We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taybarns - CLOSED

Derwenthaugh Road, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
+44 870 197 7283
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good25%
  • Average22%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“salads” (21 reviews)
“carrot cake” (6 reviews)
“pasta” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Derwenthaugh Road, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
All Details
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

If you want to stuff your face with loads of different types of food in a buffet style then this is the place. It's all you can eat, decent food and a good price

Thank Mark E
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Out of this world you have so much to choose from its very hard to decide but when you do its fantastic just mix up what you like well worth it and the kids love it

Thank James D
Reviewed 3 August 2016

As of 09 August all Taybarns are closing down and reopening in October as Brewers fare, this will see a huge turn around as it will not be buffet style everything available will be on a menu. No longer will children be permitted to waste...More

Thank lindagP8494KQ
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one of...More

Reviewed 1 August 2016

We went into the Taybarns restaurant attached to the Premier Inn at the Metrocentre. The staff were very friendly, explained how everything worked for the buffet and the table was flared of plates regularly. The food was great with lots of choices, would definitely go...More

Thank donnamurraym
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure your feedback is shared with all of our team. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I know that Taybarns is shutting down, but standards have truly slipped. Food was missing, food was burnt, and I mean black and rock hard! Why would you put burnt food out for people to eat?! Soup was watery, buns were hard, deserts were overly...More

Thank Helen A
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Next door to my Premier Inn and nowhere else to eat! I arrived at 8.40pm at this 'All you can eat buffet for £7.99'. First impressions is that it looked old and dirty. The staff however were very friendly and welcoming. Lots of choice, so...More

Thank Spencemarc
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one of...More

Reviewed 27 July 2016

Got there a bit late found bar staff excellent ,we then found a table and started eating our way along the food counter. All the food was tasty and nourishing . Top marks for the waitress and manager we got there late so even after...More

Thank Michael G
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

It’s great to hear about your experience at Taybarns. Our aim is to serve up great memories for all of our guests. We will ensure your feedback is shared with all of our team. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 19 July 2016

to get a tea in the evening was a bit of a joke had to tell guy we didnt want a meal just tea and he said we could sit in the bar ok and it was self service at £2.49 a time there was...More

Thank fatphilmablethorpe
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one of...More

Reviewed 18 July 2016

We popped in here at the kids insistence for a quick easy Sunday Tea. We noted on going in that the chain is closing and being re-opened as a Brewers Fayre in August. We have been here a few times since it opened, and while...More

Thank skhwoody
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one of...More

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The worst eating experience I have had since I started trip advisor reviews. It's closing on 9 August but should be forcibly closed now. Poor food, barely warm, dis interested staff. I simply cannot describe how bad this is. Do not go, you will get...More

Thank Graham_Crieff
TaybarnsNewcastleMet, General Manager at Taybarns, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review on your experience at Taybarns. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests enjoy our restaurant and we are sincerely sorry to hear of your disappointment around your experience. Could you please contact one of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jashn Restaurant
496 reviews
.70 km away
Nisha's
50 reviews
.65 km away
Flaming Grill
22 reviews
.12 km away
The Skiff Inn
620 reviews
.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whickham Hermitage Community Garden
16 reviews
1.61 km away
The Coachman
8 reviews
2.48 km away
The MetroCentre
416 reviews
1.20 km away
Watergate Forest Park
47 reviews
2.99 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
USD 8 - USD 13
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 21:30
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Derwenthaugh Road, Gateshead NE16 3BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Gateshead
  • Phone Number: +44 870 197 7283
Description
So here it is! The Ultimate Eatery has arrived. An all-you-can-eat experience offering 7 restaurants under 1 roof at amazing value and convenience. Our famous 34 metre food counter displays freshly-baked pizza straight from our pizza ovens, Spice dishes cooked in woks, freshly cooked joints of meat for a proper Sunday roast with all the trimmings in the carvery section, delicious rotisserie chickens you can see being roasted in the rotisserie oven. Crisp, healthy salads at the salad section and lots of indulgent puds! The foods we all love, all in a row, all cooked freshly in front of you by our chefs, and not forgetting our 'help yourself' drinks dispensers and delicious ice cream machines - all for one simple low price and all under one roof.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing