We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shore Restaurant

6-8 Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
+44 1856 872200
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (15 reviews)
“steak” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-8 Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The starters, mains and dessert was very very good. I enjoyed my scallops carbonara pasta very much. The beef with the various sauces was very good as well. For dessert, we had the chocolate tarte and that was also very satisfying.

Thank HuiLin105
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We were a group of 4 friends having a confirmed table for 7 PM, but it was not ready until 8. However, the bar is an OK place to spend some time. Then, the meal itself: One person had lamb, which was excellent. Three persons...More

Thank Terje O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for an evening dinner meeting. First sat in the cosy bar for drinks and ordered food, when our food was ready we were ushered to the dining room which was equally nice. Our food was delicious and very reasonable in terms of price....More

Thank Claire M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Third time lucky, popular restaurant, best to book ahead if you don’t want to be disappointed. Service and menu were lovely. Good mix of choices and plenty of it too. Good selection of local gins and beers - glad we managed a visit in the...More

Thank Joy A
Ga7ethC, Owner at The Shore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you made it, and enjoyed. Thanks for passing the tip to others, booking ahead is indeed recommended.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of 4 with a few dietry requirements and wanting to eat a little earlier than the opening time. The Shore team were very helpful and accomodating for our group. Steven sent us the menu a week before and we pre ordered...More

Thank JulieONeill1968
Ga7ethC, Owner at The Shore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to review. Glad the evening went well.

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Quality food, good choice for meat eaters! Nice cocktails and bar whilst choosing meals. Great service and a lovely evening for all.

Thank Angela2099
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner with friends. We had drinks in newly refurbished bar whilst deciding what to order from menu. Great choice of cocktails. We ordered a bottle of prosecco however when we went to order more, they had run out. Food was good and a...More

Thank Leanne L
Ga7ethC, Owner at The Shore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for taking time to give your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your meal but very sorry we were short on Prosecco. Please be assured the chill will be well stocked if you get the chance to come back to us again - we will keep...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Great meal in a lovely looking dining room. We had the lamb and the Monkfish when we visited. Great meal and really relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff making us feel at home. Certainly going to head back to the Shore very soon. Highly recommended.

Thank Michael A
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Evening meal while staying at the hotel. My company sets a budget for food so after a look at the menu I chose carefully. Had a main and dessert with a beer. Food was excellent, really enjoyed it. Will certainly eat again there in my...More

Thank Ron C
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Shore hotel travelling for work, had the restaurant menu on my stay and I am so glad I did, food wonderfully tasty and beautifully presented. Staff welcoming, friendly and very professional. I hope to come back.

Thank JamesShellBoris
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Mainland
Kirkwall Hotel
398 reviews
.09 km away
St. Ola Hotel
142 reviews
.11 km away
Albert Hotel
167 reviews
.18 km away
The Ayre Hotel
399 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Strynd Tea Room
193 reviews
.36 km away
Helgi's
747 reviews
.13 km away
Cafelolz
350 reviews
.18 km away
Lucano
545 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saint Magnus Cathedral
1,423 reviews
.42 km away
Kirkwall VisitScotland iCentre
146 reviews
.34 km away
The Orkney Museum
455 reviews
.44 km away
The Earl's Palace
323 reviews
.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jerboa
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Ga7ethC | Property representative |
Hi, restaurant is currently closed. Children of any age are welcome in the lounge bar if accompanied.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-8 Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Orkney Islands  >  Mainland  >  Kirkwall
  • Phone Number: +44 1856 872200
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing