We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal

Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
+44 1989 565105
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
“salmon” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Breakfast two days was lovely, good choice the one evening meal very tasty, service Friendly and caring

Thank moley70
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. Really happy that you enjoyed your meals with us and that the team looked after you so well. Hope to welcome you again very soon. Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff really friendly. It's in a beautiful location in Ross. Ross is a really cute town in fact. Lovely for a walk round. Great wedding. Food delicious

Thank Jo K
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jo We were honoured to host such a special day and we are all thrilled that everyone enjoyed the occasion. Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous view from the terrace over the river and valley. Lovely place to enjoy a drink. Usual pub menu- steak, burger, scampi etc. Well priced and tasty- good value. Staff were pleasant. Would go again if in the area

Thank Deborah L
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Really glad that you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Many thanks Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good menu and tasty food. Not too expensive and able to eat in restaurant or bar with the same menu.

Thank Somerset65
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive feedback regards our menu selection and food quality. Hope to welcome you again soon. Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Stayed over the weekend and really enjoyed every aspect of the visit. Although really busy....amazed by how many local people were using the hotel.....guess a really good sign.....the staff still seemed to look after everyone really well. Impressed how genuine everyone seemed, even the hotel...More

Thank spencerowen165
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Wow - thank you so much for such fabulous feedback - after an incredibly busy summer season it's great reviews like your own that make all the team's hard work worth while! Hurry back to us.... Rob, Lead Receptionist

Reviewed 8 September 2018

The saying you get what you pay for is true about the Royal I would say which is a shame as the hotel has a great location, on the edge of Ross on Wye town centre with great views over the Wye valley. We stayed...More

1  Thank Peter H
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guests, As you can see from our many other reviews, service above profit is something that our team is absolutely about here at the Royal Hotel and we're really sorry to hear that based on your visit that you've been left feeling that way....More

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding at The Royal Hotel on the 1st September 2018. The staff at the hotel were amazing and couldn’t do enough for us. The food is 5 star as is the service. We had 3 gluten free guess attending our wedding and...More

Thank emmapeates
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Emma, You are so so welcome - thank you for choosing us for your special day! see you again soon... Rob, Lead Receptionist

Reviewed 30 August 2018

Amateur cooked food, much too much salt. Poor quality of cooking well reflected in fairly low prices. Simply put, I was expecting better, given its location. Once was enough.More

1  Thank Lily W
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest We are extremely surprised and disappointed by this vague and sweeping review. All our dishes are very lightly seasoned as we believe the guest can add as wished. In the four years and a half years of running the Royal we have never...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We saw the sunny terrace while walking along the river on a hot sunny day and had to get ourselves up there to enjoy the view, a drink and Sunday Lunch. We were happy to discover that they weren’t fully booked and to find a...More

Thank loopie40
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest Thank you so much for this fabulous feedback. The kitchen team are thrilled by your comments.We hope to see you again very soon. Sally & Matthew

Reviewed 6 August 2018

An excellent location overlooking the Herefordshire countryside. Whether stopping for drinks or food, this is a good choice. It can get very busy and service at the bar can be a little overwhelming for them, but those small chinks are made up for by the...More

Thank steve h
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Steve, Thank you for your kind words. We certainly are a very popular spot in Ross-on-Wye and during busier periods there can often be a wait. Great to hear that you like many others, find the service, location and quality worth the wait. Rob,...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
The Royal Hotel
1,296 reviews
.01 km away
The King's Head Hotel
483 reviews
.13 km away
The Chase Hotel
569 reviews
.53 km away
Chasedale Hotel
17 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
No 3 Restaurant
582 reviews
.25 km away
Avellino Italian restaurant
361 reviews
.16 km away
Pots and Pieces
423 reviews
.17 km away
Caffe Eleganza
253 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary The Virgin Church
39 reviews
.14 km away
Wilton Castle
49 reviews
.86 km away
The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens
16 reviews
.16 km away
The Royal Arms
11 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrea P
15 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Hi Andrea, We certainly do. We have highchairs available on a first come first served basis as well as a children's menu for dining. For families looking to stay with us, we have a family room as well as some rooms with... More
0
Votes
Denise E
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Old_English_Inns99 | Property representative |
Hi Denise, We serve residents breakfast between 8:00am and 10:00am on weekend mornings and bank holidays.
0
Votes
Charmaine H
16 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MAPADLY | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, unsure
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 20 - USD 25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 565105
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing