We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
+44 1786 465577
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

995 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 988: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had dinner here whilst seeing the swallows flying outside. The food we both enjoyed was very good - Fish Pie and Beef Bourgignon with pastry crust. Just a pity the served vegetables for the beef were served on a cold plate that meant they themselves were cold. Cold plates is a common problem with so many restaurants nowadays. Everything else... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The River House had been a highly recommended visit to me, being close to the motorway with pleasant surroundings and great quality food with a smile. Went in for dinner on a Tuesday evening with my girlfriend and we were greeted upon arrival by Colin. He provided us with a lovely table by the window with the menu. Service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took a friend out for lunch. Lovely location near to the motorway, well sign posted. The car park needs a lot of attention, it is more potholes than tarmac. Friendly staff, good food, good atmosphere and busy, so book! I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank allen555
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Allen555, Thank you very much for your feedback and giving a review for the River House. We are delighted you enjoyed the service and food and we note your comments regarding the car park condition. Kind regards Keith Docherty More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this restaurant previously and really liked it. This time visited with a friend and we were both very disappointed. We had to wait 35 minutes for our food to arrive and quite a while before anyone asked us what we wanted to drink. I had pork filet but the mash and veg was not very warm. There was one... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank corriejag
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Corriejag, Thank you for your review and comments. I was sorry to note your response regarding your visit. We look at all comments and review with our team. Regards Keith Docherty More 

Trossachs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we visited this restaurant on a saturday night using a " voucher " on arrival we were greeted and taken to our table it was clean and prepared if a bit " worn " , Aimee( tall blonde waitress ) was friendly and informative she explained the specials and the charges or supplements for specific dishes on the menu the... More 

Helpful?
Thank alan k
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Many thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to mention the service received from Aimee as she is delighted to have been recognised. We work continuously on making the improvements required and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Keith Docherty More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in a large group. Service was good, all courses arrived promptly and the waitress was nice. I liked my starter, which was soup, however, the food was okay but nothing more. From what I've heard from others it's a reliable place: it's okay food, not overpriced, but no more. The river scenery is pretty though.

Helpful?
Thank NikolaiStavrogin
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Nikolai, It was great to read your review and comments and as always we welcome all feedback. As we address our challenges, it is good to read that the service was good and you enjoyed your experience. Regards Keith Docherty More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely venue with great scenery, but if it's good food you want best to avoid. This used to be a great restaurant bustling with people and a good menu, but things have gone downhill, on approach blinds/shutters are down at side of restaurant which has been closed down presumably through lack of trade, bad first impression. 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank William T
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for your comments and feedback on your recent visit. We do address all comments with the team. The roast of the day had been taken off the menu as the chef was unhappy with the quality of the meat and therefore did not wish to serve this. The blinds you mention are actually always closed as... More 

Doune, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

first impressions upon walking through the3 door were .. wow this look really nice, then we were greeted by a really nice friendly staff member who showed us to our table, once seated we were given some time to go over the menu and order drinks, after having another look around i thought this was a really nice friendly relaxing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sconnal
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Sconnal, Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to the River House. We are delighted to note that you found our decor and ambience suitable and also enjoyed your meal. I do hope we will see you again soon and should you have any further feedback then please do inform us. Kind regards Keith Docherty More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The River House for Mother's Day for lunch, I had booked there having had really good experiences in the past. However, our latest visit was totally different. Firstly, we had to wait half an hour to even be seated and that was after me asking a member of staff why we were having to wait so long. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Verity J
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Verity J, Please accept my personal apologies, however I have responded to you already and also requested you contacted me. I do apologise if you have been unable to get hold of me, but i am at the venue most days and have no correspondance to return any further calls. Please do feel free to contact me. Regards Keith... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took our elderly residents to the River House for afternoon tea and cake today. Having read some of the reviews, I have to say the service we received today was excellent. Admittedly, it was a quiet part of the day, but you could not fault the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff, who made us feel welcome. The decor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Care_Home_Stirling
venue_manager70, General Manager at The River House, responded to this review

Dear Care Home Stirling, Many thanks for your feedback from your visit yesterday. We were delighted to look after you all and are very grateful to read your review. We do hope we can look after you and your party again very soon. Kind regards Keith Docherty More 

Travellers who viewed The River House also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to The River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 10 - USD 45
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Castle Business Park | The Castle Business Park, Stirling FK9 4TW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Stirling  >  Stirling
  • Phone Number: +44 1786 465577

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The River House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The River House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?