We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn - CLOSED

Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
+44 1380 850403
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good16%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“trout” (5 reviews)
“samphire” (3 reviews)
“lamb” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
All Details
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Had an amazing Sunday lunch at the George Inn last Sunday! We ordered 3 with pork and 1 with beef. The pork lunch doesn't normally come with a Yorkshire pudding so we asked if we could have one and would be willing to pay extra....More

2  Thank foodie2052017
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Hello Foodie that is very kind of you. we all appreciate the time to have taken to post. our aim is to give a really guest experience and it is so very nice for the team to receive praise for their hard work regards Helen

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

My friend and I were away for a night and ate here...we both left disappointed. We had booked a table and were seated easily and quickly. The waitress came to take our drinks order (a strawberry and pomegranate cider & a Stowford Press), despite having...More

1  Thank MrsTravs
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We called in for a simple bar snack on a quiet Thursday lunch time. We were presented with a very small choice but were too they had run out of brown bread! We then waited over twenty minutes for our ordered sandwiches to arrive, and...More

Thank clivemb2015
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We were here yesterday, Sunday, to celebrate my wife's Birthday with a surprise lunch for family & friends. Helen & her staff helped to organise & the surprise was perfect! All 18 guests were fed & watered seamlessly & the food was really good, all...More

Thank CJM206
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I think it is a tad unfair to judge a place on the basis of a Tuesday lunch deal at £10 a head. You are not going to get much for that but I was persuaded by a previous visitor that it was terrific value...More

1  Thank Laurence E
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I have been here for lunch a couple of times with friends and found it to be very good. A good choice of lighter lunch bites and a good choice of main meals, all well cooked and nicely served. A good venue with a choice...More

Thank janecrabbe
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We saw this Inn while we were out driving through the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. We loved the setting so went back for dinner which was great. Everything was well presented, scallops, lamb chops and sea bass were all very very good and the staff were...More

Thank Margaret P
Reviewed 19 June 2017

warm welcome, professionell staff, excellent food, delicious wine and beautiful surroundings. perfekt!!! we can't wait to come back.

Thank schwyz1967
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

The George offers a limited menu 2 courses for £10 on a Tuesday lunchtime. A selection of all three main courses (trout, pork belly & ham, egg, chips) were taken with mixed reviews. While the trout was highlighted as excellent, both the park belly (over...More

Thank Chippenham1
Reviewed 10 June 2017

I gave this place a roaring review a few months ago and told everyone I know about it. However, yesterday I went back for lunch as was SO disappointed. As soon as the food arrived I guessed they must have changed their chef. I ordered...More

Thank vanessa-1766
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hi Vanessa Thank you for taking time to post. Same Chef, new front of house team leader. I have full faith in the head chef that has been with me for almost a year now. I am sorry if you feel your meal was not...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bowood Treehouse Cafe
60 reviews
2.48 km away
The Greyhound
457 reviews
2.48 km away
The Coconut
230 reviews
3.45 km away
Fay's Bistro
235 reviews
4.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
11th Hour Escape Rooms Limited
88 reviews
1.29 km away
Bowood House and Gardens
423 reviews
2.33 km away
Lacock Abbey
1,117 reviews
4.77 km away
Cherhill White Horse and Monument
89 reviews
4.89 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 5 - USD 32
Cuisine
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1380 850403
  • E-mail
Description
The George Inn is a lovely little pub/restaurant nestled in Sandy Lane amonst the most beautiful little thatched cottages. The Pub has views across the Bowood Estate from the recently refurbished dining room with log fires there is always a warm welcome from the New Owners. the cuisine is classic British with a modern twist.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing