We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Hart

Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
+44 1797 252166
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (16 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Had a Sunday roast here and unfortunately the beef on both our meals was inedible as it was too tough. I mentioned it to the waitress and she said "she would tell the chef". Unfortunately no apology or follow up. Shame about the service as...More

Thank dibbledog
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I can only apologise. Your comments were not addressed at the time as they should have been. We pride ourselves on the choice and quality of Sunday roasts we serve and I really hope that you will return in the...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

A no nonsense honest country pub. Decent eating for families good choice of food and beer. Good atmosphere.

1  Thank weirdfiz
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Came here back in June for Father’s Day treat for my husband really loved it! So went back there today oh and what a disappointing experience. The table and the benches were so dirty table was sticky so not cleaned properly. We ordered the food...More

1  Thank Heena2015
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. This is not the experience we wish our valued customers to have and I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We were incredibly busy that day and although that is no excuse,...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018

We ate here twice recently whilst staying at Bodiam Boating Station. It's just a two minute walk away. Excellent food and service. Dog friendly in the garden and bar areas.

1  Thank fireflysean
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you, hope to welcome you back during your next stay.

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Although I'm a local, I don't often eat in The White Hart, purely because I like to venture out of the village, but as we had some friends visiting, we booked a table for 6 for dinner on Saturday evening. I was really impressed. The...More

2  Thank LindseyW1251
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you! Good to hear our new menu was well received and offered you and your guests a good selection of dishes to choose from. Hope to welcome you back for one of our new Florentine pizzas soon!

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Whilst camping at Bodium Boating Station, the White Hart is our preferred dining option just a few mins walk away - glamping!! Wonderful pies, friendly welcome.

2  Thank Megan S
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Our proper homemade pies (pastry bottom and top!) are one of our classic dishes so it's lovely to hear you enjoyed them. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and hope to see you again during your next camping trip!

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Excellent evening meal after a day paddling on the Rother, food was promptly served and Harvey's excellent, a typical good English country pub

1  Thank BobD1893
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you! Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 26 July 2018

My husband and I went here with friends on Sunday 22nd July for drinks and to check out the live bands playing in the beer and music festival - all for Cancer Research and BHF. The pub was very busy, food was being served inside...More

1  Thank AnnaMaria J
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

So glad you came along to our Beer and Music festival which takes place every year in July. It's great to hear you enjoyed it! As you mentioned we were raising money for Cancer Research UK and the British Heart Foundation and we're thrilled to...More

Reviewed 20 July 2018

We enjoyed a lovely evening meal in a large family group. Food was excellent and all fresh. Recommend the falafel starter! Good service too.

1  Thank Paula L
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Great to hear your party had a lovely evening. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 July 2018

We had a good meal out in the very nice beer garden, lots of tables, and a children's play area at the end. I was pleased to see that they had a real (still) cider on draught rather than just the fizzy ones. The food...More

1  Thank Heather S
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your glowing review of our garden, food, staff and cider! Our beer garden makes a great place to dine during the summer not least because of the fantastic views across open countryside toward Bodiam and the chance to see the Kent and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
886 reviews
6.07 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
761 reviews
9.87 km away
Little Silver Country Hotel
782 reviews
9.93 km away
The George Hotel
361 reviews
10.54 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lime Wharf Cafe
174 reviews
.26 km away
Sahebs Indian Restaurant
162 reviews
.81 km away
The Bull Inn
270 reviews
4.37 km away
Rose & Crown
19 reviews
4.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bodiam Boating Station
181 reviews
1.40 km away
Great Dixter House & Gardens
538 reviews
2.60 km away
Oxney Organic Estate
13 reviews
3.69 km away
Bodiam Castle
1,756 reviews
5.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
WindWhisperer88
10 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dave W | Reviewed this property |
Dog friendly with big garden as well no dogs in dinning room though
1
Vote
Ruth G
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from OpenDiver429 | Reviewed this property |
Apparently they had a burst water main flood and had to close temporarily. Suggest you call them to find out latest info 01797252166
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Newenden
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 252166
Description
A traditional village inn situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing