We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Treble Tile

Colchester Road, Colchester CO6 3JQ, England
+44 1206 241712
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mousse” (3 reviews)
“cheese board” (3 reviews)
“roast beef” (6 reviews)
Closed
11:00 am - 6:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Colchester Road, Colchester CO6 3JQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped here today with the family, for a roast, and ended up staying 3 hours! Amazing food, amazing staff. Everything all 6 of us had was really lovely, wanted to try the whole menu, so will definitely be coming back. Brilliant thank you

Thank Marie D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last night for the very first time. The place looks amazing after the refurbishment. Made to feel very welcome and the food was amazing. You could tell it was freshly prepared and exactly what you want on a date night. We will definitely...More

Thank joel1202
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant just after refurb after hearing good things, I ordered a roast dinner and the veg, potatoes and Yorkshire was lovely BUT the meat was awful my beef was dry and hard around the edges and certainly not a quality piece of beef...More

Thank Ben B
TrebleTile, General Manager at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry you had a bad experience. We are very popular with our Sunday roast. Our meats are locally sourced who emphasise on quality and consistency. We serve large number of customers every Sunday,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited The Treble Tile before and after the refurb, both times were really good. We had the Classic burger and the fish and chips. The qualifty of both the meat and the fish was superb something that we hadnt always received at other restraunts.The...More

Thank Tom W
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tom, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well, was really good. Had an unusual warm prawn cocktail that was delicious as was the chicken supreme and creme Bru.. and great coffee !! There was obviously lots of time and thought put into these dishes .. truly worth a visit or three and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure to...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018

We visited for Sunday lunch and had a very nice meal. We had the roast beef and fish and chips for main and for dessert the cheese board and the chocolate fondant. Everything was really tasty and the fondant was particularly good. The cheese board...More

Thank Cat8179
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Cat8179, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Words can not describe how in love we are with this place. How fitting that Valentine’s Day 2018 was our first visit. We booked weeks before after reading many recent consecutive 5 star reviews. We both had matching starters and mains. The scallops/mushrooms were incredible....More

Thank RobK1982
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi RobK1982, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

Reviewed 3 February 2018

I visited here in January 2018 for Dinner. The meal and service were both amazing. We tasted the Duck Confit and the Salmon fillets, Both made to extremely high standards, by far the best Duck Confit I have tasted. I would definitely recommend this restaurant...More

Thank K_Anne92
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi K_Anne92, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018

excellent food very expensive, drinks far far too expensive limited choice , every one tried , excellent manager ,this is nothing like a pub, don't think it knows what it is?More

Thank Jim E
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hi Jim, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment. We will be sure...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Sunday lunch had great flavour and the chocolate pudding was exceptional. Clearly have a very capable chef and the mgr is first rate. We will certainly go again. (The open fire was going but could do with a little more heating on really cold days...More

Thank s767
TrebleTile, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi s767, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Treble Tile, Colchester with us. Our customer’s input and feedback is extremely important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to write about our establishment in such a positive...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
973 reviews
3.22 km away
Globe Hotel
72 reviews
3.75 km away
Riverside Hotel
196 reviews
3.88 km away
Premier Inn Colchester Cowdray Avenue (A133) Hotel
281 reviews
3.88 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Balkerne & Colne restaurants
177 reviews
3.50 km away
The Cricketers
294 reviews
2.42 km away
White Hart
220 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Colchester Arts Centre
143 reviews
4.22 km away
Mercury Theatre
825 reviews
4.15 km away
High Woods Country Park
199 reviews
3.78 km away
Iolare Memorial
19 reviews
3.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Patricia255
19 July 2017|
Answer
Response from KillicksCuisine | Property representative |
hello. we believe it has something to do with the type of roof tile. it has a treble ridge. .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 25
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Colchester Road, Colchester CO6 3JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 241712
  • E-mail
Description
We are a family oriented, dog friendly country gastropub serving mouth-watering classical English and modern European dishes with an Asian/Japanese twist. We also offer wonderful selection of drinks and regular entertainments.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing