We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Lion Inn

) #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hampton-in-Arden $$ - $$$ , British,
10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
+44 1675 442833
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (10 reviews)
“quiche” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I entertained our fiends for dinner on Tuesday 6th at the White Lion as we had drank there before over the last three years but had not eaten and always found the bar/lounge area a good ambience. We gents had the starters...More

Thank busterSolihull
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind comments, we are sorry and surprised you were not asked if all was okay, something we will look in to. Regarding the web prices, we are in the middle of rebuilding our website, and hopefully all will be up to...More

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch and first thing you notice is the quirky nice decor, great first impression. Then it goes downhill, the service is poor from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave, no real welcome, untidy team on their phones...More

Thank house311
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your honest comments. I can assure you we will be looking into the service issues you encountered , we take these issues seriously and can only apologise that this spoiled your meal. On the flip side we are glad that you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

This is a restaurant review, not for an overnight stay. Popular pub opposite the church in a small village with good local walks. A range of home cooked pies and croque monsieur's along with a smaller range of salads and other dishes, and a focus...More

Thank SolihullRichard
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

A colleague and i dined here this evening if you can call it that. My colleague had the sea board which was ok apart from the fish goujons which were soggy and tasted like mash potato rather than fish. I had the seafood linguini. The...More

Thank Aaron B
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Quite a wide choice of menu.. with traditional pub food and, more creative dishes.. available both at lunch time and, evenings

Thank KenFromKent
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We only called in for a drink after visiting and walking in the area bit the pub was warm and inviting, lovely locals, nice beer and a friendly atmosphere. What more could you want. We would definitely return if back in the area, the restaurant...More

Thank bigchinn
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch here for 9 people. The food was wonderful and the staff 1st class. My wife has gone as far as to say it is the best Carvery she has ever had!! and my Father in law was equally impressed...More

Thank paul19692015
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words

Reviewed 5 April 2017

Firstly the food was late and incorrect, one plate was served 15mins after the other members of our party.We were then spoken to very rudely when we questioned the service, even accusing me of swearing at them..which I did not! When we asked for a...More

Thank Maria P
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

I think your memory may be playing tricks on you, as all this happened 3 weeks ago. Yes one sandwich had been missed off the order, and yes a refund of this meal was offered which you refused. You actually did not want to pay...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a delicious steak and Guinness pie with a decent pint. Good traditional pub with above average food.

Thank Rob B
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Rude staff, walked out whilst a staff member was yelling at a customer when they complained of poor service.

4  Thank Bewad
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Perhaps there are two sides to every story.............

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Beeches Bar & Grill
423 reviews
.16 km away
Burgundy Restaurant
23 reviews
2.46 km away
The Malt Shovel
634 reviews
2.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Heronfield Small Breeds Farm and Animal Rescue Centre
21 reviews
4.72 km away
Copt Heath Golf Club
5 reviews
4.12 km away
National Motorcycle Museum
656 reviews
2.14 km away
National Conference Centre
22 reviews
2.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
John B
Totally agree, we found heavily stain mattress AND cover as well when stripping bed next morning, foreign guy in bar next morning was rude to us as well, we had room 1
23 October 2016|
Answer
Response from MicheleSolihull | Reviewed this property |
it used to be wonderful, but we drink in the beeches now
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 High Street | Shadowbrook Lane, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull  >  Hampton-in-Arden
  • Phone Number: +44 1675 442833
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing