We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt Restaurant

4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
+44 1303 212070
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good26%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish soup” (40 reviews)
“taramasalata” (50 reviews)
“coley” (28 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
DETAILS
4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (2,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,085 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

wonderful restaurant with good freshly cook food and excellent choice for everyone. Stunning views of the harbour and eating inside or outside. The same applies to the bar above. They have accommodation round the corner but no parking next to the rooms, so if you...More

Thank mshaward
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited Rocksalt restaurant on Saturday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Had cocktails in the bar upstairs before being seated at our table with a view. Excellent food, service, ambiance and cocktails. All topped off with the beautiful view. Will definitely be going back

Thank Mandy H
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We have been to Rocksalt a couple of times and the experience has been nice although not outstanding. However this time we came to celebrate my husband's birthday on Sunday afternoon. We arrived to a "fish restaurant" with no fish as they had sold out!!...More

Thank AnnieSE14
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your feedback which will be passed onto the team. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent dining experience. If you would like to discuss this any further with one of our managers please do call in on...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The reviews looked great and the photos of the food looked great. We walked in today and the place seemed dirty and unkempt. The bar upstairs was filled with loud drunken locals. Google also said that the restaurant would be open at 7pm on a...More

Thank Catherine C
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unable to eat with us and that we were closing. We will ensure that we update Google on this and apologise again for any inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope you reconsider and give us another try one day. The...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Appalling service, starters took over an hour, then we were told they had run out of sole,which 3 of us had ordered for main, no apology. Nobody checked on us. When we asked where our mains were as we had now waited nearly 2 hours,...More

Thank lauren60451
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I am trying to remain balanced. There are some good things about this restaurant, view, decor and welcome. The menu leaves me with mixed feelings, the variation isn't wide, seafood offers plenty of opportunities but the a la carte menu left me only really wanting...More

Thank Dave P
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took two of our grandchildren to Rock Salt as they were with us for the weekend . The meal amazing first class service and a view to die for

Thank winstonlucas
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Delightful shellfish and fish beautifully cooked with stunning sea views. Great place for food, friends and champagne.

Thank Laura M
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not cheap but fabulous food a must for seafood lover's you won't be disappointed if you go here for sure :)

Thank Nicholas D
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! The Rocksalt Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten here many times over the couple of year's. I agree with other reviews that the bar staff seem very unhappy showing a poor service and the cocktails have gone down hill. Their fish dishes are excellent, well cooked and presented. This is...More

Thank FromLondonto-
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated. We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday. The Rocksalt Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
El Cortador Tapas Bar
367 reviews
.23 km away
Blooms @ the 1/4
493 reviews
.11 km away
The Captain's Table
72 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Folkestone Harbour Arm
274 reviews
.19 km away
Folkestone Harbour
563 reviews
.05 km away
Quarterhouse
42 reviews
.35 km away
The Folkestone Mermaid Cornelia Parker
5 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
2014DavidC
Are dogs allowed anywhere in the restaurant or staying in the rooms?
9 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from tropnevad_jon | Reviewed this property |
I should hope not.
0
Votes
Jessica H
Is there a lobster tank, like where you can see the live lobsters and pick?
29 September 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Emjtbex | Reviewed this property |
I don't remember seeing one but we were downstairs.
0
Votes
garry w
Looks like im not the only person to think the chips were like budget frozen chips from icelands.
30 June 2016|
Answer
Response from Alloverthershow | Reviewed this property |
Yes we will not be going there again.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4-5 Fishmarket, Folkestone CT19 6AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 212070
  • E-mail