We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palm Court at The Grand

The Leas | at The Grand, Folkestone CT20 2XL, England
+44 1303 222222
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (47 reviews)
“tuna” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Leas | at The Grand, Folkestone CT20 2XL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was freshly prepared by Lee the chef. It was really tasty and beautifully presented. The piano player in the background created a relaxing atmosphere and Rita the waitress was more than friendly and helpful. Due to this experience we went there again next...More

2  Thank Jagger_Ger
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear jagger ger, Thank you for your kind words regarding our lovely staff, I will be sure to pass them on to Lee and Rita. I’m sorry to hear about what happened the following night, I will be sure to investigate further so to stop...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely room, with absolutely gorgeous views looking out over the channel. It's a shame that the food is so mediocre. The standard is London pub lunch in the 80's (not gastro!) Don't even think about going for the veggie option! Extraordinarily over...More

3  Thank Patternmatch
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear pattermatch, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry you feel this way; I will pass these comments over to the kitchen team for discussion, however thank you for highlighting our spectacular views. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Robert...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really am sorry to write this review as we have been to the hotel for breakfast on numerous occasions and have never had a complaint. But today we came for a afternoon tea (table booked) this was 2.30 the waitress was very friendly and...More

Thank lainyc
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Iainyc, I am sorry to hear about your most recent visit with us, I have passed these comments over to the kitchen staff. I can only apologise on behalf of my team, I can assure you it is a very rare occurrence that I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited the Palm Court Restaurant for a meal, with a view. We sat looking across the Channel where we could see France clearly. Rita was our waitress and she made sure we had the most wonderful evening. The food was excellent, such good quality...More

2  Thank 9,227
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 9227, Thank you for this lovely review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind words about Rita which I will be sure to pass along. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Robert Philpot...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow! What can I say, we had a fab Sunday lunch here today. We did book in advance but didn't know what to expect. Amazing! The service was 100%. The Staff so helpful and friendly and we want to return again soon. We paid £24.00p...More

1  Thank Julie E
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julie E Thank you for your charming review, I’m am glad you enjoyed our award winning customer service and thank you for highlighting the value for money for our increasingly popular Sunday carvery. I will be sure to pass on these comments to my...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After an 8-mile hike on the North Downs Way we were really looking forward to rewarding ourselves with a nice meal, and this restaurant certainly didn't disappoint! The setting is lovely with a glass conservatory overlooking the English Channel, and a pianist playing during dinner...More

Thank goldie81
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear goldie81, Thank you for your kind words in regards to our wonderful building and our even more wonderful staff (in particular Rita); I will be sure to pass these on. We very much look forward to your next visit in the near future. Happy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have in the past enjoyed breakfast at the Grand many times. This morning at 10.20am however, myself, my husband and married daughter were met by a very rude waiter who told us it would have been better if we booked, (we have never booked...More

Thank Jill Angela B
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jill Angela B, Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you felt mistreated in any way while you visited us here at The Grand; I can assure you it was not the intention at all and having spoken to...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful location fab food great value .. great friendly service happy smiling staff.. relaxing meal piano playing in background .. will be back soon highly recommend.decor could do with lift but it's perfect food

1  Thank reevekrr
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear reevekrr, Thank you for your charming review, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager The Grand

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

What a waste of time and money. The place is drab, cobwebs everywhere, damp and stains all over the drapes, food was cold, but overcooked. I have had much better at a Wetherspoons! Orders were sent wrong, steak well done when asked for medium rare,...More

Thank EmaB_MK
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear EmaB MK, Thank you for your review, however having already replied to another member of your party with a very similar review (to yours) I have nothing fresh to add. To sum up the points you have made, these complaints were made on the...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We had an afternoon tea at the restaurant annexed to this beautiful hotel and it looked amazing. It looks out over the sea and you can imagine it was one of the best hotels in the area in its day. The staff were very helpful...More

1  Thank Ann H
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Ann H, Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager The Grand

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Conchitas
508 reviews
.73 km away
Earls Restaurant
216 reviews
.46 km away
La Tavernetta
302 reviews
.64 km away
Copper And Spices
326 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lower Leas Coastal Park
728 reviews
.24 km away
Leas Cliff Hall
109 reviews
.79 km away
Zig Zag Path
29 reviews
.79 km away
The Leas Bandstand
62 reviews
.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
yvonne012014
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Robert_GrandManager | Property representative |
Yes we do. You can access it via our website. Apologies Trip Advisor doesn't allow website links to be posted in the replies.
0
Votes
Pearl M
9 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Robert_GrandManager | Property representative |
Prices can be found on our website.
0
Votes
Mary S
5 July 2015|
Answer
Response from 1965_anti | Reviewed this property |
Yes, very much so.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 18:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Leas | at The Grand, Folkestone CT20 2XL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 222222
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing