We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fox and Hounds

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Alfreton Road, Coxbench DE21 5BA, England
+44 1332 880835
Today
12:00 - 15:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 15:30
Mon 00:00 - 00:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 20:30
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good menu with varied choice with home made food & very well cooked. Good selection of beers and wine. Friendly attentive service.

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I sadly attended my mothers funeral service on 14/3/2016........the staff at the Fox and HOUNDS PROVIDED LUNCH.....It was excellent and the family were made to feel welcome... really good. I would like to thank RACHEL and the other staff for making a sad occasion just a little brighter

Helpful?
1 Thank mikejones2017
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Such days are always difficult for us all. We always try to up-beat, but temper this with our deep respect for the family and friends. We are extremely grateful that you found our thoughtfulness and endeavour appropriate. Once again, our sincere condolences. Tracie, John, Rachel and staff. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Phoned on a whim to get a table for the same evening. Rachel was very accommodating and managed to arranged this for us at short notice. Lovely venue. Excellent hospitality and a great variety on offer on the menu. The food was of a high standard and excellent value. Staff were friendly. Service was quick. We will definitely be returning... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much Lucy B, We are delighted you had such a great time when you visited us. Rachel is a great asset to the Fox and Hounds and her interest in our guests is not just superficial customer service, as you get so often in todays world, but a genuine effort to ensure that your overall experience of... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good atmosphere, very attentive staff, great home cooked food. Had lunch on the Saturday, impressive, returned in force on the Sunday Great.

Helpful?
1 Thank LIZIAN123
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Hello LIZIAN123, Thank you very much for your appreciation of allTracie's efforts. It's great to know you visited us two days on the trot and enjoyed everything so much, from the staff welcome; to the atmosphere; and our great food from both the A la Carte menu, and then our traditional Sunday roast. It must mean we are doing something... More 

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over the next two years we are hunting out "new to us" places to eat, each month one couple picks a destination within an hour's drive from home and keeps it secret from the other couple. The village/town has to begin with the next letter of the alphabet, last night was "C" and our friends chose Coxbench and the Fox... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank djw1963
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very very much, It was a pleasure welcoming you to the Fox and Hounds and talking to you too, and even more enjoyable knowing we made your evening so special for yourself, partner and friends. Sitting and relaxing, and having a couple of drinks, before, during and after their meal is what we would like everyone to do.... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited today with my husband for lunch after a walk but we were left a little disappointed particularly after reading many positive reviews. Firstly there is no lunch menu (only 5-6 light bites no sandwiches etc) so the food is quite heavy. I ordered fish and chips - the fish was not really tasty and the home made tartare... More 

Helpful?
Thank katie a
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

There is always a lunch menu; it's the one you read and because its not to your personal liking is not a reason for your unjustified comments. Because it does not espouse to food factory twizzlers; garlic mushrooms; and scampi or any other number of frozen light bites does not mean you may denigrate its worth. Baguettes are always available... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We came here after hearing how good the food was from a friend and we weren't disappointed. When we arrived we were told the food is always cooked to order and we could expect a 30 minute wait, which is fine as long as you're told beforehand. We ordered the belly pork and my wife ordered the marinated tofu dish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Jane and Andy, We are so very happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us on Saturday. It was the second winter season menu, which had only started that week, and although we cook all the new dishes, and experiment with presentation before we start to serve them it's always fantastic when they are received with such pleasure by... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Been to the fox & hounds a few times now & just love the selection of home cooked food, the belly pork is out of this world scrumptious, staff always polite looking forward to next visit 😄

Helpful?
1 Thank denell2015
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. It fantastic to hear from everyone, especially regular visitors to the Fox and Hounds, so we know that we are constantly achieving the standards we set. We sincerely endeavour to make everyone's visit to us individual and memorable, for the best reasons, and will look forward to seeing you again. Tracie More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We went as a family to the fox and hounds in coxbench. We had visited as a family several times before and always had a great experience. Due to us going on Boxing Day, we had been asked to pre order and pay a £10 deposit per person which we were more than happy to do. We were seated at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire E
Tracie T, Owner at Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

We will respond to your comments as they appear in your review. You were seated appropriately to the space your party required and in relation to the date you booked, taking into account other previously booked reservations for that day, and although you may have been in the pub prior to, or after other guests, we assure you that we... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

We had a lovely lunch, the staff were helpful and friendly. My fellow diners had the roast turkey which was plentiful and succulent with perfectly cooked vegetables (the roast potatoes were the best ever). I had the mango and tomato curry which, as a non meat eater, made a welcome change from the usual run of the mill veggie offerings... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank carolebJ2456IM

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 12 - USD 31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
Monday
00:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alfreton Road, Coxbench DE21 5BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Coxbench
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 880835
Description
We are a welcoming Country Pub with dining; serving real homemade food, everything from a British classic Homemade short-crust pastry pie thru our juicy but crispy roasted belly pork, to wild venison and seasonal game. We cook everything to order; yes really, our pie goes in the oven and we cook your pastry there and then so its crispy and golden when it is served at your table; your Sea Bass is lightly pan fried so its crispy but succulent and your lamb rump is cooked and rested to allow it to relax and be luscious and tender. On Sundays we serve a traditional Sunday British Roast. We don't just serve food; we have a reserved bar area in the evening so you can sit and chat with a pint or two of our great cask ale, share a bottle of wine or have a coffee relaxing with your family, friends or lover, What could be more enjoyable!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?