We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brook Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
+44 1473 730531
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

thought I'd already written a revue but can't find it. Staff as always very pleasant and new manager very friendly. Haven't been for a while as wasn't happy with previous manager. Food Ok but felt the steak served with salad (my husband doesn't eat salad) should have had something else not just a few chips and 2 onion rings especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank janicenewb0ld
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Janice and thanks for taking the time to write the review and the new booking, despite the average meal. I understand what you're saying and will speak to the manager and kitchen about your modest serving - it does help focus the mind. I hope your next experience is a better one but if not, please do raise it... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In Feb 2017 had lunch, thought we would give it another chance, because of new manager, couldn't see any improvements, tables still greasy, dirty washcloth with spray bottle left on the dresser next to our table, rather put me off before our meals arrived. Strong public toilet smell coming from toilets, into restaurant area, food very average, service nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank littlechef2017
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Little Chef - sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Brook Inn. I notice this is your only review so I assume you didn't write anything about your last visit or make your comments known to the pub staff? We're always disappointed when visitors don't enjoy their experience and it does help if you speak at the time... More 

Capel Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We come here quite regularly as we live only a 5 minute drive away and having a Daughter with Coeliac Disease this place is perfect! The Gluten Free options are excellent and it is the best gluten free restaurant we have experienced yet. It is usually quiet but service is always friendly and nice. A good local pub feel with... More 

Helpful?
Thank pbryant486
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for your review of our community-owned pub. It's always nice to get a positive report from an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer. Do come again soon. Ian Evans More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

What a friendly place to spend a Saturday evening! We came early, were spoilt rotten and left full to the brim. Steaks were succulent and cooked to perfection. A clear plate was left where there once was Venison pie whilst fish and chips were scrumptious. Puds were yum as was the wine and very reasonable. Service was very friendly, helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen - thanks for the kind review and it was nice to meet you and your friends in the pub last night. Always good to welcome appreciative customers from neighbouring counties. Cheers, Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017

Nigel's chicken curry is a-m-a-zing!!! Never have a bad meal and the staff are all lovely. John (landlord) is so nice and welcoming. We love it!!!

Helpful?
Thank starfishy1983
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Starfishy - yes, Nigel's chicken curry is eggsellent...:) Do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The Brook Inn was a breath of fresh air from a food perspective. The menu is not only for most part gluten free, but also very good both to eat and in cost. John and his team really have got the foundations of a good business and concept off to a great start. The fish and chips was the best... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Luke N
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Luke and pleased you enjoyed the food and visit to our community-owned pub. Do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

average food, poor choices for gluten free,zero customer interaction,over-priced,and veggies straight from the freezer,when i wrote to them ,(out of courtesy instead of leaving a poor review,) i have not had a reply,and that was 6 weeks ago,had been before and had a wonderful time,went back for a very special occasion and i was amazed how different things were this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Colin H
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hello Colin and thanks for taking time to write about your experience at the Brook Inn - negative though it was. As you know I have tried to contact you to discuss your visit but you've not replied. I have had a chance to speak to our new manager and it seems your complaint has slipped through the net for... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Made a visit just before Christmas with partner looking forward to nice meal and evening as been there before also was told new management....... was disappointed with meal and with was also put off by who a was later told was the new landlord ....... who seem to spend more time on wrong side of the bar.................. think there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulbartolo1
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul and thanks for your comments - we welcome good and bad input to our community-owned pub. However I and all the hard-working staff will be disappointed by your experience of the Brook Inn before Christmas. I notice this is the only review you've ever written so for future reference, it's always useful to have more detail on the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

Visited the Brook with a couple of friends, one of whom is gluten intolerant. They were very pleasantly surprised at the wide choice of gluten free options on the menu. Food generally was of a good standard and we certainly intend to return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul - thanks for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends next time you're in the area, Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I have visited The Brook Inn on many occasions and always had a pleasant experience. Food has always been delicious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Myself and some friends decided to visit to see what changes had been made now that it is under new management. What can I say (and I speak for my friends also)... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Rsnowling59
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

I’m sorry for the delay in responding to this review but, as you know, I have been trying to get hold of you to discuss your complaints. Indeed, the pub has tried also but it seems you prefer the anonymity of social media to make your very personal attacks not just on our new manager but the pub itself. I... More 

Travellers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 
Ipswich, Suffolk
Tuddenham, Ipswich
 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 11 - USD 17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730531
Description
Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?