We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boat House

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Boat House
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Meals
After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Dog Friendly
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
301
108
90
81
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
301
108
90
81
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fish and chips the river with some friends beautiful location great pub family meal pub food table service lovely meal sit outside sunday lunch boathouse sarah pubs riverside roast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went to the boathouse and the staff are really friendly and and welcome and I would definitely go again the cocktails the are amazing food is fantastic he chef does a great job in the kitchen

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not only having experienced extremely bad customer service. We waited for chips, only noticed that other customers were served before us. After waiting 30 minutes, I asked a group how long did they wait for their chips. Apparently, 10 minutes. We were the only family...of colour. I am disgusted with the lack of intelligence in the way we were treated. Disgusting place to visit.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to our pub, and I'm really sorry that we've not been able to give you a great experience. This isn't our usual standard and your feedback will be taken on board.

Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

The setting saves this place as the food is average (think frozen pub food) and service is poor. I don’t think the bar tender had ever poured a pint before and the waitress didn’t think about bringing cutlery to our table with the food and...didn’t offer to get it, so I then had to walk back inside to get it - let alone actually be offered sauces etc. Luckily the view out is pleasant but the staff seemed arrogant and were almost verging on rude… seemed as if we were an inconvenience.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Char Thankyou for your feed back we don't give cutlery or condiment's if your outside as you help yourself. We did have new team on at the time of your visit so training was an ongoing thing. Staff being rude/arrogant is not accepted and...More

Reviewed 30 August 2021 via mobile

Absolutely terrible experience in here on a bank holiday monday, you have 2 people on the bar not a manager in sight by the looks of it, a new girl by the looks of it and it's busy, the poor girl looks under pressure, and...you have her pretty much serving on her own.... How can you possibly allow thisMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi caroleaD4018MZ I would like to thank you for the review and let you know what we are doing to change on your comments. We are currently recruiting team for a while and slowly but surely getting new team so staff will be nervous. Manager...More

Reviewed 28 August 2021

Recently had a quick lunch at the Boat House, have to say we were disappointed. The location of the place is lovely, right on the river but sadly that was the best part of our visit. Whilst we only had light lunches of a tuna...toastie and chicken wings - the tuna toastie as more mayo than tuna and the chicken wings tasteless. This was just our experience and can't comment on the wider menu, we've just had much better, similar lunches for the similar price elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

This place looks gorgeous, excellent location and made us want to go there for dinner. We took our 2 children. It didn't look busy but there was a queue at the bar as only one person serving. Finally it was our turn, staff freindly. Food...took ages to come out but was OK. Battered halloumi very greasy and soggy though. They had also run out of Ketchup!! Went to queue again for dessert, after waiting ages to be served again they took about an hour to come out, not so easy waiting with children but they were thankfully patient. Overall wouldn't visit again.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our pub. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

Vegetarians beware: I ordered a vegetarian mushroom and ale pie but once I started eating it I realised it had chicken in it!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Weeez_c, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. If you are willing to give us another chance, please get in touch on 6898@greeneking.co.uk or 01491834100 to...More

Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Visited with my elderly mother, wife and grandson Service even though only two staff was very good, I ordered via the app and made a mistake but they sorted it for me with out an issue They are coming back from an awful time please...support timeMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2021

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. boathouse team

Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

Went to the boathouse for a meal and drink they where busy and the staff and management where working hard. Food was lovely and service was excellent. Will be back again. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2021

Kk19857, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub We hope to see you soon! boathouse team

Reviewed 2 August 2021

We come here all the time and we always get fantastic service with such friendly staff I would highly recommend coming here it’s a wonderful family pub with great views we have never had a bad time here and the food is great

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2021

Hi 245lewisa, Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this feedback about your recent visit. Take care! The Boathouse Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
George Hotel
362 reviews
.23 km away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
954 reviews
2.83 km away
George Hotel Dorchester-on-Thames
363 reviews
5.70 km away
White Hart Hotel
867 reviews
5.79 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Clos
143 reviews
.25 km away
Avanti
570 reviews
.18 km away
Shellfish Cow Restaurant & Bar
230 reviews
.25 km away
The Dolphin
221 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wallingford Castle Gardens & Meadows
66 reviews
.09 km away
Cholsey-Wallingford Railway
50 reviews
1.03 km away
Wallingford Museum
37 reviews
.57 km away
Corn Exchange Wallingford
13 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
256nickp
23 November 2018|
Answer
Response from man0m0untain | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I’m afraid that my review was that of a customer. The Boathouse management would need to answer this query.
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Boat House

Yes, The Boat House is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Boat House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5