We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay of Bengal

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Halal
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
13/15 Todmorden Rd, Littleborough, Rochdale, England
+44 1706 379182
Website
Today
15:30 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 15:30 - 23:30
Mon - Thu 16:30 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 17:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been a regular here for years and I have sophisticated palate from visiting top restaurants. Always a pleasure. Not overly fancy or pretentious but really excellent traditional food. Great value. The staff are really fun and so enthusiastic. Am convinced that the odd bad review is from competitors or just pretentious.

Helpful?
Thank d0mta
savasaachi, Public Relations Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind note and for highlighting our service. we really try our best to present the finest to our visitors. thank you for relying on us this long and your words will make a difference on the way of our journey. warm regards :) More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My very 1st time not to cook on Xmas day. The resteraunt was full of happy people celebrating. We all had a choice of menu to choose from. The food was excellent. The waiters where very polite and attentive towards every one eating. We always had regular take aways from there and still do. Really recommend this resteraunt and take... More 

Helpful?
Thank tracylynnkennedy
savasaachi, Public Relations Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. we are glad to know that u enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will visit again in our restaurant. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rubbish meal waited ages for a table totally wrong curry sent tasted like leftover chicken hard and dry like cardboard ordered a dopiaza got a bad so called bhuna was vile complained and sent it bk I'm hungry

Helpful?
Thank michelle w
savasaachi, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Michelle, We are deeply saddened upon hearing your review, we at Bay of Bengal work really hard to ensure a 100% customer satisfaction, but in this review we can see that we have failed, please can you contact the restaurant we would be pleased to speak with you. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Absolutely appalling food. I will not go here again, Its serves all usual madras, vndaloo, korma etc and everything obviously comes from a massive pot of omnipresent sauce in the kitchen. Most curries are indistinguishable. Almost everything is laced with big chunks of semi cooked onions. Everything has far too much spice going on and each time I have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aamir Y
savasaachi, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Aamir, Thank you for your review and apologies for the late response, we at Bay of Bengal work really hard to ensure a 100% customer satisfaction in service and food quality and all food are cooked fresh on the day but in this review we can see that we have failed to satisfy you, please can you contact... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Visited this restaurant just after Christmas. Two of our party had the Persian chicken biryani. The chicken was tasteless and tough and virtually inedible. There was brussel sprouts and fine beans in the vegetable curry giving us the impression that they were using up food left over from Christmas. Not impressed with the food or service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Boodlesq
savasaachi, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review and apologies for the late response, we at Bay of Bengal work really hard to ensure a 100% customer satisfaction in service and food quality and all food are cooked fresh on the day but in this review we can see that we have failed to satisfy you, please can you contact the... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Visited with family they have added room upstairs and was comfy .We knew there mains were decent so didn't have starters had poppadoms. I had mixed grille main tandoori. ..all the mains were fantastic would certainly visit again ! Thanks all

Helpful?
Thank vwnutant
savasaachi, Public Relations Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

it's our pleasure that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. we hope to see you again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2016

I came here last night and was pleasantly surprised with how good the food was. I had the 4 courses for £10.95, had to pay a surcharge of £2.50 for the lamb chops but its worth every penny.. Absolutely delicious.. My new favourite curry house.. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the Lamb shahjanee for main.

Helpful?
1 Thank minimaltech
savasaachi, Public Relations Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

we are glad that you liked our dishes. your lovely review is really helpful for us.it will make a difference on the way of our journey. More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

It is always a good sign when a restaurant is bustling with diners and customers collecting take away food. Service here is efficient, friendly and timely with waiters taking drinks orders as soon as you are seated. There are a range of wine options such as carafes, glasses or bottles which is great when some want soft drinks, others wine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jannipoohs
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Called in in October 2016 after a period of closure due to the Floods last year. Décor good and clean (as are the toilets) Food quality and service very good Prices are always very fair.

Helpful?
1 Thank john B
savasaachi, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Its always a pleasure to receive a good review, we work hard every day to ensure customer satisfaction, and yes when we receive a good review it motivates us to provide a better service each and every time, see you again soon Thank you More 

Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Friendly, comfortable atmosphere. Food is always good quality and reasonably priced. Usually no need to book in advance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
savasaachi, Manager at Bay of Bengal, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ian, Thank you for the lovely review, Its always a pleasure to receive a good review, we work hard every day to ensure customer satisfaction, and yes when we receive a good review it motivates us to provide a better service each and every time, see you again soon Thank you More 

Travellers who viewed Bay of Bengal also viewed

 
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Littleborough, Rochdale
 

Been to Bay of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Halal
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
15:30 - 23:30
Monday
16:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
16:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
16:30 - 23:30
Thursday
16:30 - 23:30
Friday
17:00 - 01:00
Saturday
17:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13/15 Todmorden Rd, Littleborough, Rochdale, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale  >  Littleborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1706 379182

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay of Bengal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?