We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Thai
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (158)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
94
42
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
94
42
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barramundi tamarind sauce saturday night dining experience australia
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Had a lovely meal here with family and we were all impressed with the delicious food. High quality with fresh ingredients and generous portions, it is quite good value for money. The service was really friendly and the ambiance was warm and inviting on a...chilly night. A great find- we'll be back!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim Hayter, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Thank you for taking time to review us Peter! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit at Vanilla Orchid Thai in Warrandyte. We strive to cook the yummy Thai food in a welcoming ambience and love seeing our guests satisfied. So pleased you...More

Reviewed 21 May 2023

Dined with friends and left underwhelmed at the quality of the food and the unpolished, inexperienced serving staff. The barramundi was dry and was served with not enough tamarind sauce. When this was pointed out to the serving staff, she said it would be passed...along to the kitchen with no further dialogue. There were other issues with the flavours, portion size and outdated presentation of the food. We have no problems paying for quality food and enjoy dining out regularly. Suggest Vanilla Orchid look at what their competitors are offering in this price point -Holy Basil in Croydon for example, offers a much more professional, authentic quality, dining experience. We won’t be returning and given the half empty restaurant (which previously was always bustling on a Saturday night) aren’t the only ones.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023

The food at Vanilla Orchid is still pretty good, perhaps 10% off its very best period under the previous management and initially under the new management. The problem it has become very expensive. I realize and appreciate that costs are going up everywhere but VO...prices have far outstripped inflation. And the trend to increases in prices goes back well before the current inflation period in Australia began.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
P Hayter, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your opinion and value your perspective as it helps us improve our services. Please note that the management has not changed in the last 7 years and the key chefs remain...More

Reviewed 27 July 2021

We have been going to Vanilla Orchid for many years and recently in between lockdowns we were able to return for our anniversary dinner. Unfortunately not sure what has happened but something definitely has, food nowhere near as tasty as it used to be, quite...disappointed in the duck dish I chose as it has always been my favourite. Even most of the staff has changed and not for the better. Just another change in these COVID times that appears will never be the same.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanilla Orchid Thai, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Thanks for the feedback after your visit to Vanilla Orchid and I do appreciate your continued patronage over the years. We typically seek clarification from diners that everything is ok with their meal and are always happy to cook food again for customers who find...More

Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

This place has gone downhill rapidly - I can only presume that the previous owner Duncan is no longer consulting for them ? The entrees of Kabri prawn and the chicken wings were nothing special and incredibly over priced - as is everything on the...menu. We were looking foreword to the signature Slow cooked duck and the Burmese sweet curry but were disappointed when they arrived borderline cold very bland to say the least. The menu is 30% overpriced with the food quality 50% lower than your average. This place is a classic example of how fools and their money are easily parted.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanilla Orchid Thai, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hi Peter. Duncan has not been involved with the restaurant for 5 years; to suggest he has been consulting is misinformed. I'm sorry you did not find the food up to our usual standard. After discussion with the staff working during your visit I understand...More

Reviewed 8 May 2021

corkage $8 for two people extra surcharge using debit card, food was ok but red duck curry was disappointing. We were seatied at one table then asked to go to another.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanilla Orchid Thai, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Thank you for the feedback following your visit to Vanilla Orchid Thai. I'm sorry that you were seated and then relocated during your visit. Please understand that it resulted from two separate bookings under the same name and time. This is not an excuse but...More

Reviewed 25 March 2021

We have been regular customers of this restaurant up until covid. The food is always amazing but yesterday, my birthday celebratory dinner, was disappointing. Four of us took a bottle of our favourite wine each only to find that we were up for $40 corkage....The waitresses didn’t touch any of the wines. We brought our own cooler for the bubbles and kept the other wines at our table. They did not open the wine, cool the wine or have to deal with our empty bottles. All they did was provide glasses which were already on the tables. Disappointing. We missed the traditional Thai costumes of the past and left feeling disappointed. Will we return?More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanilla Orchid Thai, Owner at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Thank you for providing valuable feedback following your recent trip to Vanilla Orchid Thai. We are very happy to hear the food has been up to standard for your visits. We take your other feedback seriously and have now lowered our corkage fee. Kind regards-...More

Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

really enjoyed this restaurant, excellent food, nice ambience. all good. friendly staff., good menu, fresh quality tasty food

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2020 via mobile

I haven't actually eaten in the restaurant, only ordered take away. Tonight was the first time and I'll definitely be back for more! I had the crispy pork belly starter, massaman curry with coconut rice and roti. Everything was amazing and, nothing was too spicy....The pork belly crackle was so crispy and the pineapple in the curry was a great touch. Everything arrived when I wanted it delivered and was perfect.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2020 via mobile

We have loved Vanilla Orchid for years. The food is great and the people always friendly and welcoming. Fabulous Larb Gai and curries

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, General Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Hi Glenn, Thank you for the excellent feedback and continued support! Great to hear you have enjoyed the food and service. Kind regards.

Reviewed 27 October 2019

We love our Warrandyte Thai Vanilla Orchid, especially for take-away. The complex flavoured sauces compliment the fresh tiger prawns and other dishes we favour. Vegetable tempura is plentiful, light and fluffy. Staff is not only friendly but keen to create a feeling that each guest...is special. Recently we complained, thinking we didn't get one dish that we ordered. The staff bent over backwards to find the 'missing order,' which turned out not to be missing at all. We were so embarrassed, but the staff remained attentive, kind and not a vestige of annoyance for what was our error that created extra work for them.. We are lucky to have such delicious food and super service out here in our little village on the Yarra.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Thank you for the wonderful feedback following your visit to Vanilla Orchid Thai Restaurant!

Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

We are regulars, the food is always excellent and the service reliable and friendly. This most recent visit was not quite up to expected standard in one of the dishes and the service was a little disappointing.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Hello Bill, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Vanilla Orchid Thai. We are very happy to hear the food is typically excellent and that you experience reliable and friendly service. I apologise that on your most recent visit the service...More

Reviewed 10 June 2019

Great meals and service. The Pad Thai with Duck was delicious. My wife had Pad Thai with Prawns, and there were ample prawns in the dish. I would definitely go back. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2019

Thank you, Shamus. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and the service. Kind regards, Vanilla Orchid Management.

Reviewed 13 May 2019

Slow service (Saturday Night). Said she would come back and take our order in a minute didn't see her until we caught her eye over 5 minutes later. Atmosphere is OK but don't sit near the front door as it does not get closed that...often and if its a cold night then you will encounter a cold blast every few minutes as people don't shut the door, and the door does not close itself. We were placed possibly at the table closest to the door. The food was average had Spring Rolls and Curry puffs. The curry puffs were pretty tasteless, and the spring rolls were nothing to write home about. Our friend had a Plaa Choop Pad Tord (It reads well on the menu) but a starter which was just like fish bites from the supermarket and two dipping sauces. One of the sauces was nice. He has had the pork belly there before and said he would go back to the option if they came again. I had Pat Ped for main it has a beef chicken pork option I went beef. Bad move the beef was a mix of over cooked to under cooked and I had to spit one bit out as it was so grisly. My meal itself was nice in terms of the flavour, but the beef let it down badly. Its the only hot item on the menu from what I could see (chilli hot) I asked for extra hot and the heat was just passable (I am a chilli head so it might hurt others). My wife had stir fried cashew and she liked her meal but thought it was a bit too expensive for what she got. At over 55 dollars a head (inc drinks), I would personally not go back. I have been there before but that was (would have been) with the previous owners and I don't recall a bad experience. Perhaps I just caught the chef on a bad night. But I wont order the beef, if we were to go there again We did order 1 wine and had 4 beers in total so the meals with starters (no drinks) would be around 35 pp.( we had starters Mains Rice and Roti) so a premium is paid for the wine which annoys me. 4 people at 235.00 (inc a few drinks) to me is expensive for the experience I had. I would definitely recommend BYO wine, which I wish I had known prior. The roti was nice And waitresses leaning over you to deliver food to someone across the table is also why I marked them down. If our friends asked us to go there again I would ask about other options in Warrandyte. I have been to much better Thai restaurants from this particular experienceMore

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Hi Adrian, thank you for the valuable feedback following your visit to Vanilla Orchid Thai. I am sorry to hear that you felt a cool draft while eating, as we do indeed work to keep the door shut when possible. On a busy night such...More

Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

Probably one of the best Thai places I’ve ever eaten at. The menu is extensive with something that’ll appeal to everyone. Although there are many traditional dishes , you should try the ones that you wouldn’t normally find. In saying that, the Pad Thai is...fabulous. Staff are exceptional so a big shout out to them. Bookings advised as it gets busy quickly. Good takeaway - just ring it through. Wheelchair friendly sky. Kid friendly. Pram and stroller accessible. Good parking at the rear or across the road.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VanillaOrchidThai, Manager at Vanilla Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2019

Thank you very much for the outstanding feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your meal at Vanilla Orchid. Kind regards- Vanilla Orchid management.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Eltham Motor Inn
48 reviews
5.39 km away
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
199 reviews
6.15 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
747 reviews
7.19 km away
Ringwood Motel
29 reviews
7.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Food for All Seasons
67 reviews
.29 km away
Now & Not Yet
62 reviews
.17 km away
Ember Dining
21 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Warrandyte River Reserve
26 reviews
.07 km away
Stiggants Reserve
7 reviews
.99 km away
Laughing waters park
6 reviews
1.50 km away
Whipstick Gully
5 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chris W
14 August 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Shamus G | Reviewed this property |
We always try the carpark at the rear of the complex.
0
Votes
funkyknees
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Diane H | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
ainm403
1 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Betty1256 | Reviewed this property |
Perhaps call the restaurant. Unfortunately I’m unable to answer this.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

VANILLA ORCHID, Warrandyte - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vanilla Orchid

Yes, Vanilla Orchid offers takeaway services.

Vanilla Orchid is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5