We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pepes Ristorante

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Beamish DH9 6RN, England
+44 191 370 1009
Today
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 17:00 - 21:00
Thu - Fri 17:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 300: English reviews
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Having visited Pepe's this evening (not having been for a few months) we found a whole new menu - it was considerably smaller than of previous, which is disappointing as the seafood pasta had been removed. Starters were fine although the garlic dip which came with the skins was very pungent and the calamari was very small and was made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
Talboy91, Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

HI Joanne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your meal with us. Firstly I would like to apologies for the mix up with your garlic bread but I am pleased to hear it was remedied in house and was received and enjoyed within good time. With regard to our new menu we have had... More 

Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as a family over Christmas week. The place was busy. The staff were nice. Always a smile. Wheelchair access possible. Music very loud and headache inducing. Needed to ask for it quietened. They were happy to do this. Meals arrived in a decent amount of time. Meals Well presented. Food was tasty for the adults and portions good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FairyAngelican
Talboy91, Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

FairyAngelican, Thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback from you recent visit. It's great to here our staff are nice and friendly and catered to your needs regarding the music. I will pass on the feedback. In future if you require any additional menus or have any questions about portion sizes or ingredients and flavours of dishes... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just been to Pepes, and have to say I am very unimpressed, as to last month just after it changed hands and everything was still lovely, but tonight was very poor. New menu, and I think new chef. My fiancé had the burger, the onion rings with it, well they weren't cooked, batter was more like uncooked dough, and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
Talboy91, General Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Stephanie M- Hi Stephanie Thank you for taking time to leave a review. Also thank you for commending our FOH team they work extremely hard and it is nice to hear the feedback, with regard to you views on your meal. I am sorry to hear your onion rings were under cooked if you had notified our Floor team I... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a couple of days in advance and lucky i did place was really busy. Drink orders taken pretty quickly. As 1 in the party has a nut allergy we checked with waitress who checked with kitchen to make sure food was ok. Ordered off the kids menu also of the early bird special. 2 potato skins and a garlic... More 

Helpful?
Thank sanmiguel76
Talboy91, Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Hi SanMig, Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived after a visit to nearby Beamish museum. We arrived just as lunch service was finishing. Staff immediately asked us if we would like them to keep the carvery open for us but we declined and ordered off their early bird menu instead. I was served a huge tasty bowl of pasta with plenty of chicken in it. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
Talboy91, Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Hi Michelle G, Great to hear you positive feedback!! I will pass on your compliments to our Kitchen Team and we hope to see you again soon for another visit Regards Steven Talbot More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here with a group of 45 for Xmas lunch after a local 8 mile walk. The staff are very friendly and the food was very tasty. They did well to get all but 2 main courses served quickly and quickly apologised and provided free drinks for the 2 people. Would be happy to go here again.

Helpful?
Thank MargaretMcAloon
Talboy91, General Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Margaret, Thank you again for choosing Pepes for you walking clubs Christmas lunch. It is great to hear you all enjoyed it and you were satisfied with our service. We hope you walk by again soon :) Regards Steven Talbot More 

Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten here before and it was alright but our experience last night means we won't be back. The food was average and not hot but our big complaint was the attempt to rip us off with the bill. When it came it was £169+ and a 10% service charge taking it to £185. We weren't happy with this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank George D
Talboy91, General Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Hi George, I am sorry to hear you feel you were intentionally over charged, splitting bills for large parties is a practice we generally do not do here, like many busy restaurants. All bills are itemised to ease the process of payment for the guests. I would like to assure you this was not the case and that is something... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called ahead of time to ensure the restauraunt was open and we were assured it was from a member of staff, we got there and man started at us blankly saying restauraunt would not be open for another 15 mins we asked if we could sit out of the rain and cold and not order anything and we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria C
Talboy91, General Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Please accept our assurance that your experience was not how we would have expected you to be welcomed. I having investigated the situation, we would like to offer our sincerest apologies and I would like to assure you that we have taken all measures to ensure that this will not happen again. If you could please contact me on info@pepesbeamish.co.uk... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Now been twice and was every bit as good as the first time fantastic good and first class service will be back him and time again keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank tonyvar
Talboy91, Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Hi Tony, Thanks for the Review :) We hope to see you again soon Regards Steven Talbot PEPES More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

A Joy to come back to. A change of ownership can be a worry as you don't know what to expect .Fortunately it was all very good , in fact a vast improvement in food quality .Special mention of the home made Tiremasu , the best l have tasted .Service was spot on and friendly .Thank you for a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin1611
Talboy91, General Manager at Pepes Ristorante, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Great to hear you appreciate our efforts to source the best ingredience for our dishes from local suppliers. We hope to see you again soon. regards Steven Talbot More 

Travellers who viewed Pepes Ristorante also viewed

 
Washington, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pepes Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 24
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:30
Friday
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Beamish DH9 6RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Beamish
  • Phone Number: +44 191 370 1009
Description
Pepes is a family run Italian restaurant not far from the Beamish museum. It has been run by the same owners since 2000. We have 2 set menus which are very popular, visit our website to view them. We look forward to your visit and thank all our loyal customers for all their support.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pepes Ristorante and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pepes Ristorante staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?