We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stretton Fox

Spark Hall Close | Stretton, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NU, England
+44 1925 730693
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“chicken pie” (33 reviews)
“pudding” (63 reviews)
“sunday roast” (44 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Spark Hall Close | Stretton, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,262 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We have visited this restaurant over the years and this is because we have received good attention and on the rare occasion when the food has not been to the high standard the staff have done their utmost to rectify any problem. Over the Festive...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Julian B
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used to love this place but each time I go I get more and more disappointed. Food was ok but delivery was poor. Bottle of wine came to table a dumped in the ice bucket on the table already opened and we had to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Thomcait
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thomcait, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Mike and the team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to go with the family. Very friendly staff, great service along with tasty food. We went there with our 11 month old son. Very accommodating.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank EmLouPatel
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Emloupatel, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to see you soon! Mike and the team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely pub with a really nice feel. Ordered starters and Sunday roast, potatoes a little firm for my taste but everything else was very nice. Service was a little slow but staff friendly and helpful, luckily we didn't mind the wait.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Trispen2002
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Trispen2002, we''re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We''re looking forward to your next visit with us! Mike and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having had enough turkey etching at home we decided to eat out.Not been here for a while and pleased to see it looked good with Xmas decorations still up.I had the hand made pizza which was very nice while my wife had lasagne which she...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank johndS7431JH
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Johnds7431jh, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Stretton Fox. We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Mike and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Stratton Fox for a special celebration We had booked Took while to place our orders had to remind staff twice 're drinks we had ordered Took an hour to get our starters Ordered more drinks again had to remind staff before we...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mrandmrschristmas
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you didn't have the best experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. Mike and the team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Stretton Fox is a lovely place with a country pub feel to it, the staff are friendly, the place is very clean, but the food is average, and in my opinion somewhat over priced. The most disappointing part of our visit was how slow...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank katesE8935DZ
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Katese8935dz, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon and give us a chance to change your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We don’t complain often but the food was over cooked, the steak was chewy, we waited an hour to be served food and the service at the bar was very very slow! Would not come back!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Manchester1390
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Manchester1390, we are sorry to hear your experience with us was not up to our usual standard and that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Stretton Fox. we do hope you will give us another chance to prove we can achieve the high standards...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on the Monday night 17th with a group of 7 of us. Service from Adam was lovely, he really looked after us. The food was good. Turkey and trimmings was yummy. Would recommend stretton Fox to anyone who likes Christmas dinners :-) .

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Venture607857
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review and lovely comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike & the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a very good location and has been a good pub restaurant for many years. we have been a regular for most of them and can recommend the ribeye steak. a very good selection of wines and bar. they went through a bad management situation about...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank BarryB1899
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Stretton Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Barry, Thank you for your review and lovely comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike & the team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Park Royal
1,712 reviews
.37 km away
Hanover International - Warrington
1 review
.43 km away
Premier Inn Warrington South Hotel
298 reviews
.47 km away
De Vere Baresbury Park
14 reviews
4.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Partridge
139 reviews
.51 km away
The Concept Cafe
83 reviews
.92 km away
Topiary in the Park
52 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cheshire Alpacas
11 reviews
3.50 km away
Walton Hall and Gardens
1,078 reviews
3.60 km away
Corks out
119 reviews
3.80 km away
The All Saints Lewis Carroll Centre
56 reviews
4.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
134samanthar
5 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from anthonyjames1000 | Reviewed this property |
yes it is
1
Vote
Helen S
21 February 2016|
Answer
Response from DMcMc001 | Reviewed this property |
No play area in door but if the weather is nice there is an orchard outside for kids to run around, however again, no 'play area' as such outside either.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Spark Hall Close | Stretton, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Warrington  >  Stretton
  • Phone Number: +44 1925 730693
Description
The Stretton Fox is located just off the M56 junction 10, and provides a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere where you can relax and enjoy a good meal with friends and family. We are situated in the centre of several dog walkers routes and are happy to offer respite to owners and dogs alike, although we do ask that dogs stay in the Old Barn bar area. When you come in, please order a drink at the bar and the staff will be more than happy to find you a seat, we look forward to seeing you soon and hope you enjoy your stay with us!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing