We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Garrison

Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
+44 1702 291970
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good15%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (2 reviews)
“coleslaw” (2 reviews)
“steak” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Phoned to book my pre paid afternoon tea for four only to be told it was cancelled as they have decided to no longer offer it! With three months still left to use my voucher, I was really annoyed. Had to contact groupon to find...More

Thank ASLtraveller
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pub with many facilities -- big garden, play area, outdoor barbecue, sports TVs etc. Should be popular but our visit at 2pm on a Sunday met with morgue-like atmosphere, few customers and seemingly uninterested staff. Sharp's Doom Bar below average. Food average, but our order...More

Thank ag52017
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went in on a Thursday evening absolutely starving as we'd moved house that day and not eaten since breakfast. The restaurant was empty apart from a table of four. Was this as bad sign? As it turned out NO. I had a steak which...More

Thank Julie L
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Rude staff and manager/owner? Being in hospitality myself I am not surprised that this place only had 1 person in the pub. No prossecco was available so we chose white wine A bottle of sauvignon blanc was £20-90p dearer than most restaurants. When I asked...More

Thank ShoeburyShaz
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Hello Again Sharon Holt, Thank you for taking the time to write to us twice via our Facebook Page and Trip Advisor. Your our abuse of bar staff Donna Kelly over the price of Prosecco and Champagne, it was simply not tolerated. I have an...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

I often use to pop into the Garrison for a drink and once for something to eat, I say once because you wouldn't want to eat there twice, service slow for an empty house, and food not great. The place is always empty, but I...More

Thank Molana123
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Hi Molana, Thank you for taking the time to review us after recently joining Trip Advisor. We always like to identify any genuine issues and resolve them. Can you please tell me the date and time of your visit? No staff member came to me...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Often come here after work or for social drinks, quiet pub with lovely bar staff who always make you feel welcome.

Thank lozza89x
Management response:Responded 12 August 2017

Hi Lozza, Thank you for taking the time to visit us and review us. So glad you found your time here a pleasant one. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I felt that I had to create this account to just write this review, I am not normally one to complain but the service I received was that bad I felt the need to share. I was there with my husband and our two grandchildren...More

Thank TitianTulip
Management response:Responded 5 August 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Can you tell me the time and date of your visit and the items that you ordered? We are covered by CCTV and I would like to take the time to review your customer...More

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Over £12 for a cider a wine and a bag of crisps. Cant believe the price has gone up that much. Such a shame liked to stop for a drink when we were out for an evening walk.More

1  Thank smiffy1965
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is appreciated. However I do feel your statement is rather generalised and creates something of a false impression. You only purchased 3 of our 100+ products. Our soft drinks start from...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Popped in for a quick drink, 2 bar staff were serving 2 customers at the bar, it was not busy, when the barmaid was free she ignored us and disappeared out the back, I waited for her to reappear and still she didn't acknowledge us!...More

Thank Lis H
Management response:Responded 11 July 2017

Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the service you received by one of our staff. In order to improve our customer service I have reviewed the CCTV footage to...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Lovely food, best carbonara for miles around. Nice tidy beer garden with climbing frame for the children and board games and colouring books and pencils for them if the weather isn't so good. Relaxed and welcoming place. Definitely worth a visit

Thank Sally D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shoeburyness Hotel
248 reviews
.19 km away
The Polash
107 reviews
.83 km away
Khan Tandoori Restaurant
104 reviews
.21 km away
The Meadowlark
344 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shoebury East Beach
140 reviews
.44 km away
Shoebury Garrison Conservation area
41 reviews
.69 km away
Shoebury Common Beach
37 reviews
1.51 km away
The Old Garrison
5 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Garrison staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Campfield Road, Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea SS3 9BX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Shoeburyness
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 291970
  • E-mail
Description
The Old Garrison offers a great value food menu, a wide selection of cask ales and fine wines, and a fabulous family friendly beer garden. A "must visit" for locals & visitors alike. At the heart of a busy and vibrant area The Old Garrison is located next to the former Shoeburyness Barracks. With a selection of premium spirits, cask ales, regular offers and live entertainment there is something for everyone at The Old Garrison. We have an extensive menu to suit everyone's tastes. Why not come and join us for lunch or an early supper? Choose from light bites, traditional pub fare or a sizzling curry - we have it all! Relax and enjoy our friendly service in our gorgeous beer garden. Why not bring along the kids? We have a fully equipped play area for them too! Looking for a venue to hold your function or birthday party? Let us know and we will try our best to assist you with your requirements. We always welcome new customers so come along soon. We will go out of our way to make your visit enjoyable, answer any questions and give you a real Garrison welcome. Food Service available Tuesday to Sunday.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing