life and forest. Friendly and attentive service. Delicious home cooked menu options. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

Nice food, friendly service. Wheelchair accessible- however gravel out at entry. A large variety of food to choose from- something for everyone. Nice view.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2023 via mobile

Delicious rich plain scone with jam and cream but would have preferred the homemade jams sold here. Didn’t try the bunya nut scones as, although adventurous with food, when I’ve had food made from bunya nuts in the past I didn’t like it. Coffee okay....Cauliflower soup tasty.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2023 via mobile

We had breakfast here. Great filling breakfast. I had the omelette, which was fluffy inside and delicious. Highly recommended from us.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

Very filling breakfast, great value for money. It was a rainy and windy day, but they had the fire raging so kept us toasty warm. Very nice meals.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2023

Awesome breakfast very filling, friendly and quick service. Log fire burning which was great on a rainy, windy day. Reasonable prices.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BMAC Team, Owner at Poppies cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2023

Thank you for the review for Poppies on the Hill Cafe. We are extremely happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience at our local cafe. We hope to see you again for another visit soon.

Reviewed 20 February 2023 via mobile

The service is friendly and reasonably swift. Beef and Bunya nut pie was wonderful, beef and Bunya nut burger also had good reviews. Presented nicely with salad etc. Can not recommend the carrot and Bunya nut cake- the size was generous and thankfully there was...some whipped cream and cream cheese frosting. There seemed to be chunks of (ginger?) inside which I didn’t appreciate and overall the texture was very hard/solid and dry. The highlight of the experience is the bird and wallaby feeding available just nearby (but forbidden at the actual eating area). They sell bags of wallaby pellets or bird seed for $5 each. Some great memories made as the wild birds are very accustomed to humans, will land on arms/shoulders/head and eat from hands.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BMAC Team, Owner at Poppies cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2023

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the Carrot cake was not what you expected and the chunks in the Bunya nut cakes are Bunya nuts. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your experience at Poppies on the Hill...More

Reviewed 29 December 2022 via mobile

Said to us by an award winning barista: A good coffee consists of 80% barista expertise and 20% coffee bean quality. Sadly, today we found your coffee to be watery and bitter.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2022

always enjoy going to this cafe. food is always excellent and great value. Staff are friendly and we love the bird life that like to visit there especially the parrots they're so friendly

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2022

Good service, good food: second time we’ve visited and food was again great and service still friendly. Great burgers and fries; pea and ham soup was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

Came in today (12th July) after a long walk. Warm and cosy inside and a great view, however I thought it unusual they did not have a display cabinet for their handmade array of sweets. We ordered a Carrot cake, Banana cake (Winter special), Bunya...nut sundae, Flat white, Chai latte and Hot chocolate. The Banana cake was atrocious. Supposedly handmade according to the menu, it was horribly dense, dry, tasted of artificial banana flavouring and had a thick slab of cheap icing on top. I'm not a baker but if someone could produce something that looked so process by hand I would be thoroughly impressed. The carrot cake was something you would expect a 5yr old to create. Dry, dense and covered in a thin layer of quick mix icing (No cream cheese icing in sight) Easily the worst carrot cake I have had (and I always try the carrot cake). The sundae was not too bad, good quality icecream. The Chai was as good as powdered chai gets. Flat white was average, weak and either poorly poured or dusted with instant coffee, I couldnt tell. The hot chocolate was mediocre and tasted dusty, the nestle quick mix at my accomodation bested it tenfold. I would like to hope this was a once off but by some of the other reviews I think not. For a total of $39 I would recommend boycotting this cafe at all costs.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2022

Stopped here to grab a coffee for the drive home (which was very nice). But the highlight particularly for our Canadian guests and kids was the feeding of the parrots. $3 for a bag of food and endless laughs and squeals.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BMACTeam, Owner at Poppies cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2022

Thanks and so glad you enjoyed our cafe and our coffee.

Reviewed 21 March 2022 via mobile

My 2nd time visiting and thought why not come back after a lovely time with a friend. Rang the bell and waited 5 mins, no one came so I rang the bell again. There was no one to greet us or say Hello to make...you feel welcome. It hit me if we are not going to be served to place an order how the wait be to get our food. Lovely place but why ignore customers. Even if you are busy sing out or at least acknowledge your customers. I warned another couple when we were outside and they headed in but noticed them leave in disgust like we did. Treating your customers like this creates bad experiences and will never return in the future. The amount of cafes I go to (slot) I’ve never treated so bad. Good luck with your cafe! I won’t be recommending it to anyone!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BMACTeam, Owner at Poppies cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2022

Sorry we ignored you. it certainly was not intentional on our part. We are very conscious of doing our best to give good customer service as part of our guests Poppies experience along with our home made products..

Reviewed 26 January 2022

I visited the cafe with my husband on the 23rd January 2022 and after disclosing that we are unvaxxed we were told that we can only have take away service,so we have been waiting in the outside area together with other customers to be served.When...we received our meal we moved appr. 200 meters away,sat down under the trees on the grass and started to eat,but 2 people came to us and demanded that we move from that area ( stating that we breach the health order) or else they will call the police.There were no people within 200 meter from the area that we were sitting .I think it is unacceptable behavior,and I will never return to this premise.On top of all this the prices are too high( we paid $ 5 for a small cup of peach ice tea,which was full of ice and tasted like water.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BMACTeam, Owner at Poppies cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2022

Sorry you were not double vaxxed and by Qld Govt guidelines at the time you were not allowed to eat food on our premises. You bought takeaway food then sat down to eat it. We were trying to do our part to stop the spread...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Bethany Cottages
58 reviews
41.18 km away
Ascot Lodge Motor Inn Kingaroy
101 reviews
43.94 km away
Kingaroy Country Motel
53 reviews
44.03 km away
Burke & Wills Motor Inn
266 reviews
44.26 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bunya Mountains Tavern Restaurant & Bar
204 reviews
.07 km away
Pips and Cherries
59 reviews
15.74 km away
Maidenwell Trading Post
74 reviews
20.32 km away
Farmhouse Coffee Lounge
27 reviews
38.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bunya Mountains Horse Drawn Tours
26 reviews
.08 km away
Bunya Mountains National Park
294 reviews
.20 km away
Coomba Falls
31 reviews
20.96 km away
Swinging Bridge Park
5 reviews
25.87 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Poppies cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

POPPIES CAFE, Bunya Mountains - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Poppies cafe

Yes, Poppies cafe offers takeaway services.

Poppies cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4