We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tawny Owl

Neasham Road | Hurworth Moor, Darlington, England
+44 1325 389027
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (14 reviews)
“pate” (6 reviews)
“sunday lunch” (32 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 10:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Neasham Road | Hurworth Moor, Darlington, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lovely Sunday Lunch great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful too. The place is lovely and clean very welcoming thank you

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank kirstyw26
Reviewed 1 week ago

You really do get what you pay for here,nothing added,nothing taken away,good size portions,friendly helpful staff,nice comfortable surroundings with loads of parking

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Bro11y
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called here for Sunday dinner, usually can't fault it but something must have changed, we ordered two of the roasts for two to then be told they had run out of one of the meats, no problem, can we have more of one of...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Gary534
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Gary534, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called in for a quick drink but the atmosphere was so nice we stayed quite a while. The real fire and decorations gave the place a nice warm atmosphere and the seating was plentiful and comfortable. Great choice of drinks and food. The staff...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ANW1301
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Anw1301, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 'go to' place for a nice laid back lunch or summer dinner outside in their lovely Gardens. The Pub is very roomy and the ambiance is welcoming with tables not too close together and a lovely crackling fire in the Winter -perfect....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank xGenRevx
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Xxxgenrevxxx, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Tawny Owl!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday dinner with family wasnt very warm no stuffing even though it states on the menu it comes with stuffing, beef was very chewy, carrots were raw. A very disappointing meal.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Helen C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Helen C, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We met some friends for a catch up. Please try surroundings and spacious clean place. Good food reasonable prices offers on steaks and wind for 2 or more and friendly staff.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank wendykitty2008
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback.

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch with family and friends from Australia meat tasteless veg looked & tasted not fresh . Poor quality , heard good reports about Sunday lunch . Felt let down & disappointed . Would not recomend or visit again

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alan C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Alan C, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location.

Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Visited for an evening meal and we were very impressed by the whole experience. We were seated immediately by a friendly waiter who took our drinks order promptly. They had a set menu which was great value for money! I had a delicious, perfectly cooked...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank O2963LPiainm
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Griselda, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

Reviewed 23 October 2018

The Tawney owl is a pretty pub in the countryside just south of Darlington. It was spacious yet cosy inside. We found a comfortable table next to a window looking out onto the little garden. There was table service so we were able to order...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GriseldaTubb
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Tawny Owl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Griselda, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Darlington
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
508 reviews
2.12 km away
The Coachman Hotel
27 reviews
2.27 km away
Premier Inn Darlington East (Morton Park) Hotel
789 reviews
2.33 km away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
430 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Otter and Fish
937 reviews
2.11 km away
The Bay Horse
795 reviews
2.03 km away
The Mustard Tree
26 reviews
2.00 km away
The Copper Beech
284 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Croft
8 reviews
2.99 km away
Rockliffe Hotel Spa
417 reviews
3.04 km away
Darlington Hippodrome
297 reviews
2.85 km away
South Park
103 reviews
2.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bev c
18 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Deano7719 | Reviewed this property |
No they dont . Not suprising really as going for meal and a drink not a dog show leave the dog at home
0
Votes
Elizabeth D
3 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Cav3man | Reviewed this property |
5 stars as far as I'm aware
0
Votes
saundersbarrett
22 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Deano7719 | Reviewed this property |
You mean xmas eve then
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Neasham Road | Hurworth Moor, Darlington, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Darlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1325 389027
Description
The Tawny Owl in Darlington is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing