We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Inn

128 High Street, Godstone RH9 8DX, England
+44 1883 743216
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good32%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (15 reviews)
“gastro pub” (15 reviews)
“nice lunch” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
128 High Street, Godstone RH9 8DX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful restaurant so I was very excited, unfortunately my meat in the trio was very dry, everything else however was prefect

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rebroj
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a truly miserable experience! Some very odd dishes (the carne platter sharing plate was just the most bizarre creation) were generally cooked very poorly indeed. The racks of lamb were just great hunks of meat dumped on top of inedible dauphinoise potatoes (way, way...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Timcritch
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Timcritch, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01883 743216 at your earliest...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having moved away from the area, but knew the restaurant well when we lived locally, We visited the restaurant to meet with friends from London. The lunch was good but the whole experience was marred by an extremely unhelpful and miserable waitress. We received sullen...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jo714
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jo714, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01883 743216 at your earliest...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been using The Bell at Godstone for the past 15 years or so, meeting friends there for lunch, and being generally very satisfied with the service and the food. Today that went horribly wrong and all indications are that no-one cares. Our group...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank setters25
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Setters25, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01883 743216 to discuss this further.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to meet friends for lunch and asked for a table in the conservatory. Arriving before our friends we found the waitress attempting to light the fire in the very large restaurant. It felt as chilly as it was outside where the temperature was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Paulrich150
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Paulrich150, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01883 743216 so we may identify ways to improve your experience.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends for a catch up, having reserved a table. Polite staff, very cosy and good parking. Service did take awhile coz I had a steak well done but they warned me it could take awhile and wasnt in any rush,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Emily87h
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Emily87h, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 1 November 2018

Had an impromptu meal with friends. Food was delicious as were the cocktails! Nice and cosy with a lovely blazing fire for a chilly October evening. Great ambience and helpful staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Linda A
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Linda A, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Bell Inn, Godstone! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Three of us went for an evening meal at The Bell Inn on 29.10.18. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. Our waiter Jake looked after us extremely well. We'll definitely return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 731charlottek
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

731charlottek, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review! We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Went to this place after coming from the farm and fort we stop off get something to eat. Place is fairly big and it’s very nice and spacious. Seats were comfortable and we were seated and served very quickly which was nice. The food was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank UKtravelerone
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Uktravelerone, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Bell Inn, Godstone! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

We had booked to go to a new restaurant in Godstone, the white hart, and it was absolutely awful! They had ran out of lots of stuff and their excuse was ‘it’s been busy tiday’ This was on a Friday night, so we called the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Karla W
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Karla W, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Bell Inn, Godstone! We hope to see you soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
1,227 reviews
5.42 km away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
326 reviews
6.25 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Redhill / Gatwick
23 reviews
6.94 km away
Travelodge Redhill Hotel
234 reviews
7.00 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Green Rooms Of Godstone
456 reviews
.24 km away
The Old Forge Cafe
74 reviews
.16 km away
The Coach House Restaurant
170 reviews
.03 km away
Hare & Hounds
59 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bletchingley Golf Club
33 reviews
2.17 km away
Segway Unleashed
95 reviews
2.68 km away
Everyman Cinema
141 reviews
4.34 km away
Priory Farm Nursery
247 reviews
4.99 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gabrielle O
28 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Barry T | Property representative |
Hi Gabrielle, We are dog friendly. We allow dogs in our bar area where you can still enjoy our menu and drinks range. We also have a good sized garden area with lots of parking. We look forward to welcoming you and your... More
1
Vote
Bethan H
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Barry T | Property representative |
Hi Bethan, We have plenty of parking for around 40 cars. We look forward to welcoming you the The Bell soon. Best Regards Barry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 38
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 128 High Street, Godstone RH9 8DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Godstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1883 743216
  • E-mail
Description
The Bell is a contemporary pub situated in the leafy centre of Godstone. We know you’ll love the stylish interior with our cosy bar, spacious restaurant and beautiful garden.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing