We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

FishWorks - Richmond - CLOSED

13-19 The Square | Old Market, Richmond TW9 1EA, England
+44 20 8948 5965
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent12%
  • Very good32%
  • Average26%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible14%
18 Jun 2014
“A little pricey for fish and chips”
16 Apr 2014
“Closed”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13-19 The Square | Old Market, Richmond TW9 1EA, England
All Details
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The portions are good and the fish is very fresh. Friendly and attentive service. But very pricey for a fish supper!

Thank Nity R
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Now closed & in the process of being converted to an Argentinian steak restaurant. I await with interest to see what that will offer.

1  Thank CarolRichmond
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stopped here for a £50 lunch over the weekend, and we should have just gone for a pub lunch, it would have cost us half the amount and I would have been happier. We both had fish and chips with a...More

1  Thank dreamsupreme
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is one of the lady outposts of what was once a much more extensive empire including various branches in Central and South London as well as where I believe it started in the West Country. In common with fish! (what is it about chains...More

1  Thank futtock21
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I'm sorry, I'm still trying to figure out if they mean the food or the wait staff because I saw no evidence of work. Food? More greasy than I've EVER had with fish and chips & I'm used to a bit of grease. The chips...More

3  Thank LisaPattenden
BVL-Restaurants, Manager at FishWorks - Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking time to write your review – we do appreciate your feedback. We are very disappointed and sad to read your experience. We were surprised to read that our waitress was ‘flirting with the cook’... and the food description that...More

Reviewed 16 February 2014

2nd visit ,since first one was not up to standard ,decided to give it a second go!! Big mistake, almost empty restaurant ,4 people inside .Waitress give us a table in the corner next to service area. Unhappy with me because I dare to speak...More

3  Thank thelordofdarknes6666
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The food here was really good it was just a shame that it was ruined by really poor service. On arrival the waitress struggled to find our booking, then when being taken to our seats another waitress pushed past us. Once seated we weren't asked...More

1  Thank stevevaux
BVL-Restaurants, Manager at FishWorks - Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Steven, Thank you for taking time to write your review. Again, as we discussed directly, we sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on service, which was not up to our usual FishWorks restaurants standard. However, it is nice to hear that...More

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Pre-theatre fixed price menu. Good soup. Trio of smoked fish is a sort of small pâte crème fraîche above, potatoes below, not much fish. One salmon was very good, the other not fresh. No green vegetables. Bill adds tax then 12.5% service charge on the...More

2  Thank N502TC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I was really excited to see a fish restaurant here but sadly the quality of the food did not match the price they charged. The flavouring of the dishes we had was not right. Our dishes were either over seasoned or bland. Service was average....More

2  Thank Neal G
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Went to the Richmond branch of this chain the other days for lunch. We were attracted by the way it looked and everything seemed fresh and the fish was good but the service was slow and inattentive. We had to ask for everything and, although...More

1  Thank Graham C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ole & Steen
36 reviews
.12 km away
Buenos Aires Argentine Steakhouse - Richmond
589 reviews
.03 km away
La Buvette
283 reviews
.11 km away
Saffron Richmond
175 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
So Bar Richmond
122 reviews
.14 km away
Richmond Theatre
223 reviews
.10 km away
Museum of Richmond
56 reviews
.34 km away
Orange Tree Theatre
75 reviews
.36 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 24 - USD 68
Good for
Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13-19 The Square | Old Market, Richmond TW9 1EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Richmond
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8948 5965
  • E-mail
Description
Fish lovers flock to Richmond to enjoy the same delicious fresh seafood for which Fishworks is famed in its biggest restaurant yet. The unpretentious décor echoes the straightforward tone of the menu, which allows diners to order straight from the fish counter (or even buy something to take home). The menu changes regularly, but classics such as fish pie, zuppa del pescatore or the house speciality - a whole fish, baked or roasted for you to share - keep the regulars coming back. There's also a dedicated seafood cookery school on-site.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing