We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

IL Nido The Nest Restaurant

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
Sat, 29/1
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews



Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Mediterranean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 November 2021

We ordered take away from door dash, and when we received the order, the pizza toppings were not very generous. The pizzas were also cold when received (door dash’s fault). We contacted the restaurant and spoke with David who was so very helpful and offered...to remake the pizzas. He apologised and when we picked up the second lot of pizzas, they were wonderful. Will definitely be returning. Great customer service too.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Reviewed 6 July 2020

Food was below bland and felt like the food was heated in the microwave. They couldn't even get the chips right!! The wood fire pizza was all burnt from the bottom, the sauce & cheese had no taste at all! We entered so hungrily looking...forward to a great meal as we were finally out from COVID and we left feeling incredibly empty & disappointedMore

Date of visit: July 2020
H193IDdavidd, Owner at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2020

I am so sorry to hear about your experience. I normally do the floor and speak to everyone and I didn't hear anything bad. Otherwise I would of fix it straight away. Please call me so I know exactly what went wrong.

Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

We tend to go here quite a bit. When I saw a couple of poor reviews I thought I would highlight some positives. Easy parking, BYO or fully licensed, dine inside or al fresco. Comprehensive menu without any fancy chefs creations. Pizza, pasta, veal or...chicken meals are always well prepared and good to eat. Service can be a bit slow when really busy sometimes, but never excruciatingly slow. It's been around for over 20 years I think, so they must do a few things right. If you don't like the food or service, take it up with them at the time instead of using cowards castle and write scathing reviews. Most places can fix things they know about.More

Date of visit: January 2020
H193IDdavidd, Owner at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 24 December 2019

Poor service, very bad attitude, below average food.What a disgrace to Italian tradition and food ! I would suggest not to waste your appetite and money. Pizza was soggy, ravioli very bland. Worst of all the owner had the cockiest attitude, and audacity to reply..."this is not McDonalds" when asked about order status.More

Date of visit: December 2019
H193IDdavidd, Owner at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2020

I explain on all the other social media my apologies to you, it was night to forget.

Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

My son took me here for dinner, & we both thought the food was great. We shared the garlic chilli prawns, which had just enough chilli without being too hot or overpowering. For main I had the veal Oscar, which was really good, not over...the top creamy & lots of prawns. My son had the fettuccine Regina which had more prawns than a fish market! To top it off we had bottle of Pino Grigio from Italy was absolutely amazing & I would drink it for days!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Reviewed 30 March 2019 via mobile

Went here for dinner. Had the Aussie pizza for an entree which was really good. I ordered the Oscar gnocchi as my main which is supposed to have tiger prawns and baby prawns. There were no tiger prawns served at all and the baby prawns...were frozen prawns from a packet and over cooked.More

Date of visit: March 2019
H193IDdavidd, Manager at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Thank you for your review. Not sure about tiger prawns but simply ask, if we made a mistake, we can make more absolutely no problems . As for baby prawns off course they bought frozen in packet and they are firm, that how I want...More

Reviewed 5 March 2019

Been here three times with friends and each visit was worse than the last which incidentally included a ‘free piece of fingernail’ in the pasta. Enough to put anybody off for life. Coffee was like tinted warm milk. Sometimes though you won’t even get charged...for coffee which is really a good idea because it’s not worth paying for it. Nice enough guy that runs the place However my recommendation would be for him to give the restaurant business up as he blatantly shows almost zero interest in it. I do hear that his pizzas are good but I won’t be going back to try them. Ww won’t be going back there again at all. I’ve put my last visit as April 2018 as this is the earliest date on the questionnaire. My last visit was most probably prior to this date.More

Date of visit: April 2018
H193IDdavidd, Manager at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Thanks Ray, you told me you weren't already happy in 2017. But you haven't eaten here for at least two years. Not sure why put a review now? Plus your friends come here all the time. But everyone has right to an opinion and I...More

Reviewed 2 December 2018

We have eaten here before and its been great, sadly our last meal we waited over an hour and a quarter to receive a pizza and when it arrived it was not cooked. The dough was still raw in places. Apparently they had a big...take away order and instead of looking after their guests that were waiting and time poor (as we had only allowed two hours for a pizza! before needing to go to a show.) During the delay there was no contact from the staff or management to explain or offer alternatives while we waited in vain. At the end they cut corners served up semi cooked pizza and no apology. Goodbye iL Nido!More

Date of visit: November 2018
H193IDdavidd, Owner at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hi Greg, Wow my deepest apologies I normally see all the review and this one slip by me. I understand its been awhile but I am happy to hand out olive branch and look after you. If you know me this must been massive mess...More

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

When my wife and I have the cravings for some good wholesome Italian pasta or pizza, we always head to the cozy Il Nido. No matter what you order, the dishes are hearty and tasty. My favourite is the chicken bosciaola which is irresistible and...reminds me of places I've eaten in the Italian part of Switzerland. Their pizzas are great too. My wife and I will always share a small 375ml bottle of Handpicked Moscato from their decent wine list. Il Nido is a great place if you want to escape the crowds at Castle Towers' The Piazza.More

Date of visit: November 2017
David D, Owner at IL Nido The Nest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Really appreciate it.

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

A great spot for a Saturday evening meal! We had salad, pizza & pasta. Kids were kept busy decorating the paper tablecloths with crayons which even us adults helped out with. Service was a bit slow & our entree was messed up but still a...good evening. The pizzas are fantastic & the pasta is traditional, fresh with great flavour.More

Date of visit: March 2018
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
619 reviews
3.15 km away
Rydges Norwest Sydney
475 reviews
3.27 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest Sydney
1,284 reviews
3.61 km away
Nesuto Pennant Hills Sydney Apartment Hotel
157 reviews
5.73 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Betty's Burgers
188 reviews
.19 km away
339 reviews
.19 km away
Kinn Dining
225 reviews
.21 km away
The Baron
84 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Castle Towers Shopping Centre
66 reviews
.35 km away
TreeTops Sydney
55 reviews
1.10 km away
Holey Moley Golf Club Castle Towers
8 reviews
.37 km away
Strike Bowling Castle Towers
5 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sandra F
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David D | Property representative |
The building has underground parking as well. Turn in off Terminus Street.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about IL Nido The Nest Restaurant

Yes, IL Nido The Nest Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, IL Nido The Nest Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

IL Nido The Nest Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5