We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Shack

Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
+44 1983 401392
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crab cakes” (40 reviews)
“samphire” (4 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 16:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British, Bar, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited the Isle of Wight with family and friends mid June and spent the day in sanddown. Found the beach shack in passing and stopped for lunch with a group of friends and was so impressed. Food was SO nice and much better quality than...More

Thank HanOli1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped for a late breakfast / early lunch at The Beach Shack. The shack itself is actually a very nice cafe with a rustic, 'surfy' vibe. We opted to sit outside next to the beach as the weather was lovely. The menu is varied...More

Thank Hayley G
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is in a lovely location but the service was very slow! We were served in 3 batches and every time a batch of food arrived the people that already had their food had finished! This resulted in only three people eating at any...More

Thank Shelley R
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the service you received. Could we just ask though, as a large group had you booked? Were we already really busy when you arrived? Did you order in batches of 3 thus sending...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We are fans of the beach Shack and headed there hoping for the excellent crab salad we have had in the past. However the menu seems to have changed quite a lot and there seemed to be nothing I could eat, given my IBS, without...More

Thank Susie H
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Definitely no change of ownership, we are still here after 14 years!! The menu does change, with the seasons and with the times, and we try to accommodate all tastes. I've read the review that you left in October in...More

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

This is an award winning beach front cafe that won't disappoint. Good food, coffee and ice creams etc, and a nice outside seating area for the beach as well as inside tables. Good crab cakes, this is a delightful spot for the beach lover. Great...More

Thank Mark R
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Why thank you kind sir!

Reviewed 23 April 2017

Visited to try the seafood sharing platter as seen on the website but disappointed to find it wasn't an option. The food we chose was good but the ketchup and chilli sauces were poor. Service was fine, we were warned when we arrived that they...More

Thank Amanda C
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Our apologies that we did not have a seafood platter on the day you visited. Unfortunately, we didn't have any crab or lobster due to the high tides so this wasn't an option. For future reference, it may well be...More

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Called in this little place for lunch after wotking up an appetite after a long walk. Wasn't dissapointed with the food. Did have to wait for quite a while but was worth it. Polite pleasant staff member that took our order. Ideal place on beach...More

Thank Mandy W
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you. It's always good to hear that our staff are doing well!!

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our lunch here today. We had the choice of sitting outside on the beach front or in the relaxing pleasant interior. The staff were very nice and the food was to die for! Lovely crab & lobster soup and then the crab...More

Thank Merjie
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Stopped here for a drink whilst walking the dog. Friendly staff and good service. Looking at the menu will definately be returning after reading the good reviews on food.

Thank malibulover2013
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you very much!

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Myself, husband and our dog had a lovely beach walk and swim in the sea (Odin did the swimming) from Shanklin to Sandown. It was a beautiful Sunday morning and the tide was well out..perfect. On the way back we decided to stop at the...More

Thank Karaelise666
gregtheegg, Owner at The Beach Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you all enjoyed it so much, including Odin!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bellamy's Bistro
530 reviews
.52 km away
The Beach Cafe
416 reviews
.27 km away
The Reef
659 reviews
.62 km away
Flanagan's
348 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Isle
676 reviews
1.33 km away
Sandown Pier
979 reviews
.25 km away
Steve's Beach
54 reviews
.73 km away
Browns Family Golf
155 reviews
1.14 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
sabbenne
What time do you close do you have to book thanks
18 October 2016|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Hi, we close at 4, no need to book
0
Votes
Maria K
Do they open in the evenings for dinner?
20 June 2015|
Answer
Response from gregtheegg | Property representative |
Yes we do from this Friday night
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 51
Cuisine
Cafe, Seafood, British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Friday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8JS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 401392
  • E-mail
Description
WE ARE NOW open daily for the coming season
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing