We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonebridge Inn

) #62 of 253 Restaurants in Durham $$ - $$$ , British,
Nevilles Cross, Durham DH1 3RX, England
+44 191 386 9591
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Nevilles Cross, Durham DH1 3RX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely outstanding Sunday lunch. I usually prefer a carvery but this was awesome. Food plenty and gorgeous. Will definitely come regularly.

Thank Robbotix
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, good service. loving the ribs and chicken combo, as Karl B says hearty meals. If you like the Poachers ( metal bridge) you will like Stonebridge .

Thank Paul S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Stonebridge Inn for a family birthday. Our nine meals were served together, food was hot, plentiful and tasty. The only gripe was the Yorkshire puddings were a little tough, however the issue was solved with extra gravy. Staff were pleasant and extremely...More

Thank Moominmammame
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here with our son for a bite after doing some errands in the area. We live in Durham and had often passed it but never went in before. We had 2 vegetarian lasagnes from the 2 for £11.95 menu, a kids sausage and...More

Thank TBagANDLiz
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Young waitress was very polite and friendly but a bit nervous.Atmosphere was good. Furnishings could be improved by new floor tiles and carpet, it would really lift the place. The food and drinks were reasonably priced. The food was hot and tasty and plentiful. We...More

Thank Karl B
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Stopped here for some food before going on to see the Kynren show in Bishop Auckland. Stopped on impulse as we had nowhere in particular to go and was so glad we did. Husband had pulled pork nachos and I had lamb cutlets with mash...More

Thank clare b
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We held our grandsons christening meal here which was a great success. The staff could not have been more helpful, the food (served on time ) was delicious and we all thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon. Many thanks

Thank Gillian F
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Telephoned in advance to book a table, so glad I did as it was busy, Quickly shown to our table, shown the menu off meats for the Sunday lunch and the prices, seniors and children's price discounts available. Food came and was piping hot, plentiful...More

Thank Tracey P
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Went to the Stonebridge inn with my daughters and dad. When ordering our food I asked for a childs portion of bangers and mash for my dad, i explained he had problems swallowing. Waitress replied you cant have a childs portion, they are for children...More

Thank Durhamlass28
davidburnside190832, Owner at Stonebridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi thanks for your review, the meal that you request off the childs menu is also available on the 2 for £11.95 menu but in a adults portion but you didn't want to spend the extra even though this is still a excellent value. I...More

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Had been recommended by a friend as a good place for Sunday lunch, he was right a great meal at a reasonable price. Had been told it gets busy & booking was advisable but not essential, so booked in advance, a wise move I think....More

Thank David E
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pizza Slice
5 reviews
1.07 km away
Finbarr’s Restaurant
889 reviews
1.53 km away
Restaurant DH1
234 reviews
1.05 km away
Bella Mamma
268 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
5,027 reviews
1.68 km away
Durham Riverside Walk
356 reviews
1.36 km away
Durham Castle
904 reviews
1.76 km away
Oriental Museum
249 reviews
1.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charlotte W
15 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tonywQ5636LW | Reviewed this property |
Sorry to be so late.I never check the page. We went on a Saturday evening, so no quiz. No problem finding a seat Portions are huge by the way...enjoy
0
Votes
Hayley030267
19 March 2016|
Answer
Response from davidburnside190832 | Property representative |
Hi hayley, yeah we have a area where people can enjoy a drink, hope to see you soon
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 3 - USD 23
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 01:00
Saturday
11:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nevilles Cross, Durham DH1 3RX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 386 9591
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing