We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bentra Grill

1 Slaughterford Road | Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9TG, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9337 2363
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“wedges” (8 reviews)
“pavlova” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 20:45All hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Slaughterford Road | Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9TG, Northern Ireland
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Always leave a review after being here and pleased to report that everything is still to a very high standard and can be recommended without hesitation. Laura, you should be proud of the team you have here and all I can say is long may...More

1  Thank thedodger2
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear thedodger2, Once again thank you for your kind review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourselves and it is always a pleasure to see you both. In regards to your lovely comment on the staff, I am extremely proud of each and every...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped of at the Bentra with my husband for a meal during the week. We have always enjoyed eating here but it had been a while since our last visit. My husband ordered Chicken and Rib Combo and l had Peppered Chicken Sizzler. My husbands...More

1  Thank Debs08
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Debs08, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review at Bentra Grill. I am so sorry to hear you and your husband were disappointed with your meal choices on your latest visit to our restaurant, this is not the typical standard...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here two nights. Good variety on menu, reasonably priced. Waitstaff friendly and efficient.

1  Thank suzyb0000
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear suzyb0000, Thank you for taking the time to review Bentra Grill, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with ourselves. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Many Thanks Laura & Staff

Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Staff friendly, food excellent, great atmosphere we visited on the spur of the moment, Catherine Ordered turkey and ham and I had The lasagne, very friendly staff excellent service and good food I would recommend the Bentra it's well worth a visit

2  Thank Scott T
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Scott T, Many thanks for the kind review, It is always a pleasure to see you both. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Many thanks Laura & Staff

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Just love our visits to the Bentra and the meals have never failed to be enjoyed. Such lovely meals for the individual to enjoy in lovely surroundings and with such lovely friendly staff. Have been here on many occasions either as a couple or with...More

3  Thank David D
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David D, Thank you for your kind review it is awlays a pleasure to both Many thanks Laura & Staff

Reviewed 10 May 2017

overcooked ,burned food , potato mash from powder reheated in pan , disgrace , shame for place with has some gently people who works there and try the best service , still thinkin about cocktail it was alkohol in it or just water and juice...More

Thank Gediminas B
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Gediminas B Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, As we pointed out to you in our response to the same review you left on our Facebook page. Your table was checked throughout your meal and no complaints were bought to...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

The service was great, the food outstanding.Very clean restaurant ,and over looking a golf course. A good 8 out 10.

Thank George M
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear George M Thank you for taking the time to write us at Bentra Grill a lovely review, We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Laura & Staff

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Popped in on the spur of the moment- two great meals for a reasonably price. No complaints. Would return again.

1  Thank Scottiek1806
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Scottiek1860, Thanks for the kind rewiew, We hope to see you again soon Many thanks Laura & Staff

Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Called Saturday 29th April for the first time in just over 2 months. As usual, great meal which consisted of chicken strips and BBQ dip for starter followed by sizzling chicken in pepper sauce while the boss had the southern fried chicken burger. Both dishes...More

1  Thank thedodger2
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear thedodger2, Once again thank you for another lovely review, It is always a pleasure to see you both Many thanks Laura & Staff

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Four of us visited The Bentra for dinner on Easter Tuesday. We had made a booking and were nicely greeted and quickly seated with our menus. Unfortunately it was fifteen minutes before anyone came to take our order though. We were apologised to and it...More

Thank Candygirl156
BentraGrill, Owner at Bentra Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Candygril156, Thank you for taking the time to review Bentra Grill, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your food on your visit with us, however I am sorry you felt let down by the service on this particular occasion. Unfortunatly we had two...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Whitehead Golf Club Restaurant
63 reviews
1.42 km away
The Old Tea House Whitehead
149 reviews
.78 km away
The Bank House Coffee Shop
52 reviews
.79 km away
Coffee and Cream
49 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackhead Path
80 reviews
1.00 km away
Whitehead Railway Museum
29 reviews
.71 km away
The Bank House
35 reviews
.79 km away
Whitehead Library
33 reviews
.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bentra Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:45
Monday
12:00 - 20:45
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:45
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:45
Thursday
12:00 - 20:45
Friday
12:00 - 20:45
Saturday
10:30 - 20:45
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Slaughterford Road | Whitehead, Carrickfergus BT38 9TG, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Antrim  >  Carrickfergus
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9337 2363
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing