We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Inn

Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
+44 1629 813635
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (88 reviews)
“pie” (57 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My husband Kev and I have just returned from a 3 night mini break at The Peacock. From the moment we booked online, to the moment we checked out, Ian and his staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and extremely generous, including upgrading us to a...More

1  Thank LynnieG76
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited for Saturday lunch after a walk on the Monday Trail in the snow! There were lots of tables with “reserved” on them but we’re still easily found a table for 5. Our party ordered 2 vegetarian pies (Cheese & Potato and Goats Cheese &...More

2  Thank lymbo32
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for our meal to what seemed like underprepared staff, without any welcome. We were questioned to see if we had booked by a member of the staff after we had been seated by another. We were not told that we had to go...More

7  Thank n0tts_mum
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Obviously very busy but we had a lovely lunch. Food was excellent and service fast considering how busy it was. Perfect for families. I had the lamb roast and Bakewell pudding, both excellent. Good value!

2  Thank AnnCurrie
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here last year when staying in Bakewell and the food was great, infact the sausage and mash was so good it's the main reason my other half wanted to stay in Bakewell again this year, this year's visit was just as good if...More

1  Thank janeymac1983
Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked The Peacock over the wide choice of eateries in Bakewell based on the food reviews and we weren't disappointed. Good beers, lovely Homity Pie and superb burger, nicely presented and to an accompaniment of Joe's Tex's 'Ain't Gonna Bump No More With No...More

3  Thank Graylad
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love Bakewell and have visited many times. We called in here at lunchtime today for a couple of beers. There were 2 staff in the kitchen that you could see from the bar. Lots of tables unoccupied with reserved signs?? Waited 5 minutes at...More

7  Thank RamblingRosie14
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking to have a fish and chip lunch but unfortunately both F&S shops in Bakewell were closed due to the wheather 😡 We visit Bakewell every few weeks through out the year and have walked past The Peacock many times but today desperate...More

3  Thank Mike P
thepeacockbakewell, CANT GO WRONG WITH FISH AND CHIPS at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey MIKE P Thank you for a splendid review of our establishment, staff and above all OUR FISH AND CHIPS FIX !! Served so efficiently. I can't beleive you have not dropped in before now, but pleased you did on this fatefull day. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely family lunch great beer and great food, have been there a few times when in the area and will continue to do so.More

4  Thank Billy B
thepeacockbakewell, LUNCH DIRECTOR at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Billy B Thank you for this little sweet ditty What a fantastic place to eat great food and drink great local Peak Ale beer, in a great little town. Its rewarding to know that you appreciate what we do, and likewise we so appreciate...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have sat outside this place somoften during the summer months enjoying a beer that one cold and wet winters day we decided to try a meal. the pub was empty except a few stragglers drinking at the bar and we chose simple pu grub...More

17  Thank 1962CB
thepeacockbakewell, SAUSAGE JOCKEY at The Peacock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a crock of twoggle!! The Sausage you refer to are 'OLD ENGLISH' supplied by Bakewells own NEW CLOSE FARM winning numerous awards [check out their website]. Ironic really that Wendy H below you Loved the SAUSAGE !! We buy on average "60-70 KG" of...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
996 reviews
.16 km away
Bagshaw Hall
433 reviews
.28 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
187 reviews
2.43 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
517 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
558 reviews
.06 km away
Upstairs Cafe
187 reviews
.07 km away
523 reviews
.07 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
101 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Monsal Trail
1,191 reviews
.89 km away
Bakewell Old House Museum
187 reviews
.39 km away
All Saints Church
113 reviews
.29 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
80 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
23 February 2018|
Response from J n A W | Reviewed this property |
Why have you asked this of my review? I have given the Peacock a good review, I believe you should learn to press the correct buttons before sounding off!!
Michelle B
13 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thepeacockbakewell | Property representative |
Unfortunately if you are a dog owner/lover Michelle, we only allow dogs outside on the patio beer garden area. I hope that answers your question and we may see you during the summer months when it is more likely you can eat... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 31
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813635
  • E-mail
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now