We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (85 reviews)
“pie” (58 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

agree with other reviews - slow service, average food (above average prices) and really, really unfriendly staffMore

6  Thank albert109151
thepeacockbakewell, Delete the negative; accentuate the positive, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I think this is a case of the pot calling the kettle black albert109151 all the way from London, because let me tell you NOBODY is unfriendly here, I repeat nobody, focussed yes, under pressure yes, slow methodic service during busy times yes, and as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes the venue is busy but this reflects it popularity - depending on what you order do not expect the meal to be served immediately (this fact was pointed out to us before we ordered) - the bonus of the wait was the freshly prepared...More

2  Thank bri_5700
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cannot say much, other than -Wow! What a view- we sat and enjoyed a drink and admired the view...which is to be admired! Worth the stop!

3  Thank Glenn S
thepeacockbakewell, The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I guess Bakewell is a beautiful view Glenn S, wherever you view it from! You didn't have to come here anyway, so remember Every picture tells a story.....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

lovely character pub. service was excellent food was lovely hot and very tasty. recommend you give it a try

2  Thank Gail G
thepeacockbakewell, My best bar tip is to have good food and really good music! at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

.....couldn't agree with you more Gail G - thanks for giving everyone the heads up, as they'd be fools not to give it a try!!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

V overpriced for standard food. Staff didn't really want us there and forgot the little touches i.e. Sauces asking if all was ok. You order at the bar and and wait an age for the food to arrive. Quite unfriendly and squashed in place. Won't...More

8  Thank Heidi W
thepeacockbakewell, We are infected by our own misunderstanding of how our own minds work, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your views surprise me Heidi W as nothing I feel could be further from the truth!!! Our food is Quality and Quality of the highest order, and I would never deem it standard as you naively report - if you want pub prices than maybe...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came across it and decided to have lunch.was fortunate to get a table straightaway in the beer garden.went inside to order and the guy says '2 'ticks' then proceeds to skitter about stocking mixers,etc.never came back.eventually got my order in via someone else.stood a full...More

8  Thank hugh g
thepeacockbakewell, A great deal of intelligence can be invested in ignorance when the need for illusion is deep, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

hugh g, your total ignorance and arrogance amazes me as what kind of person are you??? It was Bank Holiday Sunday and as per usual the Peacock was absolutely rammed packed to the rafters, no sorry it was full to the sky as The Peacock...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for a couple of drinks during a day trip having seen the attractive beer garden while walking past on a sunny day. The beer garden was packed but we got lucky finding a table that had just become free. The bar was really...More

1  Thank IanMoore
thepeacockbakewell, Be honest, be nice, be a flower not a weed, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great review IanMoore and for that we thank you - not for the fantastic complimentary comments, but for understanding unlike the certain few who lie not far behind you! Great honest comments that far outweigh the immature, selfish and ignorant! Honest communication is built on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved our stay here in a modern and very comfy room. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The local cask ales were just what the doctor ordered after a long walk, the quality of the food was amazing (ribeye steak) and for once I...More

2  Thank Jozef1uk
thepeacockbakewell, A business that makes nothing but money is a poor business, inc. at, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

....and in all honesty Jozef1uk so are we at the Peacock, especially as you report with such complimentary remarks! We may not be the cheapest as you honestly state, but pound for pound, round by round we stand and deliver as you get full value,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only visited to have a break in the beer garden but I have to say the food I saw being served looked very good. The beer I tried was excellent and the staff were very polite as well. Chilled glasses for prosecco was also...More

4  Thank Keith W
thepeacockbakewell, When you think positive, good things happen, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for complimenting our real ales Keith W - you obviously know a good 'un when you taste one, and we serve the best and Rob at Peaks Ales Brewery would support your theory! Chilled glasses for prosecco and chilled glasses from the feezer also...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for lunch time, ordered just a small plate for my kid and some chips..... The place was not even half full...... Waited more than 35 mins for two sausages and chips... Really???More

8  Thank Valerio V
thepeacockbakewell, The world is not fair, and often fools, cowards, liars and the selfish hide in high places, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Really Valerio V - in truth I can only apologise for the wait of as you say 35 minutes for sausage & chips, but the ironic situation on this it confirms a couple of things to me - one being we WERE busy and the...More

Nearby Restaurants
536 reviews
.06 km away
490 reviews
.07 km away
Castle Inn
368 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
179 reviews
.39 km away
River Wye
85 reviews
.11 km away
All Saints Church
104 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
71 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michelle B
13 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
8 March 2016|
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately for the few SolihullStew we are not dog friendly as you put it inside the pub and dining area. Yes, in the beer garden we embrace dogs, as just in the home a dogs place is in the outside world, not for us... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 30
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing