We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Restaurant Korenhuis

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Korenlei 10 | Ghent Marriott Hotel, Ghent 9000, Belgium
+32 9 269 77 44
Website
Today
09:00 - 01:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 26: English reviews
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

A friend of us invited us for lunch at this restaurant . She was very embarrassed when we lived a real comedy of errors. The very inexperienced waitress read us the special from a piece of paper. We thought that it would be fine and ordered the flounder mentioned. To our surprise she told us that she did not know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joan V
Ghent Marriott H, Front Office Manager at Restaurant Korenhuis, responded to this review

Dear Joan V, Thank you very much for sharing your comments with regards to the restaurant Coeur d'Artichaut. I have forward your concers with regards to the lunch to the restaurant manager, by his name already apologies for the inconvenience. This is most definately not the standard that the restaurant Coeur d'Artichaut is famous for ! With regards to the... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Worst service I had in Belgium. After seated nobody asked what I want for 30 minutes. It took them another 20 minutes to bring one drink, not to mention the food. Whoever you asked something it was always another colleagues job. Overall very disappointing!

Helpful?
Thank Emil C
Björn N, Manager at Restaurant Korenhuis, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you very much for the time you took to respond us. I am very sorry that your visit to our restaurant was not at all what it should have been. We do everything we can to make our customers happy. Unfortunately we did not manage to make your visit succesfull. I see what I can do with... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Terrace at the canal...the max, especially on a nice and warm summer evening. The food: good, normal without surprises. Quantity is a bit restraint, I advise to include a starter or you might leave the table hungry. You eat here as a hotel guest for facility not for the cuisine...much better around...and lots of choice...

Helpful?
Thank Kuni07
Matthias V, Front Office Manager at Restaurant Korenhuis, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir Thank you for taking the time to comment your visit at our restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful view on the terrace. We apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the food and in particular about the quantity. We will discuss with the chef how we can improve to satisfy our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Despite of being a Marriott restaurant, it is very very disappointing both in terms of the menu and the food preparations.The Menu is very weak and the dishes are not tasty to say the least.Very expensive and not worth it.The breakfast itself was so bad and the luncha nd dinner menu so weak that we decided against eating our lunches... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee M
Matthias V, Front Office Manager at Restaurant Korenhuis, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant Korenhuis. Please accept our apologies that we could not meet your expectations. Kindest regards, Valerie V. Front Office Manager More 

Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had the 2 course lunch. We loved it, we only payed 19 euro. Amazingly cheap for this quality. A must when you visit Ghent.

Helpful?
Thank Joost V
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Five of us came here for dinner and we enjoyed the ambiance, good food and wine as well as an efficient and friendly service. English menus available, although translation not always obvious. Portions on the small side, but perfectly adequate. Food delicious and the house wine was very good. The hazelnut ice cream is delicious. The restaurant was not full,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
575 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This restaurant is located at the annex of the Marriott hotel right at the center of Ghent. From the outside it looks like a series of old houses but on the inside it is a modern building. The food is very good (try one of the menus) and the service is simply excellent. But the best is the view you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Creek
Gent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The view must be one of the best in Ghent. The restaurant is situated in a beautiful medieval building, but the inside does not fit that image, it's fake 18 century. The food, well if you like really big plates with something small in the middle, than this is the place for you!! We will not be back.

Helpful?
Thank FrankyboyGent
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
323 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had twice lunch at this restuarant. Both were meals from the lunch-menu. Not a big choice. but adequate. The food was good, based on veggies of the season. Though the fish (snoekbaars) had been cooked a bit too long the meals were tasty and creative. For lunch and business meals this place is okay, but for a romantic evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I was staying at the Marriott and had breakfast here only the once. The service was fine but the food, while ok was nothing remarkable and I've had better. The thing that annoyed me the most was that so many of the plates, cups, milk jugs and table ware had chips in them and should be replaced. It could be... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiraBeauty

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Korenhuis also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Korenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
USD 21 - USD 59
Cuisine
French, Belgian, International, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 01:00
Monday
09:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 01:00
Thursday
09:00 - 01:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Korenlei 10 | Ghent Marriott Hotel, Ghent 9000, Belgium
  • Location: Europe  >  Belgium  >  Flanders  >  East Flanders Province  >  Ghent
  • Phone Number: +32 9 269 77 44
Description
Friendly service, good wines and excellent cuisine served in a relaxed atmosphere of a modernised 16th century merchant's house with view on the River Lys. Beautiful terrace with a view on the old historical center. Monthly theme nights. Reservation on Friday & Saturday evening is highly recommended.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Restaurant Korenhuis staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?