We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Easington

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Banbury, OX16 9JU. 135 Bloxham Road, Banbury OX16 9JU, England
441295254276
Website
Today
10:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Wed 11:30 - 23:00
Thu - Fri 11:30 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited this pub last Friday at lunch time. The doors opened at 11:30 ready for lunch. We had 2 wheelchairs with us and the access was great. Wide doorways and no need for a ramp. We were greeted with a happy welcome by staff. Staff requested that we position ourselves at one end of the pub as some of... More 

Helpful?
Thank 675dean
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a party of three adults with a child aged 5, and we went there for lunch. We were all pleasantly surprised by the clean and airy nature of the pub, which also had an exceptionally nice ambiance to it as well. There were a lot of family groups also having lunch and some were quite large numbering ten... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Nicholas, Thank you ever so much for taking the time to give such a detailed positive review. I'm delighted you were pleasantly surprised by our standards of food and service. We do our very best to maintain high staff morale and I believe this has positive effects on all aspects of the pub. The Easington team and I would... More 

Hisurano, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food here of a high quality, calm atmosphere and perfect for family meals out. Nice meals without being too expensive

Helpful?
Thank Harry-Ross-Hughes
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Harry, Thanks for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon Kelly More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't bother going with children as they won't let children in without all eating food. At 3:30 in the afternoon?! Must be doing very well to turn down three adults and two children for drinks and snacks. Actually asked to leave. The last few times we've been the food had also been terrible. Poor service to boot Such a shame... More 

Helpful?
Thank stumcgoo
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Stumcgoo, Thanks for your feedback, Families are most definitely welcome and we offer a comfortable, friendly atmosphere for families looking to dine with us. Unfortunately our licencing terms do restrict where and when children are allowed in the pub. We cannot make exceptions of when they are allowed in, even at quieter periods of the day. Our children's policy... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This eating house is right on our doorstep which is great for those days when I just don't feel like cooking. The food is very reasonably priced and the menu is varied. The staff were friendly and the service all fairly quick. Best to book at weekends oas it is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank Kim V
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thanks for your positive feedback. Myself and the team are extremely happy that your pleased with the menu and agree that it is reasonably priced. We do try our best to provide a friendly happy atmosphere for guests whether local or just passing by the area. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks, Kelly More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went on Christmas Day and very disappointed. The duck was undercooked as were the green veg. Worse still the Brussel sprouts were undercooked frozen ones, frozen sprouts are never good, but at £45 a head I would have expected fresh sprouts instead of inedible half cold frozen version. Went also week before at night and again disappointing food, long wait.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole B
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Carole, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I shall pass this onto the team so we can use it to make improvements. I do apologise that your Christmas meal was disappointing and that you have had other bad experiences when visiting our pub. I would like to highlight that we have not received any... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We went hear today for a meal non of us had been hear in years and we overwhelmed by the choice of menu and the set meals are great value , I personally had nachos fish and chips and apple pie and it was all delicious the tarter sauce was unlike anything before I had tasted. We will definitely be... More 

Helpful?
Thank isla W
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Isla, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Myself & The Easington team are delighted you enjoyed your food and felt the service was 'exceptionally outstanding'! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Kelly More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

First of all we waited an hour and a half for our food to arrive, by this time it was 8:30pm (children had to be out by 9 due to pub rules), this is not acceptable especially with two children under the age of 11, this amount of time could be half expected if the pub was busy however, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette F
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Any comments are greatly appreciated and used to improve our service. Firstly I am extremely sorry that you had to wait so long and that you were disappointed with the food when it finally arrived. I am unsure of the reasons behind your meals taking so long, our... More 

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

No matter who runs this pub (and there have been many of them over the years) it never seems to improve. We've given it many chances and keep going good back to support one of our local pubs but there comes a point where I just don't want to bother anymore. If you want a drink, it's fine; good selection... More 

Helpful?
Thank nycuk69
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi nycuk69, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Firstly I would like to apologise that you have had bad experiences when visiting our pub. Management has been consistent for around three years and within this time we have received lots of positive comments and feedback that the pub and the food has improved. I am extremely... More 

Banbury
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Called for lunch. It was ok only one person behind bar who seemed to be serving the food too. Choice was ok however it was just that. Ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wattsy1972
Kelly W, Duty Manager at The Easington, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise that your recent visit wasn't as favourable as your previous experience with us in the Summer. We do strive to offer good quality affordable food, I am therefore disappointed that you felt it was just OK. I'm wondering what time and date you popped in to find only one person on... More 

Travellers who viewed The Easington also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Easington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 00:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Banbury, OX16 9JU. 135 Bloxham Road, Banbury OX16 9JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury
  • Phone Number: 441295254276

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Easington and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Easington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?