We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ir-Rizzu Restaurant

52 Xatt Is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1302, Malta
+356 2165 1569
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good32%
  • Average20%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“octopus” (25 reviews)
“seafood” (36 reviews)
“miso soup” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 am - 3:00 pm Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
52 Xatt Is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1302, Malta
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

I highly recommend this restaurant. The portions are huge, very tasty, atmosphere very nice. I recommend to try the sea food, it was extremely good and more than we could eat

Thank Elena257
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thanks for the visit and feedback

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We went into this restaurant for lunch and while the restaurant was very quite the staff were not that helpful in service, it took them 20 minutes before some one came over to see if we wanted a drink. We asked for the menu and...More

Thank Burtcroghan
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi , thank you for your review, but that is one side of the story. We gave you the menu and if you were thirsty you could have ordered the drinks with the waiter. The fish was served with the head filleted because in the...More

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Lousy service, overpriced food, arrogant owner - the perfect recipe for a horrible experience. Beware!

Thank Daniel M
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Something is wrong here , we don't know about your constructive complain or you just wanted to write something ???

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Terrible visit. We've been served 50 min after we ordered and only because I had to remind them about it. Salmon slices were just pieces of smoked salmon from the supermarket and not freshest ones. After all of that the were moaning about not leaving...More

Thank Łukasz D
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi , thanks for your visit and comments. On Sundays its usually very busy and since all food is cooked on the day you will have to wait some more time then other days. f our smoked salmon salad wasn't to your liking ,we could...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I decided on this place after checkin out the menu and prices of adjacent restaurants. I was surprised about the huge amount of seafood in the marinara that I ordered. It was freshly cooked and satisfying. There was only one other table occupied when I...More

1  Thank baguio_sunflower
Reviewed 28 April 2018

I had the snapper which tasted just okay. Service was relatively good.. It was pretty busy on a Sunday afternoon so we had to reserve a place and come back in an hour. Caters to a lot of big groups so it can get pretty...More

Thank R C
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Terrible service: We arrived at 13.20 and we've been served at 15. Meanwhile we repeatedly had to ask for water and glasses because they didn't bring any. I took a pasta with seafood, which was overcooked and had no distinct flavour. Furthermore, what I had...More

Thank chiara11111
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi, thanks for your visit , and we are sorry for our slow service, but our food is all cooked on the day and it takes time considering a full restaurant with 120 clients. If you were in a hurry, there are a lot of...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018

Had visited this restaurant probably more than 20 years ago and at the time was not impressed at all. I went again to this place today and I failed to change my opinion of this place. The food is still mediocre and uninspired and I...More

Thank Louis S
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hi Louis , we are very sorry for leaving a not so good impression as we leave with hundreds of our new and lets say old clients.Our Fish Soup is loved by many clients who come especially to taste it week after week. About the...More

Reviewed 26 February 2018

One Sunday we went to the Fisherman's Market, which is a great fun place to visit btw, and we were recommended Rizzu's Restaurant by someone at our hotel. So, we went! Although we were not too hungry, we did have two appetizers and a bottle...More

Thank sjeffrey04
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We wanted to try local fare so we were directed to this pretty fishing village. Many restaurants line the shore from where we could gaze out at the colourful fishing boats, with their eyes of Osiris gazing back. Free parking along the street (on non-market...More

Thank Kathy G
irrizzu, Manager at Ir-Rizzu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thanks for visiting us and for your lovely comments

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 143 hotels in Island of Malta
Water's Edge
143 reviews
2.38 km away
Etvan Hotel
5 reviews
3.10 km away
Cerviola Hotel
199 reviews
3.31 km away
British Hotel
455 reviews
6.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ta' Victor Restauant
830 reviews
.04 km away
Tartarun Fish Restaurant
1,005 reviews
.05 km away
Roots Restaurant
405 reviews
.06 km away
Filippo, Italian Restaurant
686 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ghar Dalam Cave and Museum
275 reviews
1.63 km away
St. Peter’s Pool
1,184 reviews
1.79 km away
Hello Malta Tours
122 reviews
1.85 km away
Can You Escape? Malta
444 reviews
3.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ir-Rizzu Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Xatt Is-Sajjieda, Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta MXK 1302, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Marsaxlokk
  • Phone Number: +356 2165 1569
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing