We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The King's Head

2 Westerham Road | Bessels Green, Sevenoaks TN13 2QA, England
+44 1732 452081
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shoulder” (7 reviews)
“fish and chips” (25 reviews)
“mixed roast” (6 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 9:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Westerham Road | Bessels Green, Sevenoaks TN13 2QA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My sister had just moved into the area but I don’t know the area at all. We booked on a recommendation for Sunday roast to surprise my sister for her birthday. The roasts were delicious and great value for money! I also brought along a...More

1  Thank rfundrey
Kings H, General Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear rfundrey, thank you very much for such a complimentary review! I'm very glad you enjoyed the food as well as your service :) Thank you for you compliments to the staff, I have already seen to it that the waitress you referred to has...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for lunch, and will definitely be back, we had been for a meeting in seven oaks and our client suggested the Kings Head. Food and service was excellent, everybody’s meal was piping hot and very tasty. I can thoroughly recommend this pub/restaurant.More

1  Thank markyc70
Kings H, General Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark, many thanks for your compliments. I am very glad that your client chose us to allow your visit to happen :) It's great to hear such kind words about our food as well as the service we provide. You are most welcome to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to The Kings Head a few times as its a good meet up point for a family get together and chose it because the food and atmosphere was good. However, our last visit was spoilt by the lack of service. The pub...More

Thank Jackiemmm
Kings H, General Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jackie, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your service with us. Even on our busiest days we normally get positive feedback on our service standards - I am sorry that you did not have the correct experience on your visit....More

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Hi Simon Rob and your team... A lovely couple of visits to your establishment. Chef produces some lovely variety of foods for all tastes. Some fantastic effort made to promote your garden area with the team painting and creating a welcoming garden environment. Thank you...More

2  Thank Destination650613
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We had an excellent meal at the lovely Kings Head in Bessels Green today. Fantastic service (as always) and really delicious food. My husband and I had the fish and chips - small portion - which was big enough for anyone and beautifully cooked. It...More

1  Thank Lisa L
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Lisa, thank you very much for your outstanding review. It's great to hear that we impressed you - and that it's not the first time makes it even better :) Your compliments to the food are greatly appreciated, I shall let the kitchen team...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went for Sunday lunch, we have eaten here on a number of occasions and always enjoyed it. We were seated in a dimly lit corner, where it was difficult to even read the menu. our starters were good, chicken caesar salad, buffalo wings (a...More

Thank Beverley J
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Beverley, While I must thank you for your compliments to your starters, I am disappointed to hear that you found your main courses below par. We serve approximately 250 roasts every Sunday and strive for quality in every dish leaving the kitchen, receiving plenty...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Had a table booking whilst visiting with friends. We were promptly seated and drinks ordered. They have a good selection of food and being a Sunday we decided to have the roast. The portions were very generous with plenty of vegetable and more if you...More

1  Thank Scrappywalker
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Scrappywalker, many thanks for your compliments - it's great to hear such high praise for both our food and our staff :) I am glad you found your service smooth despite how busy of a day Sunday is for us! Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

I ordered fish and chips via Deliveroo and, although not an unpleasant meal, I found the fish to be quite undercooked and soggy which it meant it stuck to the paper it was wrapped in. Conversely the chips were quite overcooked, too crispy and quite...More

Thank laughs19
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear laughs19, I am sorry to hear that you found our fish and chips disappointing. It is a shame that you have experienced problems with our food via Deliveroo, as it of course denies us any opportunity to replace/rectify any problems customers may encounter. We...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Great food, service and staff! They even made a specialty meal up for me as a vegan despite already having other options on the menu. Only downside is that I live 75 mikes away and can’t visit more often.More

1  Thank ponge69
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear ponge69, many thanks for your very kind words - it's great to hear that we managed to impress you on so many different aspects! It was our pleasure to arrange a new meal for you - it would disappoint us greatly to have you...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Had a great evening sat outside in one of their perfect huts. Had a great laugh made all the better by the brilliant food.More

1  Thank elzlouise
Kings H, Manager at The King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Elzlouise, many thanks for your compliments - I am happy to hear that you and your company had a great time and that we were able to contribute to an enjoyable evening. However do let us know what we could do any better or...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Premier Inn Sevenoaks Hotel
19 reviews
1.76 km away
Donnington Manor Hotel
426 reviews
2.56 km away
7 Hotel Diner
414 reviews
5.03 km away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
122 reviews
8.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miners Arms
19 reviews
1.48 km away
The Bricklayers Arms
390 reviews
.93 km away
George and Dragon - Chipstead
590 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Stanhope Arms Bar
9 reviews
3.76 km away
Emmetts Garden
364 reviews
4.14 km away
Knole
981 reviews
3.15 km away
Westerham Golf Club
83 reviews
4.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
luna-jasper
3 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Kings H | Property representative |
Hi Luna-jasper, We do allow dogs inside the pub. We love dogs! We look forward to seeing you soon
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 13 - USD 26
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Westerham Road | Bessels Green, Sevenoaks TN13 2QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Sevenoaks
  • Phone Number: +44 1732 452081
Description
Traditional pub, set on Bessels Green, Sevenoaks. Well known and local ales on hand pull as well as a fully stocked back bar and extensive wine list. A wonderful team of chefs prepare a menu that changes daily with a focus on using seasonal and local produce. Warm and cosy in the winter with three open fires and various nooks and crannies to hide away in. In the summer we have an extensive patio and beer garden, positioned perfectly to catch the last of the evening sun.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing