We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
+44 1629 812807
Today
08:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this afternoon after being turned away from another tearoom in Bakewell as they were too busy. Mounted the staircase to a lovely welcome greeting and were asked to choose a table. Ordered a coffee,chai tea,carrot cake and Bakewell tart. All arrived promptly and were delicious,in fact I was rather jelaous that my husband had picked the Bakewell tart.Homemade by... More 

Helpful?
Thank jularic
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, im glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Also delighted you enjoyed our bakewell tart it is our biggest seller as far as desserts are concerned, ill have to start making more, we do hope to see both yourself & your husband soon, thankyou once again More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in on sunday afternoon for a hot drink, latte and mocha and a scone. Long wait for two drinks considering it was not busy. Eventually the drinks come but no scone. Drinks were barely warm, my husband can not drink very hot drinks as he has a sensitive tongue and even he dranks his mocha straight down. We walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank jennywilliams367
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been coming here for years, and left slightly disappointed this time Some of the menu items were off already (and we arrived at midday on a Friday...) but we weren't told this until 10 minutes after we'd ordered. Food was either overcooked (egg in the all day breakfast was rock solid, sausage overcooked) or not hot enough, the tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandRandTandC
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didnt enjoy yr visit with us, you should of been informed about any of our dishes been off the menu when you had been seated, i will reiterate this matter with our servers. I will also inform the chef of his over cooked food as this is not acceptable. Nowhere do we state that our... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely restaurant in the centre of Bakewell, with really good home cooked food, including gluten free menu. It's upstairs, so not really suitable for disabled, but well worth a visit nonetheless. With friendly service, and Georgian atmospheric rooms, it's not to be missed. It's our go-to place for a good meal every time we're in Bakewell.

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Being celiac can always be a tricky mine field when trying to eat out. Here I had a wonderful cauliflower cheese tart and a beautiful brownie. They had lots of gluten free options and understood my requirements. Great little stop, would most certainly return if in the area again

Helpful?
Thank hflicker1
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice review, we have just today purchased some nice new gluten free meals & also some scrummy desserts, we hope to see you & your family again, thank you once again More 

Chesterfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

It was so lovely here. Feels like you're in a b&b. Very impressed with the vegetarian options and all at a good price too, nothing too expensive. The staff were very friendly and the chef even checked everything was alright. I will definitely be going back :)

Helpful?
Thank KatieLouise2015
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in here this morning for a quick bite with hubby. The service wasn't the fastest but the waitress was pleasant enough. 2 coffees, 1 portion of crumpets and scrambled egg on toast is what we ordered. The coffee was great, hot and very strong. Crumpets were a little over toasted. Scrambled eggs were nice. Not huge portion though for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne E
sutton in ashfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

My partner and I went to Byways this morning I ordered the full English and she had just a coffee, The Breakfast arrived less than ten minutes after ordering it and it was delicious the coffee was great too.

Helpful?
Thank raven525
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Visited with my daughter on her recommendation. Had a fab lunch and fantastic selection of tea.. Not T bags - proper leaf tea !! Good was lovely with a good selection. Lovely staff who made time to be friendly @ welcoming. Great selection of gluten free items. Lovely quaint place with s fab coal fire. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch

Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Visited with my family for brunch. We thought eating early we would beet the lunchtime crowd so arrived around 11.25. We ordered 2 breakfast rolls, poached eggs on toast, crumpets and a round of toast. Nothing too complicated. After prompting the staff numerous times the food finally arrived just under an hour later, by which time we were all rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leighla62
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this review

Firstly i apologised for your trouble on the day secondly i deducted the poached eggs & crumpets of your bill & last but not least you were informed there would be a good 45 minute wait on your food which you agreed to. More 

Travellers who viewed Byways also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Byways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Water Lane, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812807
Description
Cafe serving homecooked homely food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Byways staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?