We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
AU$7 - AU$35
CUISINES
Seafood, Italian, Mediterranean
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (60)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
27
12
4
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
27
12
4
4
11
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

Have been here before and have not been disappointed..the pasta is amazing and we just love the staff...fantastic people and a great chef...well worth a look...we drive over an hour to come hereMore

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Owner at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority. Thank you for visiting us. I...More

Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

We have eaten here on several occasions, each time blown away with the delicious food & prices. The service is always friendly, the owner chef is the most humble man. This is one of our favourite restaurants & I would highly recommend it.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Owner at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Sardinia's core values put customer satisfaction as top priority and we are pleased to see that our commitment to our customers flourish In feedback. Its customers like you that make...More

Reviewed 11 March 2019

The atmosphere and service were great. The owner introduced himself and made time to speak with us which is rare these days. Very pleasant company. The food was good although I think my choice would be more adventurous next time, I had calamari (very nice)...and a friend had the Lamb Spezzatino which looked amazing. As an avid cook I would love to spend some time in the kitchen with owner and learn a few tips.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Owner at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We are glad that you and family loved our services, our dedicated staff will be pleased to learn of your high praise. They work very diligently and it will provide them with great encouragement to keep doing...More

Reviewed 10 March 2019

I dined here on a Sunday night and chose it because it was one of the few places open. I wasn't sure what to expect as the experience of reviewers seem to vary greatly. Happy to say I had a very positive experience. I ordered...one of the non seafood dishes, Rigatoni Alla Amatriciana. The serving size was generous and the sauce had a good flavour, carrying a bit of a kick without being overpowering. The cured pork cheek was the star of the dish and I would have liked there to have been a little bit more of it in the sauce, but that's a small complaint. Overall I really enjoyed it. The service was very good. The waiter was very friendly and engaging, chatting with each table and telling a family at the next table how much they made him think of his family in Brazil and talking about how much he loved his adopted home. One of the other diners ordered carpaccio without realising that it was raw and so didn't want the dish when it came out. Even though it was the diner's mistake, the waiter happily provided them with another dish free of charge.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Owner at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2019

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you...More

Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

We love to enjoy good quality food and this is one of our favorites. Italian food and be a hit a miss, though this Restaurant has definitely got the right touch. Trying the Sunday evening $40 per head tonight. I will keep you all informed.Oh...and don't forget to start with an aparal spritz.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, General Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear Customer Your comment are very much appreciated & we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time at Sardinia. Thanks for taking the time to review us. All the best:) Team Sardinia

Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

Had a beautiful dinner with my wife for our anniversary. Entree special was great value and everything was amazing. We had the arancini balls, carpaccio & nonna’s classic. For mains we had the seafood risotto & spaghetti marinara, and both were great!

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, General Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear Customer Your comment are very much appreciated & we are pleased that you have enjoyed your time at Sardinia. Moreover we'r glad we made your anniversary memorable. Thanks for taking the time to review us. All the best:) Team Sardinia

Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

We had dinner here for our wedding anniversary and absolutely loved it! We had three entrees, fish carpaccio, seafood arancini balls and fresh ricotta with honey and almonds (all were amazing and fresh). For mains we had spaghetti marinara and the chefs special seafood risotto....The calamari was very tender, mussels had heaps of flavour and the sauce had a hint of chilli. The cocktail was nice, but food was even better. We thought it was reasonably priced for the great quality dishes. We sat outside as it was quite warm in the restaurant. Service was great too. Definitely worth a try in Ettalong!More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, General Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2019

Than you so much for taking the time to review Sardinia. It's amusing to know you had a wonderful time at our establishment especially in such an important day of your life. Wish all the best to you and your other half and hope to...More

Reviewed 16 January 2019

My wife and I popped into Sardinia for a dinner on the basis of the menu, which looked pretty good. She has dietary needs so, before sitting down, she checked with the the Italian waitress if the Sardinia Basket was gluten free. The waitress said...she yes, so we made our way to a table outside because there was no airconditioning on inside and it was very hot. The first thing the other waitress said to us was that the Ragu Musto was not available because the butcher hadn't made his delivery today. This was disappointing because that was my choice, so I ordered the In House Gnocchi. The waitress came back and told us that the Sardinia Basket was NOT gluten free because they had no gluten free flour. Why weren't we told that when we first enquired? So my wife ordered Lamb Spezzatino instead, definitely gluten free. I was informed that the House Gnocchi was not available for the same reason, as the Ragu Musto, “because the butcher hadn't made his delivery today”. So I ordered the Penne with Mushrooms special that includes a glass of wine for $25. After a longer wait than one would expect, given that there were only a few patrons, our meals arrived. A short time later, the waitress checked if we were happy with our meals. I said I was and asked for a spoon. She left and returned shortly thereafter with the requested implement.

 My wife, who was very hungry, got halfway through before I noticed her looking at the menu description of the Lamb Spezzatino on the menu board next to us, attached to the front wall of the restaurant. It clearly stated, “Lamb Spezzatino - Red wine & rosemary braised lamb, pancetta and tomato. Served on cream potatoes and with soffrito, fried onions and green salsa.” Well, what she had before her was four little pieces of lamb, quite nice albeit small, sitting atop some creamy mashed spuds with a modicum of green salsa around the base of the spuds. No evidence of Red wine, rosemary, pancetta, tomato, soffrito or fried onions! None. We decided to register a complaint.

 After finishing our meals, the waitress came to collect the dishes and asked if we were happy. We made the complaint, stating that we were not angry with her, but would like to see the manager. Well, Vito, the manager, came out to us. We explained the reason for our dissatisfaction. He immediately took an adversarial stance, claiming that the lamb was cooked in all those ingredients and then lifted out and served on the spuds snd, if it was so bad, why did you eat it all up? We explained thy wife’s hunger had taken over and caused her not to notice the missing ingredients and that it is of no consequence when a complaint is made. I explained that we are not frivolous complainers and that we expect customer satisfaction to be the number one priority of any business.

 Vito, who said that he was a chef of 20 years and that a soffrito sauce reduces down to nothing, that’s why there was no evidence of it. We were incredulous! That’s completely untrue. Here’s a description of it: “The soffritto is the base for many Tuscan dishes including sauces, soups and casseroles”. Clearly Vito’s claim was false. Why would he argue the toss with us? We were not happy. The meal was not as described in the menu and we wanted some form of remedy. 

Finally, Vito agreed to provide us with a complimentary sorbet. We only asked for one because I was happy with my meal. This was a very unsatisfactory experience from go to whoa and I strongly recommend that you don’t try Sardinia. Customer satisfaction is not Vito’s strongpoint and his adversarial manner is totally unacceptable.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Owner at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear customer Thanks for taking the tine to write an essay about Sardinia. Unfortunately just like every other business that depend on delivered supplies occasionally you can encounter this kind of scenario were certain dish are not available due to this factor. You asked if...More

Reviewed 7 January 2019

Even though the food was great, it is highly over priced and very small portions. We also asked about their Wednesday specials (fish and chips) which was buy one and get one free. It was clearly displayed at the door entrance. Their was response was...they couldn't offer it as it was no longer valid and they do not have the keys to open the display and remove the deal. You would think a simple sign over the top was adequate to inform customers. Clearly they did not want to offer the deal as there were 12 of us and thought we may all want the same meal. Misleading advertising. I would not go there again as there are better restaurants around that are well priced.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, General Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Customer Thanks for taking the time to review our establishment We apologise for the inconvenience and we are sorry you havent fully enjoyed during your stay. We could have put a sign to let diners know the special was not availeable, you are absoluteley...More

Reviewed 5 December 2018 via mobile

Service was very slow , my husband had fish and chips which was a very meagre portion of both,after waiting at the end of the meal I was asked do you want dessert, when I said yes , I was asked what do you want..., I had not been given the menu so had to asked well what do you have ,still no menu as she reeled off desserts standing over us while we decided. I had ordered mussels and one was really badly off it smelt awful , as was the same at a table next to us . Both tables asked to speak to the chef who eventually came out with two bowls of mussels this was after I had eaten dessert . I suggested he stop serving any more mussels before he killed someone. He tried to argue with us , can you believe . And to top it off we were overcharged by $60 , if we hadn’t checked the bill . No way to run a restaurant.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2018

Hi Marilyn Your frustration is understandable. Our Chef came out as soon as he could leave the stove with 2 complimentary bowls of Mussels only to come out and apologise, not argue, and explain to you and the table next to yours ( who eventually...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018

Seafood and pasta menu was hard to choose so we went for “fish of the day” which was perfectly cooked. There is also a share plates option from the entree menu or cold seafood plate. We didn’t try the pasta but it looked great 👍...Wine selection suit the menu and reasonable prices. Relaxed dinner, friendly service, good food and location. Will definitely returnMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SARDINIA T, General Manager at Sardinia Italian inspired seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2018

Hi Julie Thank You so much for taking the time to review us Hope to see you again Ciao Ciao

Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We went at the Sardinia restaurant yesterday night and we ordered a Cold platter x 2 with a bottle of Italian Trebbiano and we were simply delighted by the freshness of the seafood and the full flavour of the wine. After we ordered the Fish...of the Day and a Prawn & Spinach salad that were terrific! Finally we had an Affogato and a Cannolo, the cannolo crust was homemade by the chef and was memorable! The service was very cordial and fast, the music was chilly and so was the atmosphere. Warmly suggested for a romantic night or for a high-quality dinner!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Vito always surprise me with all his dishes, they taste so good, they are more than autentic, and the Sardinian group that evening was amazing! Bravo Vito

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Thought i spend sometime on holiday at ettalong and strumble across Sardinia on a Tuesday night. Was a quiet night (in the whole town) but This place was kne of the few opened and gave a try. Food was exeptional with a good variety of...seafood, fresh pastas and xouldnt pass their in house cannoli. Decided to come back on A sat night ans Gosh it was busy! We had to wait to be seated, wait for our order to be taken and waited to eat. I have seen other bad review about the lenght of time taken to do follow up and quite frankly 1 hour in a busy estsblishment is pretty standard waiting time. Food and service was impeccable sltough was really busy. We meet the owner at the end (whom has taken the time after cooking introduce itself to every table) he is a guy that has put so much effort into realizing his dream. To finish the meal up we had a "Brindisi" on the house with Vito favourite grappa. Do yourself a fav. And Visit this Place!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

The menu reads scrumptious but the delivery was average. The garlic roasted potatoes with the slow cooked lamb weren’t roasted, possibly boiled? The starters were alright but lacked pizzazz- maybe a garnish or more thoughtful presentation could have changed our first impressions. Our wine choice...was unavailable but our second choice was suffice. It’s often hard to get good service on the Coast but these guys were making an effort - the staff were friendly and almost on the ball but often they were absorbed with the computer screen rather than being active on the floor - i realize training was taking place and that’s a positive. I’m going to go back. It seems like the passion is there but they are still finding their feet. I would suggest slightly more generous portions ( the squid was pretty small), presentation needs fine tuning and the staff need to be active on the floor anticipating needs rather than waiting to be summoned. These guys seem like they would enjoy feedback and will grow as a consequence - so I hope next time I visit it has improved. I’ve given four stars with one star being for encouragement👍. One of my friends said they would return just for the desserts - so that’s a good thing - she’s fussy.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
272 reviews
.03 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
3,505 reviews
.56 km away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort
1,093 reviews
3.23 km away
Avoca Beach Hotel
208 reviews
8.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Safran
475 reviews
.07 km away
The Grand Pavilion
529 reviews
.36 km away
Coast 175
324 reviews
.06 km away
La Fiamma
335 reviews
.04 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Andersons Boatshed
31 reviews
.52 km away
Holistic Touch Massage & Beauty Therapy
6 reviews
1.27 km away
Cinema Paradiso
89 reviews
.01 km away
Galleria Ettalong Beach
201 reviews
.03 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SARDINIA ITALIAN INSPIRED SEAFOOD, Ettalong Beach - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sardinia Italian inspired seafood

Sardinia Italian inspired seafood is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3