We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Inn

Winters Cross, Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LH, England
+44 1989 730546
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“gumbo” (6 reviews)
“fish pie” (10 reviews)
“beef” (24 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winters Cross, Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Good thing we booked as it was busy. Bowls of free pork crackling on the bar which they allowed us to take to our table. Good choice of meat options. Very good quality and just enough veg served in turins for thd 5 of us....More

Thank cwtshsadie3
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My wife and I went here purely because of the great reviews. It was better than expected, staff were great and the food was percect. Including the lovely dog lying in front of the fire. I had the fish and chips and it was perfect...More

Thank tomcweaver
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for you lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleased to discover that this pub serves food all day! Plenty of choice on the menu. Loads of parking space. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Lovely place.

Thank Reddybear66
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We walked to this pub on the basis of reviews and recommendations and were very disappointed. We arrived at five to eight - hungry - only to be told that they stopped serving food at 7.45! We said surely something could be done as it...More

2  Thank Ginnie G
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, however, we find your comments very strange, the only nights that we close at 8pm are Sunday and Monday, the rest of the week we are ALWAYS open until 9pm....as you stated that you arrived at 7.45 we would have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at the red lion on our way home to Derbyshire. What a find!!!! Lovely quiet seating area outside and beautiful pub inside. High class and quaint the red lion is an excellent place to eat and drink for families, couples or groups. I...More

Thank Clare C
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your amazing review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food,good choice,only complaint portions too large so unable to have a dessert and the dessert menu looked inviting!

Thank grandmanne
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited as a party of 10, looked after us really well - very pleasant & helpful staff, excellent choice & quality of food. The portions were very good & excellent value.

Thank PeteCash63
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you agin soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of 10 of us were staying at a house in Ross-on-Wye for the weekend and we asked a local for a recommendation for Sunday dinner. She suggested a few places including the Red Lion. As we were a large group we phoned the...More

Thank Jo C
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope that you will visit again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent, quick, friendly service. Delicious Sunday roast, amazing value for money. Would highly recommend! Thank you!

Thank Paul C
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having been recommended this pub for lunch and being a group of 14 we booked in advance..Although arriving 5 mins before last orders at 3pm we were met with a smile and shown to our tables...from starters to deserts there was no trying to rush...More

1  Thank Blaineybush
Kath F, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and glad to hear you had a pleasant experience, we are sorry about the tired equipment in the playground, unfortunately, we keep buying new cars, ride-on toys etc, but they are abused by the minority and we feel somewhat...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Mughal
80 reviews
1.62 km away
Tabernacle Tearoom at Baileys Home and Garden
12 reviews
2.28 km away
Harewood End Inn
369 reviews
3.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Goodrich Castle
797 reviews
5.48 km away
In The Footsteps Battlefield Tours
139 reviews
5.05 km away
Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo
380 reviews
7.55 km away
St Mary The Virgin Church
29 reviews
4.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Penny K
19 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kath F | Property representative |
Hi There, yes, in the bar area. Kind regards, Kath
1
Vote
nat158
30 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kath F | Property representative |
we are now open Sunday evening for food from 6pm till 8pm and monday all day for food from 12 till 8pm
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 7 - USD 22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winters Cross, Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye  >  Peterstow
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 730546
  • E-mail
Description
A Country Pub that serves Freshly cooked Meals using fresh local produce whenever possible. Open log fire and log burner, original wooden flooring in bar area, a great selection of real ales, Childrens play area and games for children - big or small! To play with inside the building or bigger versions to take outside. Friendly Staff and great chefs. Main Menu, Lite bite lunchtime menu and 2 curries changed weekly. Takeaways available upon request. Gluten free, celiac etc meals available, speak to a member of staff.6 Real Ales, ice cold draught lagers and guinness and a great selection of Wines. Come and visit, you will not be disappointed. We are also dog friendly in the bar area.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing