We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OakWheel Pub

) #136 of 275 Restaurants in Scarborough $$ - $$$ , British,
17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
+44 1723 870230
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“potatoes” (8 reviews)
“pie” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called here after a gap of approximately 6 months because it used to be a regular favourite. What a difference. Only 4 people were eating at 7.30 on a Thursday evening. The place lacked atmosphere but the young lady behind the bar was friendly...More

Thank Heinrich N
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Heinrich N Thank for your comment, we are glad that you have returned and hoped you would call back again. Sorry for your disappointment that there was not many people in the pub on the evening you where eating with us, as this was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a meal at the pub with four others. All had starters and main courses which were just satisfactory apart from my Oakwheel Signature burger which was inedible. It clearly was a poor quality burger which was like rubber, it had been sliced...More

Thank Richard H
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Richard H, Please accept our apologies with regards you burger you had with us, but glad most of your party enjoyed there meal. Apologies that we didn't come out of the kitchen to speak to you, but we had other orders on to cook...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called at The Oak Wheel for our evening meal. The car park had only 2 other cars parked outside and this is what prompted us to call in, as the other local pub had a full car park. The staff in the Oak Wheel...More

Thank Mingandchang
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mingandchang We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy you meal with us and bring this to our view when you where with us, we take pride in all our services and food, that is all cooked fresh daily. I don't understand how the...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Unfortunately we only found this gem on the last night of our holiday. After almost a week of average chain type food, it was a real treat to have a proper fresh cooked meal. We enjoyed it so much that we asked if we could...More

1  Thank Carol T
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Carol T, Many Thanks for you review, We take pride of given all our customers the best serves and where possible to buy all fresh products from local supplier's. We where more than happy to accommodate you for breakfast and we are glad you...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Visited Scarborough for work last Thursday / Friday. Decided to stay out of the town and choose the Oakwheel where I had stayed a few times last year. It was a wise choice. Stayed in a large room which was simply furnished, but was spotlessly...More

Thank Richard J
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Richard Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay Yours Sincerely Shaun Hull Owner

Reviewed 7 April 2017

What a drop in culinary standard since recent take over ! Sad Dried chicken, Pavlova need d a hammer and chisel to crack AND a cancellation made three hours earlier failed to credit recompense! Not to be repeated In fact to be avoided Sad decline...More

1  Thank George M
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear George M, Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that you did not bring this to our attention on the night of the 6th April, myself and my senior staff both checked through out your meals if every thing was satisfactory and every...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Cosy pub with open fire. Unfortunately the fire was only lit as we arrived and soon went out. Owner saw it was out but did not relight it. Good selection of food available on the menu and specials board. The home made steak and ale...More

Thank Brianthelad
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Brianthelad Thank you for your comment, we are disappointed that you will not be returning, and we apologise that your steak was over cooked but glad you enjoyed your steak pie. I don't understand that you fort we didn't keep the fire lit as...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not the best place i have ever stayed And the stairs definitely not for the faint hearted, they are v steep and winding Room was ok but i was cold Resturant abit of a let down food could certainly have been much better

Thank draggonfly
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Draggonfly, Thank you for your feedback but due to the old building there is nothing we can do about the steepness of the steps to the bedrooms. Appolgies if the food was not to your satisfactory. Yours faithfully, Shaun Hull

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

A long walk up the cinder track for a couple of pints and Sunday lunch. A limited menu but we were after the Sunday lunch anyway. The beef was excellent, although the veg was a bit disappointing. Mrs BB looked enviously at the next table...More

Thank StephBB1210
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Steph, Thank you for your feedback, applogies for your disappointment of no parsnips. Look forward to seeing you again in the future, Best Wishes, Shaun Hull

Reviewed 2 March 2017

After having excellent food over many years ,we went with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday.only one other table with three patrons .Soon started to realise that something had changed ,as previously always very busy Ordered two steak pies and two salmon with dill sauce...More

3  Thank David I
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear David I Sorry for you disappointment with you meal Regards The Oak Wheel

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Three Jolly Sailors
565 reviews
.14 km away
The Barn Cafe Bistro
244 reviews
.15 km away
Coast Gallery & Tea Room
58 reviews
1.14 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms Inn
92 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blacksmith Arms Cloughton
25 reviews
1.68 km away
Peasholm Park
3,495 reviews
4.05 km away
North Bay Railway
779 reviews
3.02 km away
Freddie Gilroy and the Belsen Stragglers
107 reviews
4.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from OakWheel Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 870230
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Family run Inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby, Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Homecooked Meals with special Boards, Open log Fire, Garden Seating, Undercover Smoking area, 5 En-suite bedrooms (bed and Breakfast),Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing