We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Coachman Inn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO139PL, England
+44 1723 859231
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

wow what a find we looked at the restaurant on line and thought it looked good so pre booked because we were a large number we also pre booked our food to cut down the waiting time for our meals this was a really good idea as there was another large party in the food sounded good on the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank victor186605
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for a family birthday meal, lovely place, some of us had the steak which was melt in the mouth and cooked really well, not much with it though could do with a little more specially for just over £ 21.00 for those people my brother who has a good appetite. Fish and Chips enjoyable by all, desserts home made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently staying in a holiday cottage and visited here one evening. Glad we booked as they had a large party in the main room so we were in the bar area which only has four tables. We had a dog with us so i think we would have been seated in there anyway. It's a lovely rustic room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karl L
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to eat. Food fantastic & hospitality couldn't have been better. Great place to stay or visit in a lovely area. Will return

Helpful?
Thank DawnW W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Went for a anniversary meal when we got there it was like we had grown another head we were a little late to be fair but couldn't be helped, everything seemed too much trouble. When we booked the table we weren't informed that the menu was different to normal as was a Sunday, tho the choice was still nice but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sallyadams
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We happened upon this pub on a camping trip. We were welcomed straight away despite it being after 8.00. The pub was busy, but not heaving. There was a fire in the grate and a lovely atmosphere. We were given a choice of where we wanted to sit and our drinks order was taken immediately. There was a wide variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Booked table in advanced as pub can be busy on Sunday. Staff and service were good. As we were early, ordered drinks and were seated in pub area to look at the menu. Shown to table in restaurant after order was taken. Restaurant light and bright, decor subtle shades of lilac / lavender colours. Came here as a party of... More 

Helpful?
Thank froggie1955
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

Sunday lunch was lovely and the service was great. A great old inn with a spacious dining room. Could not fault anything

Helpful?
Thank David B
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments they mean a lot to us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

After rudely being let down by another pub in the village of Snainton having previously booked for a large party of 14, we rang The Coachman to see if they had capacity to take a last minute booking for all 14 of us! We were fortunate they could accommodate us at short notice and were more than welcoming. The table... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarathompson557
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

it was a pleasure to help and i enjoyed meeting you all, hopefully we will see you all again soon More 

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Very accommodating when 14 of us had been rudely let down by the local pub in the village of Snainton after we had prebooked a table. We rang "The Coachman" to ask if they could provide meals for us all. Having confirmed they would be able to do so we had a short walk to the restaurant. On arrival we... More 

Helpful?
Thank maryshare
Ian R, Owner at The Coachman Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

we had a fantastic time meeting you all and enjoyed your company, come back soon!!!! More 

Travellers who viewed The Coachman Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Seamer, Scarborough
Wykeham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Coachman Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 19 - USD 32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO139PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 859231
Description
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough.
You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough.

We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local procuce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coachman Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?