We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hardy's Bistro

54 Araluen Dr, Hardys Bay, New South Wales 2257, Australia
+61 2 4360 1667
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“calamari” (11 reviews)
“salad” (10 reviews)
“burger” (9 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 am - 4:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
54 Araluen Dr, Hardys Bay, New South Wales 2257, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We had a family dinner here the other night and it was great. Lovely attentive service, very quick with the food and everyone was happy with their choices. The food was fresh and very well presented. We also ordered a bottle of very nice Merlot...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank MarilynJ326
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a sumptuous lunch at a nearby restaurant we strolled over to Hardys for air-conditioning and coffee and cakes. Excellent service and food was enjoyed by all.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SunMoonShine
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Our local garden club had our Christmas lunch here and it was wonderful. Superbly organised by Mel the owner, the food was delicious, the staff attentive and the whole thing ran like clockwork. I couldn't fault it, and more importantly the members thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Normaandbruce C
Reviewed 2 December 2018

This restaurant has got it all - great location, great views, great food and a fantastic young team providing a very high standard of service, but at the same time they are very relaxed. Loved this place and recommend this to all who make their...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Graham M
Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Don’t need to say much, just that the food was just unbelievably tasty! Still can’t stop thinking about how delicious the roasted tomatoes in my halloumi stack were. The portion sizes were enormous and great little wine list. Just delightful sitting out on the water!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 673EmmaM
Reviewed 16 November 2018

went here with my family for lunch and the food and service were amazing.the chicken schnitzel burgers and the calamari were top rate.There were plenty of other options. staff were very helpful and informative about the menu.Campos coffee is on offer and was excellent.the view...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Copa1964
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch and had the most amazing food and fantastic service. They have a new summer menu and the quinoa salad bowl was really delicious. My partner had the crispy skinned salmon which was perfectly cooked and she loved it. We each had a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Marcus W
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Our experience at Hardy’s Bistro was extremely disappointing. Meals were below average and partly inedible, our coffees were inconsistent. Disappointingly, the customer service was extremely poor, with disinterested attitudes. Such a shame, as the view is beautiful. We won’t be back.More

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank QuinceA
MW-Hardys, Owner at Hardy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Quince I'm extremely disappointed that you were disappointed .. your feedback,albeit subjective, has been taken on board. I find it difficult to understand how you did not make us aware of your issues whilst at our establishment so that they could be addressed &...More

Reviewed 21 October 2018

Dropped in for brunch today and I'm sorry to say was left very disappointed. Firstly our server was kind and friendly and was prompt to take our order which is great. We ordered a mango frappe, iced coffee, french toast and the potato hash. The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Stephanie9313
MW-Hardys, Owner at Hardy's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Stephanie Firstly, I'm very sorry to read that you were not happy with your visit to Hardy's yesterday. It has come as a bit of a surprise because I was working here yesterday and none of us were aware of your complaints. I wish...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018

This nice café is located in the middle of Hardy’s Bay/Killcare village and in an historic old heritage listed original general store. The old floorboards and décor add to the charm of the place; which offers really nice breakfast and lunches. The coffee is superb,...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank PhilthetravellerXI
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
227 reviews
2.18 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
2,961 reviews
2.66 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
996 reviews
4.78 km away
Avoca Beach Hotel & Resort
180 reviews
8.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bells at Killcare Restaurant & Bar
267 reviews
1.28 km away
Yum Yum Dining
192 reviews
.06 km away
Killcare Surf Club
14 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Andersons Boatshed
26 reviews
1.63 km away
Bouddi National Park
35 reviews
2.07 km away
Cinema Paradiso
76 reviews
2.14 km away
Mount Ettalong Lookout
33 reviews
4.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MartinR30
Dear BeardedAussie, Were you at all aware that there were other people in the restaurant at the time you entered, messed around, came back, had luck with a leaving table and got into the queue with the rest of us who know Hardy's Bistro to be one of the finest eating spots in Australia? We heard your approach, your whinging, your mumbling. No one left your table to go to the counter to ask about food delivery - they were too busy ignoring the screaming kid! I suggest you never come back to Killcare. We don't need people like you who complain, after the event, and try to undermine a fabulous eatery. Mate, if you're reasonable, you'll retract your review and apologise to the hard working staff and, indeed, the owner of this establishment. The reason there was a 45 minute wait for food is that everyone knows the wait is worth it! Mel and her staff are full of integrity. If something is wrong, they put it right, every time. In five years of using Hardys Bistro I've made two, hopefully helpful, suggestions. They immediately implemented both. I didn't post it on social media, I didn't need to. I simply told them I had an issue and they rectified the problem there and then. Take a look at the vast majority of reviews for this place and you'll see that you are out of synch' with them. There must be a reason. Try being nice, open and honest. The results are awesome! Have a great day! M
10 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 255060Victoria | Reviewed this property |
Hi Martin, I couldn't help but read your answer to this horrid sounding Bearded Aussie! I totally agree with you, it is easily a fabulous restaurant. My family and I have been a few times and have ALWAYS had fantastic... More
1
Vote
nezkelly
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from lyndellpp | Reviewed this property |
Best to call the Restuarant to see what type of menu they can do for a large group
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 39
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 am - 4:00 pm
Monday
6:30 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
6:30 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
6:30 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
6:30 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
6:30 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Araluen Dr, Hardys Bay, New South Wales 2257, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Hardys Bay
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4360 1667
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe, Bar & Bistro trading 7 days a week for Breakfast & Lunch. Open for Dinner on Thursdays, Fridays & Saturdays
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing