We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Treble Tile

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Colchester Road, Colchester CO6 3JQ, England
+44 1206 241712
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 197: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Turned up without a booking which was a bit of a mistake but they managed to slot us in anyway. The food was excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. Well worth a trip.

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hi Mark, We are very glad we could accommodate you. and thank you for taking the time to rate and review us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Have been many times while James and Lucy were there and thought they would be a hard act to follow but I was very pleasantly surprised. We were a table of 7 and were greeted well and shown to our table. We all agreed that though limited the menu was seasonal and had something for everyone - in fact most... More 

Helpful?
Thank shannon955
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hi Shannon, Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us here at the Treble Tile. We are very happy to hear and see so many of the Previous owners customers returning to give us a try. We've always known we had a tough act to follow and are pleased to hear we seem to be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took a friend for an impromptu dinner last weekend, having not paid a visit since the change of management. Fairly new to the village myself, I appreciate the importance of visiting established businesses without making uninformed judgments. The chicken and the pork were both superb and demonstrated, without question, that the kitchen was now under the direction of an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Russell C
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hello Russell, Many Thanks for leaving us a rating and review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to do so. We also appreciate you supporting a local business. We are very happy you had a great experience with us and we hope that we will see you here again soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been customers of the Treble Tile for many years and are delighted to see it open again. Although it still looks a little unloved from the outside (apparently full refurbishment planned for the autumn), it's definitely worth going inside. We had been for lunch a couple of weeks ago and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gastro-intro-writers
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hello There, Just a quick note to say a massive Thank you for leaving us a rating and review. we really do appreciate it. We are very happy you have enjoyed spending time hre at he Treble Tile and we hope you will visit again soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the best of gastronomic experiences. The food was slow to be served, chips/French fries cold when put on the table and bits of egg shell in one dish. Steak was ordered as rare and medium....both were served as medium. Whilst it says they cater for vegetarians the chap serving us had no idea whether there was a vegan option.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Tomc1958
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hello Tomc 1958 sorry for such a late reply. we've been extremely busy here at the Treble Tile. As you can see from our other ratings and reviews we have been busy and successful in producing fantastic food, service and generally an all round time for our customers. i'm sorry you feel you didn't enjoy your time with us. i... More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the Treble Tile after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, it did not disappoint. Good service with friendly staff. The food was fabulous. Great scallops, pork belly, duck and steak. The desserts were lovely too, and the cheese board very generous. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Frosts34
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

We are so very happy to hear you had a lovely time here at the Treble Tile. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to rate and review us. We appreciate it. We hope you will visit us again very soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tried as had heard good things and we had a lovely experience. Had a good feeling as soon as we were sat at our table, cosy restaurant with a good ambience. Menu was great, with many dishes we wanted to try, making us want to come back already. Every course was lovely but the pork belly and cod main courses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex W
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Thank You Alex. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to the Treble Tile. We do hope you will visit again very soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

Colchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here after leaving a family birthday booking to the last minute, managed to get a table. The food was fantastic...everything was cooked to perfection. The staff were very smiley, polite and accommodating. Highly recommend the treble tile...we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Maria2801
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hi Maria, Thank you for leaving us a rating and review. we are extremely happy you enjoyed your visit. and we hope we do see you again very soon. Kind Regards Lyndsay Killick/Killicks Cuisine More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sunday lunch with a group just completing a ramble along the river Stour. The menu good and included traditional Sunday fare. The rooms were smart and neatly prepared, and service was precise and snappy. Then came the food which can only be described as "out of this world", the meat tender and cooked to perfection with vegetables tasty and plentiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley O
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Hello Ashley I would Just like to say a massive Thank you for your rating and lovely Review. We are all so very happy you had a lovely time here at the Treble Tile with us and we all hope you will visit again very soon. Please feel free to recommend us to all your family and friends so they... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Really enjoyed our meal tonight (second visit since it reopened ) first visit was equally enjoyable. Great menu, staff are lovely and very welcoming. Charlie the Chef Is a star in the making. We live in the village and have enjoyed visiting the Treble Tile in recent years, it has definitely passed into safe hands.

Helpful?
Thank Magsk56
KillicksCuisine, Owner at The Treble Tile, responded to this review

Thank You Magsk56, We really appreciate you taking the time to rate and review the Treble Tile. We are glad you have enjoyed both your visits with us since we opened. We hope you will continue to dine here with us. Once again Many Thanks Kinds Regards Lyndsay, Mark and the Treble Tile Team More 

Travellers who viewed The Treble Tile also viewed

Colchester, Essex
 
Colchester, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to The Treble Tile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Colchester Road, Colchester CO6 3JQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1206 241712
Description
We are a fantastic Village fine dining Restaurant. We are able to cater to dietary needs and our menu can be adapted with some notice. all you need to do is ask. We have a beautifully well maintained beer garden a separate function room which you could hirer for small functions, business meetings etc. We have regular coffee mornings on Wednesday mornings also. We are dog friendly on tuesday through to thursday. we also have a dog and walker friendly garden section

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Treble Tile and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Treble Tile staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?