We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


$$ - $$$European, ,
Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
+47 55 55 20 55
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good47%
  • Average22%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish soup” (6 reviews)
“lamb” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Holbergstuen always delivers the Holbergstuen experience. The interior has not changed the last 20 years - no kidding - but that you know what you get. I had lamb with the suggested wine of the house (Spanish, tempranillo) which the very nice and professional waiter...More

Thank VilhelmThygesen
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am glad you enjoyed your meal here at Holbergstuen. We appreciate your review that really is on point considering what we want to be! Thanks a lot, and welcome back!

Reviewed 6 January 2018

We stopped here for a very quick bite to eat in late December 2017. Rather than spending money on a meal, we decided to share a bottle of champagne to celebrate a special occasion and order appetizers. The salad with shrimp was delicious and a...More

Thank da_jm
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for your review. First of all I would like to say it was a really good choice to celebrate with a bottle of champagne. We are also glad that you guys enjoyed the starters. I can behalf of the staff say that...More

Reviewed 5 December 2017

This restaurant has been the site for a traditional lutefisk dinner for the last 20 years or so. We, a group of 4 gradually weathered friends, have regularly come back for this, and this last weekend came back for the 2017 meal. Food was well...More

Thank RVaardal
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

We are very happy to hear that you and your friends are enjoying yourself here at Holbergstuen. All the staff work hard to ensure that you guests enjoy a well prepared meal, as well as quick and friendly service. Thanks for the positive feedback, and...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

I guess it's supposed to represent an old-style, traditional Norwegian family restaurant and that it does. We had salmon with boiled potatoes and a cucumber slaw. All were well-prepared. Service was friendly. The room seemed rather dark and dated. Overall, not exciting, but, I guess,...More

1  Thank FellowTraveller02
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for your feedback. The salmon dish is an old-style, traditional Norwegian dish - so I guess your review was kind of spot on there. We also serve more "exciting" food, but we are a traditional restaurant that focus on traditional dishes from all...More

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Friendly greeting and good service. It was a quiet night as it was mid-week. We both had the lamb as recommended by the waitress and were not disappointed. It was cooked perfectly and very tasty.

1  Thank Kevin U
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hello Kevin. Thanks for your comments regarding your mid-week visit here at Holbergstuen. We are glad that we met your expectations regarding the lamb. Welcome back any time!

Reviewed 28 January 2017

Went there to have the traditional norwegian "Raspaballer", after ordering I waited for 20 minutes, and when the food arrived there was a piece of salted meat, purree of sweede and 2 small potatoes. When I asked the waiter where the Raspaballer was I was...More

Thank bjalmest
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hey again. I am sorry to hear about your experience here at Holbergstuen when you were going to have the famous "Raspeballer". We were sold out and we are sorry if the waiter didn't communicate that to you when you were ordering. We will be...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

I was here with my family on a late saturday evening. We needed to book a table as late as 9.30 pm, and it was not a problem. The waitress was giving good service from the start. My grandmother and her sister had a fish...More

Thank Erik E
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thanks for visiting us, and we are glad that you enjoyed both the food and service. We will gladly welcome you back next time you are in Bergen! See you then.

Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had booked dinner here one Friday night. They serve traditional Norwegian cooking and they do it well. Friendly and helpful staff made it a perfect evening. The food was good, the restaurant rustic and the staff excellent. Situated just in the middle of the...More

Thank Jarlen2014
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you very much for such nice words regarding your visit at Holbergstuen. You describe everything we want to be in your review! Welcome back!

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We met with some friends from our time at the university in the seventies. Back then we also met here. The raindeer steak I had was average. Of course it was nice to meet old friends.

Thank Jon Ingve L
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Visiting Bergen meet up with some old friends at this establishment! The food, service and location is very central in midst of the city. Food was good and so was the service, however rather on the expensive side!

Thank Norway1944
Nearby HotelsSee all 51 hotels in Bergen
Magic Hotel Xhibition
29 reviews
.10 km away
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
697 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel No 13
340 reviews
.12 km away
Bergen Bors Hotel
130 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bare Restaurant
169 reviews
.11 km away
Zupperia Bergen
670 reviews
.11 km away
Sostrene Hagelin
195 reviews
.08 km away
Take Sushi
59 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bergen Tourist Information
1,550 reviews
.16 km away
Fish Market
5,029 reviews
.18 km away
190 reviews
.19 km away
Sailor's Monument
84 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kenneth B
17 October 2017|
Response from Holbergstuen | Property representative |
A bit late answer, we just discovered this message function. We are open Sundays between 2 PM and 9 PM.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
USD 15 - USD 37
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
2:00 pm - 9:00 pm
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
11:00 am - 11:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
  • Location: Europe  >  Norway  >  Western Norway  >  Hordaland  >  Bergen>  > Sentrum
  • Neighbourhood: Sentrum
  • Phone Number: +47 55 55 20 55
  • E-mail
In 90 years has local guests frequented Holbegstuen restaurant. Holbergstuen holds Norwegian and western Norwegian food traditions alive in traditional atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing