We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Galley Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
43 Kilkeel Road, Annalong, Kilkeel BT34 4TJ, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4376 7253
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 227: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The food was delicious, as usual, and the staff very welcoming and efficient. Particularly impressed with Rose and Liz who made us feel very much at home and engaged in good fun chat. Had fish suppers of the highest standard followed by blackberry and apple crumble with custard.Totally delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have been coming here for years but tonight was very disappointing fish batter was full of oil when I cut into it the oil oozed out also soggy chips weren't great either they are advertising for a new chef i wonder is that why it was the carry out not the restaurant

Helpful?
4 Thank june b
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Monday evening around six while touring around I stopped at gallery. Shown to a corner seat I had to go get my sweater as it was cold.i ordered a jumbo cod on its own at 5.50. it took almost 30 minutes to arrive and could not really justify the jumbo name. It was hard and burnt in places and really... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank frankm654
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Despite recommendations my expectations were not particularly high when visiting what I thought was a glorified fish and chip shop. I was wrong. This little restaurant while attached to a take away fish and chip shop stands on its own. We were welcomed by staff on arrival and quickly brought menus and a jug of water. The menu is extensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynmarhunt
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here before and always had the fish as it is always so fresh and delicious. This time I thought I would try something different, I chose the gammon, big mistake. It was so tough I couldn't even chew it. I tried a small piece of it and that was that, my friends had the baked cod and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JosephZee
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Joseph We are sorry you had a bad experience with us recently, however we find if these issues are raised at the time, instead of on a trip advisor review, they are easier sorted, leaving you with a better experience and a meal that you enjoyed. We are currently training new staff for the summer and I can only... More 

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called here on our way home from Warrenpoint. We were seated immediately. Fish and chips here are absolutely beautiful. Staff were pleasant and we got a lovely seat beside the window overlooking the road. Would certainly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Without a doubt they serve the best fish and chips in the Mourne area.They always have a good selection of desserts.The only other item I had on the menu was the burger (enough for 2 people)! It was excellent. Get there early. It's always very busy.

Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I called at The Galley last Friday after a day up Donard mountain. I had heard great reports about the fish and chips so we called here to sample same. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find there was a restaurant attached. We entered the restaurant and were greeted quickly and shown to our seats.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gibby6
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your encouraging words we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to serving you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived as a group of 5, we were told by an grouchy waiter that we should of booked in advance. We waited 40 mins before the waiter took our order we tried to get the waiters attention for a drink but no eye contact. The lasagna was awful, the meat was clumped together and not much tomato sauce. Food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireChapel
Aileen C, Owner at The Galley Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Clare, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, if you let us know what day and time you called in we can identify who dealt with you and address that issue. There is absolutely no excuse for bad manners and we have a zero tolerance of such behaviour. Our Lasagna is a very popular... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had Lunch here today with 2 good friends & we THOROUGHLY enjoyed our visit. The food was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS, the surroundings are beautiful inside & out (beautiful view of the Irish Sea from the front door) and the customer service is 1st class & very friendly. Will DEFINITELY be back again. This was my 1st visit, however my friends have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne J Moore

Travellers who viewed The Galley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Galley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 43 Kilkeel Road, Annalong, Kilkeel BT34 4TJ, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Kilkeel  >  Annalong
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4376 7253
Description
New - Low fat menu available for sit-in or takeaway

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Galley Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?