We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urchins

8 Princes Street, Bude EX23 8AT, England
+44 1288 352783
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“calamari” (31 reviews)
“fish cakes” (12 reviews)
“steak” (24 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 8:45 pmAll hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Princes Street, Bude EX23 8AT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visited for lunch as we were staying local on holiday. Good choice, quick smiley service, good food reasonably priced. All day breakfast was good as was the specials board with lots of choices too. Local catch of the day was yummy as was the beer...More

Thank 69CUPCAKE
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely coffee shop/bar that we visited on a wet and dismal day, at the end of September. The cheerful staff made a dull day brighter and the coffee was great too. Daisy, our labradoodle, made welcome too.

Thank Robert T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a Cornish cream tea. Excellent taste. Little bit pricey but good portions on menu food. Very dog friendly really nice staff.

Thank Huw W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant can be found at the top of the town, just round the corner from the main street. The staff there are very pleasant, they have a nice menu which caters for all tastes & everything is reasonably priced.

Thank Mike P
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Went today for lunch, haven't stopped being sick since!! Had a cooked breakfast- never again!! Also the waiter was very abrupt turning people away and not making the effort for families with children- turning away lots of business.More

3  Thank Tasha P
Urchins1, Owner at Urchins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hi Sorry to hear you don't enjoy your experience in our bistro. I'm sorry to hear you have been unwell but as I'm sure you are aware food poisoning can take up to 24 hrs to develop unless you have shell fish which you didn't...More

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Ordered one of the specials for myself, a club sandwich with chicken, bacon and cheddar, accompanied by a salad and chips. I asked for no tomato. The wife ordered a burger. We did not mind waiting as it seemed as if our food would be...More

Thank Paul Y
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

It looks appetising from the outside and we were not disappointed Courteous staff Wonderful food Highly recommend

Thank Roger S
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Three of us went for a veggie breakfast. 20 mins wait for coffee, 40 mins for food, by which time we had to order drinks again. Food was superb, but there is no air extraction in there so its stifling hot & you can smell...More

Thank fixit237237
Reviewed 27 August 2017

I don't usually do bad reviews, but had to make an exception for Urchins. We stopped in for drinks and snacks during a walk. The staff didn't seem to have much of a clue. I was served a 'Milkshake' made with tepid milk and just...More

Thank Simon B
Urchins1, Owner at Urchins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi I'm sorry you had such a bad experience in our bistro.. the staff should of used cold milk from the fridge and this will be reminded to all of them, as for the scones I can 100%say to you that they are all made...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

We booked for 6pm as been walking all day. Warm welcome, quick service. The fish platter was excellent and clearly very fresh. The cajun chicken starter likewise. We both had mains off the specials board - beef goulash and the butternut squash and cranberry tagine....More

Thank jwoody39
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Coffee Pot
159 reviews
.10 km away
Morwenna Cafe Bar
106 reviews
.07 km away
Wroes Ocean View Coffee Shop
137 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bude Sea Pool
709 reviews
.67 km away
Summerleaze Beach
311 reviews
.53 km away
Walk Bude - Coastal & Canal
181 reviews
.48 km away
The Castle Bude
151 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
B3962CKelainem
19 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Andrew L |
Hi there yes we are open in January other than possibly on Sundays as we are away on holiday and the team will need a day off!, Give us a call 01288352783 and we can talk in more detail. Cheers Andrew, Gary Urchins Bistro
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 9 - USD 19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 8:45 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Princes Street, Bude EX23 8AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Bude-Stratton  >  Bude
  • Phone Number: +44 1288 352783
  • E-mail
Description
The restautant is a Bistro, so different types of food there. Very welcoming place, staff grand, Food wonderful
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing