We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Lead

1 Blackett Street, Hebburn NE31 1ST, England
+44 191 489 4656
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (32 reviews)
“cheesecake” (13 reviews)
“beef” (22 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 am - 11:30 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Blackett Street, Hebburn NE31 1ST, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Visited The White Lead for the first time whilst under new management for a friends wedding. All I can say is what an amazing day and night from start to finish! The two owners could not have done enough for the bride, groom and all...More

Thank amy9297
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Excellent Service really good meals one of the best restaurants around thank your meals and service for excellent thank you David & Sean brilliant staff Chefs are very good and the manager Hannah not forgetting Liam and also the waitress,s very excellent thanks Sandra &...More

Thank Alf D
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Sandra & Alf, Thank you for the kind words! We really appreciate your repeat custom. Glad to see Sandra enjoyed her birthday meal with us on Tuesday. Shame you weren't there. Hope you're feeling better soon! Kind regards David & Sean

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We used to live local to the white lead but moved after we had a baby. After seeing it had been taken over we decided to go over and pay a visit, we originally only went for a drink while our daughter napped but the...More

Thank safcjade
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello, Glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised with food. Sorry the pizza wasn't spicy enough for you. We'll certainly make sure it's hotter for next time. All our desserts are homemade so hopefully we can tempt you back sooner! Kind regards David & Sean

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Good friendly atmosphere and friendly staff. A slight issue with food order. I always feel a bisiness can have an issue but its how you deal with it that counts. Management didnt dissappoint dealing with the issue quickly and effectively. Food overall well presented and...More

Thank marc g
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Marc, Glad to hear we managed to exceed your expectations. Despite the minor issue, it was great to see you still had a good time. Hope to see you soon! David & Sean

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The White Lead was recently closed for a few months following a lengthy decline. It reopened with new management and a new menu but sadly not enough new ideas or changes to convince potential customers to return... we have visited twice in recent weeks, sampling...More

Thank ElissaStarset
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Elissa, Thank you for your comments and feedback. I'm sorry we haven't come up to your expectations just yet, but rest assured we are working hard to ensure the White Lead will go above and beyond for everyone. We've only been trading for 3...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

We visited The Whitelead on Sunday15th July for Sunday Lunch. Six of our group ordered lunch ( the others had already ate) 2 had chicken,2 beef and 2 lamb. The meat was tender, the veg 'Al Dente' the gravy flavoursome, Yorkshire puds homemade and all...More

Thank JABB52
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

On Friday 6th July, we had our engagement party originally booked elsewhere, however due to this place closing down and being left devastated, The White Lead saved us at the very last minute and were able to host our party!! And what a night it...More

Thank 149jenniferp17
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Jen & Adam, Hope you are both well, sorry for the delayed reply. What an amazing night it was! We're so glad we were able to accommodate your party at last minute and pleased to know you and your guests had a great time!...More

Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

The food, staff and place are amazing. Me and my mum and dad have been there lots of times since it reopen. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this place.

Thank Suzanne D
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Suzanne, Thank you for the kind words. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards David & Sean

Reviewed 5 July 2018

Can't believe how expensive this place has got, first time I've been since it reopened and was reall disappointed. A pint and rum & coke cost nearly £11, only had one drink as just wouldn't pay the price, just not worth it. Used to love...More

Thank Lesley J
David H, Owner at The White Lead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Lesley, We're so sorry for the price you paid for your drinks order. The cost should not have come anywhere near £11!! Our prices on all our drinks have been lowered so an order such as a pint and a rum and Pepsi Max/Diet...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Visited The White Lead several times since it reopened in April 2018. The atmosphere is relaxing, staff very friendly and helpful. Food absolutely lovely and a wide variety of alcohol and soft drinks. Definitely a place I will continue to visit. Lovely place all round.

Thank JMGREWS
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
605 reviews
2.90 km away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
557 reviews
3.34 km away
Travelodge Newcastle Whitemare Pool
279 reviews
4.14 km away
All Seasons
45 reviews
4.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Martino's Jarrow
291 reviews
.83 km away
The Longship
189 reviews
1.04 km away
The Willow
78 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Role Play
9 reviews
1.60 km away
Segedunum
231 reviews
1.82 km away
Jarrow Hall Anglo-Saxon Farm, Village and Bede Museum
67 reviews
1.84 km away
St Paul's Monastery, Jarrow
21 reviews
2.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cathtansey
22 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Tim K | Property representative |
We do indeed! Takeaway Menu on our website
0
Votes
RGG1952
23 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ann_SGateshead | Reviewed this property |
Don't know the answer to this one but a quick phone call to them would solve question. I'm sure the are as are available in all good pubs.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Blackett Street, Hebburn NE31 1ST, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Hebburn
  • Phone Number: +44 191 489 4656
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing