We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hind

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
+44 1709 532490
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 - 23:30
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 202: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Called here for dinner with my mum, if you are gluten-free there is no indication on the menu if the meals are gluten-free or not and if you are vegetarian aswell then you are really struggling to have a decent meal. The staff do not know which meals are gluten-free so finding out what you can eat takes a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelH185
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Service and food was excellent. We pre-ordered the set Christmas menu. All 3 courses were delicious and just the right amount of food. Relaxing unrushed evening. Can't fault it for a pub meal.

Helpful?
Thank ja20000
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

ja20000, thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed you pre Christmas party and hope to see you again soon if not before Christmas in the new year. Just to let you know we close for a refurbishment on 20th February..only closed for a few days until Friday 24th. Thank you Sam. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to love a visit to the hind. Good burgers, good service, good variety. Not on 20 November. No steak, Pork Loin wasn't loin. No stuffing with the pork loin with stuffing! A portion of stuffing too small for a mouse was eventually dished or should I say bowled up! See photo. Absolute shambles. Beware of vetting of posts... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle G
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Good evening Danielle, My apologies that you were not satisfied with your visit on the 20th November. If you would like to discuss further please contact the pub on 01709 532490 where I would be happy to discuss your comments further Sam Chapman Manager More 

Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a week ahead for my birthday tea last Sunday for 4.15. There was no Beef left. There were no steaks left apart from two ribeyes. How can a place specialising in steak and roasts run out of steaks and roasts - even if 'very busy earlier?' Especially when people have booked way ahead that is totally unacceptable. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank David C
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Good evening David, Clearly we failed you on your visit last Sunday for which I apologise. I have discussed your comments with the Kitchen Manager as many of the points you raise have caused concern. We did sell out of steak that Sunday, and I agree - un-acceptable - but we had plenty of beef left, and I am looking... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family we had an evening meal to celebrate a birthday. The occasion was spoilt by poor quality meals. Of the 6 portions 3 had chips that weren't cooked through leaving them hard in the middle. The burgers in 2 of the meals were lukewarm, not very pleasant. To cap it all nobody from the Hind had the decency... More 

Helpful?
Thank 863andy
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Good evening Andy I am sorry we failed you and your party on your last visit to The Hind. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen team. Sam Chapman Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here last night. The pork belly is so tasty... maybe just missing a crunch of crackling or something :) Food and drinks fantastic value for money. Didn't notice the set menu deal until after we ordered so definately an excuse for another treat night again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Stef282
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Good evening Stef282 Thank you for taking the time to review us - Sam and the team were pleased to read you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you soon taking advantage of the set menu - it is a great deal Sam Chapman Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited your warm and friendly pub on Sunday the 20th with my partner we both had the mixed roast sunday lunch. The chicken was beautiful, we even asked for extra gravy which came promptly the staff were so helpful will visit again very soon.

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Good evening Alex Thank you for taking time to review us. We are please you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Sam Chapman Manager More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called today, literally ordered our food (chicken dinner) just sat down an the food was ready, being served! Absolutely stone cold. Veg hard. Gravy cold, veg cold, every thing COLD not even a tad warm. The chicken again was cold. Cut into it an actually smelled funny. Refused to have it warmed up for that reason. I never complain but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stacey26990
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Stacey26990, Firstly may I personally apologise for your experience on your recent visit to the Hind. We have taken your comments regarding the cold food on board and I shall be investigating this with the team that were on duty that day. I you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate in contacting me on 01709 532490.... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and l visited for a meal tonight, it's been a few years since our last visit as we don't live that local. We had a good meal the last time we recalled so thought we'd have a drive over. Memories can play tricks on you unfortunately and today's visit with not being unpleasant, wasn't fantastic. The place felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank KRwatching
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

Hello KRwatching, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are sorry that on this occasion we did not satisfy your needs and I will be passing your comments on to the team that were on duty that day. Thank you for your comment that the team were great this means a lot to them. If you wish... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I popped in for tea on a Saturday night. Glad we went early (17:45) as the tables were limited even at that time!! The menu is varied and was hard to choose. We chose the baked Camembert to share as a starter and asked for the celery to be taken off and more ciabatta. When it came... More 

Helpful?
Thank thetwiglet
General Manager A, Manager at The Hind, responded to this review

hello thetwiglet, Thank you for the glowing review! we are so glad you enjoyed the Camembert its one of our favourites too. Our staff pride themselves on being the best of the best and thank you for taking the time to notice, your comments will be passed on to the team that were on duty that evening. Looking forward to... More 

Travellers who viewed The Hind also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 532490
Description
This stunning pub is set on the hill with a beautiful spacious beer garden for summer and a roaring fire for the winter. Food is served from 12pm-10pm Monday to Friday and we serve a lovley brunch bettween 10am-12pm Saturday and Sunday with the full menu starting at 12pm. So if its just a coffee and a muffin or a full blown meal, come in an see what treats we have to offer. We also have a full bar stocking Wines, Spirits, Beers and our very own Ember Ale.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Hind and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Hind staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?