We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Five Bells Harvester

London Road | Vange, Basildon SS16 5LD, England
+44 1268 553162
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible22%
2 days ago
“Better than most Harvesters”
4 weeks ago
“Disapointing”
Open Now
09:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, International, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Vange, Basildon SS16 5LD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We pop in for a quick dinner from time to time. Although the menu is the standard Harvester menu we think that this is probably the best in the area (i.e better than Grays and Rayleigh Weir). Food is prepared well and the salad bar...More

Thank TheNorthernMonkey1
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us.

Reviewed 2 days ago

Been here a few times for both food and a few drinks. The beer garden is really nice to sit in, but you are aware you are next to a main road. Food has always been good, what you would expect from a harvester. Plenty...More

Thank TUMBO10
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Tumbo10, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Five Bells, Vange. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Popped in here for a quick bite to eat on Tuesday, haven't eaten here before but have so in many other harvesters. The service and staff were top notch!!! Food was lovely and tasty, and service was very good.

Thank LoloHunt
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Lolohunt, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Five Bells, Vange. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 days ago

three of us turned up for a meal at this harvester. We were greeted by a lovely youg gentleman who showed us to a table, he was back within minutes for a drinks orderWe placed our order and whilst we were at the salad bar,...More

Thank linda c
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Linda C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Five Bells, Vange! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 days ago

Been here a few times like most harvesters they welcoming staff, special thanks to our waitress Gemma who made our lunch all the more enjoyable. The food was very good and promptly bought to our table. I ad the chocolate fudge cake must warn you...More

Thank frogger120
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Frogger120, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Five Bells, Vange! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Access for clients at the rear car park was awful, food was dreadful, waitress who took our order was fine, some of the breaded scampi had no scampi inside, was impossible to eat, some of chips were green, tartare sauce was just dumped on the...More

Thank Pat R
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pat, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Here at The Five Bells, Vange, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good food lovely ribs as normal good service and lovely bar staff. The steaks were good to and we had to wait a short while as it was busy. Great value as we had a voucher

Thank Charlee_drake
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Charlee_drake, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Five Bells, Vange! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Held our wedding reception here for 19 people. Fantastic service. Food excellent and manager and staff could not do enough for us. Thank you Five Bells Team

Thank mickay1
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mickay1, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Five Bells, Vange! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was cold, there's is always something on the menu that thay haven't got. Staff are OK cleanliness OK.

Thank Kirstie P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I ate from the very reasonably priced lunch menu and it was very good value. The salad bar here is good and enhances the meal providing a free starter! The staff were friendly and the atmosphere very pleasant.

Thank aspri2016
General Manager A, Manager at The Five Bells Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aspri2016, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Five Bells, Vange! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ho Ho Chinese Take Away
194 reviews
1.33 km away
Haywain Beefeater
405 reviews
.21 km away
Hiltons Fish Bar
209 reviews
1.96 km away
Stone Grill
65 reviews
1.87 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wat Tyler Country Park
298 reviews
2.89 km away
The Four Seasons Hungry Horse Pub
101 reviews
4.16 km away
Partyman World Of Play
172 reviews
4.36 km away
Hardie Park
15 reviews
4.46 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jonco2013
15 February 2015|
Answer Show all 10 answers
Response from GrumpyTart | Reviewed this property |
I have never found any problems that aren't dealt with promptly and efficiently by the staff IF they are made aware. Did you raise your concerns? Or just take to trip advisor?
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 8 - USD 23
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Vange, Basildon SS16 5LD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Basildon
  • Phone Number: +44 1268 553162
  • E-mail
Description
At The Five Bells Harvester in Basildon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing