We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Cellars

Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
+44 1626 872423
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good22%
  • Average15%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“spicy chicken” (18 reviews)
“belly pork” (14 reviews)
“teign estuary” (34 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

After numerous complaints over 12 months this place gets worse...how is almost three quarters of the menu always off and as usual management response is it's been busy. Surely if it's always so busy you would start to order more supplies in . Never any...More

1  Thank James2107
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

So we stopped here for an early dinner. It was a little bit quiet but it was 5pm on a Monday night. The staff we lovely, our waiter a youngish bloke was brilliant knew how to have a laugh and was still professional. They had...More

Thank tannilou
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went with two friends and we had a very enjoyable evening. The food was very good but what made our evening was the excellent customer service we received . Lovely staff and very attentive. We will be back soon.

1  Thank DevonDave99
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review. I hope to see you soon. 😊😊

Reviewed 1 week ago

We like this place, visit there often, but sadly they had delivery problems on the 4th Sept. and they had no seafood or Ribeye, that said, they handled the situation perfectly [Thanks Claire] and we had a nice time and the food we did get...More

Thank Herb-Appeal
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the lovely review. We hope to see you soon 😊 Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience. After struggling to find anywhere to eat on a Sunday evening we decided to try Coombe Cellars with our friends who were visiting us from London. All our meals were very good and we did not have any complaints...More

Thank HappyBP
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We hope to see you soon 😊

Reviewed 1 week ago

Haven't been here for years - and won't be going again. The whole place is shabby and in need of a clean up and make over. There were big glass vases in the windows that were filthy. There were massive cobwebs in the ceiling, half...More

Thank lesjanroo
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review, I am very sorry to hear you didn't have a pleasant experience with us. I will look into the points you have mentioned as soon as possible. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I start my review I would like to say I am not fan of this new way of complaining but after phoning to speak with a manager and then sending an email and getting no response I guess this is the only way to...More

1  Thank Dolphintail1971
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello, Someone from your party has rung on three occasions and has spoken with the manager directly, alongside this a letter was sent to you in response to your original letter. Kind Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

Prebooked and asked for a table by the window. Given a table away from the window, with lighting so dim we had to get up and walk under a light to read the menu. There were window tables available so we moved. Long wait for...More

Thank jetdaves
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for the review. All of our food is cooked fresh and yes obviously in the kitchen. However we had an issue with the supplier and the delivery which resulted in some meals being off the menu. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well, we have had an absolutely delicious meal at the coombe cellars this evening! Started off with chilli squid and breaded Brie - which were both fantastic and very quick service! Our main meals took slightly longer but worth the small wait! I had southern...More

Thank Katie B
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review. I'm really glad you enjoyed yourself 😊 I look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards Coombe Cellars

Reviewed 1 week ago

On entering tables littered with used glasses and plates. Had to wait at the bar for staff to appear. Not all menu available. Very long wait for lunch mains and dessert in excess of 30 mins although really quiet service. Dessert cheeseboard not a lot...More

Thank suentone
General Manager A, Manager at Coombe Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review, I've never seen the pub look like this besides a bank holiday maybe. However I will keep on eye on the cleanliness of the restaurant.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wild Goose Inn
180 reviews
.87 km away
Cockhaven Arms
167 reviews
1.32 km away
Bishop John de Grandison
13 reviews
1.55 km away
Ring of Bells
22 reviews
1.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth to Dawlish Railway Walk
110 reviews
1.62 km away
Old Walls Vineyard
113 reviews
2.07 km away
Bliss Spa
8 reviews
2.65 km away
South Devon Wine
46 reviews
1.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
boo-yeh
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Helen S | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Free treats and water in bar area.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 14 - USD 34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Combeinteignhead | TQ12 4RT, Newton Abbot TQ12 4RT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Newton Abbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 872423
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing