We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet - St Helens

Savoy Buildings Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
+44 1744 610002
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (22 reviews)
“noodles” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Savoy Buildings Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely food . Made fresh soup with whatever you want in it. Fresh food coming out all the time you would not in hungry here

Thank danny406
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you really enjoyed the dishes you tried and enjoyed your visit with us, thank you for your feedback!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always visit here every year for my little brothers birthday he loves it and we love it best Chinese around. Only fault is after 5pm the waiting time is ridiculous even when tables have been booked!!

Thank kelsxo
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you really enjoy dining with us every year for a birthday celebration, thank you for your feedback and I will pass your comments back to the team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is laid out well with a big selection of starters, mains and desserts. The husband was impressed with the meat/ribs saying they weren't fatty or greasy which is something most buffets fall foul of according to him. I've never been to a Chinese...More

Thank Samantha M
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us and found a large selection of dishes to choose from. Thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good selection of food, spent a while browsing and eating small amounts just to taste as much as possible. Staff very helpful and friendly. Will revisit

Thank Frankenstein3726
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you found a good selection of dishes to try, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hospitality was indeed exceptional, however the food was underwhelming overpriced and I was lied to......the duck was in fact turkey but it was listed as 'aromatic duck' for £8.99 I expect REAL DUCK!!!!!! In addition the blackbean and peppercorn sauce was over peppered and...More

Thank Madeline L
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. I would like to ensure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining however I will pass...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food was ok, good selection food, Tapanyaki bar is recommended. Well done to the chef working on that section. I think cleanliness let it down. The floor near the food was really slippy with the grease off the food and I was scared of slipping....More

Thank JSL81
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed our Teppanyaki bar. I will pass your comments back to the team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times all for chow mein cooked by Dee. It's the best chow mein I've had. She also has great customer service love having a laugh and joke with her whilst waiting. I have steak every time as they give u a proper...More

Thank Louise_ryder
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you always enjoy each visit with us and receive great customer service from Dee! Thank you for your lovely comments

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing hospitality from the chow mein chef Dee. Her food is gorgeous, the best I have ever tasted. The best thing is that you can personalise your meal to your preferences and favourite flavours. Been here a few times now and the times I have...More

Thank Laurabain11
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I will pass your comments back to Dee! We're so glad you enjoyed all the dishes you tried and we hope to welcome you again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here many times and it never disappoints. From the moment I walked through the door I knew my tastebuds were in for a treat. I prepared my mouth for an amazing explosion of food with a wide variety from chicken and noodles to chocolate...More

1  Thank bigmandan69
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We're so glad you always enjoy each visit with us and always enjoy each dishes you try, thank you for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went around 9pm on a Saturday night. Was very expensive to eat and the drinks where very highly priced. Hardly any dessert left. Food was nice

Thank MerseysideSam
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet - St Helens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed dining with us and we will pass your comments back to the team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Colours Restaurant
180 reviews
.13 km away
Vigour Kitchen & Juice Bar
15 reviews
.03 km away
Caffe Nero
25 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
The World of Glass
297 reviews
.19 km away
Theatre Royal
119 reviews
.38 km away
The Citadel
44 reviews
.07 km away
Church Square Shopping Centre
9 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
ron f
what seafood is available. what don't they put on the lunch menu that is on the nigh time menu
26 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from susan w | Reviewed this property |
Salmon & large prawns sushi. Fish curry. Night time much better as fresh food cooked in front of you. Pick your own what you want. Chocolate fountain is great of a night. Ice cream machine. Lots to choose from. You will be... More
1
Vote
Jan F
How much for 2 adults and 2 kids age 11?
12 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Joymc1985 | Reviewed this property |
It is £15.00 per adult and a couple quid cheaper for kids at dinner time and it's a bit cheaper at lunch time for adults and kids and this doesn't include drinks. The menu and prices are on their website.
0
Votes
Steve J
What time does the menu change from lunch to dinner?
22 January 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Rowloefc | Reviewed this property |
5pm - they make you wait if you arrive just before!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 4 - USD 18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Savoy Buildings Bridge Street, St Helens WA10 1NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  St Helens
  • Phone Number: +44 1744 610002
  • E-mail
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant.
Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations.
Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers.

They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards.

THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing